Common Affairs

Infos

Price

15Add to cart

Graz, 2008
German/English
176 pages
10 cm x 17 cm
45 colour plates

Edition Camera Austria

ISBN: 978-3-900508-74-6

With contributions by Ursula Biemann, Mladen Bizumic, Kristleifur Björnsson, Claus Föttinger, Mustafa Maluka, Josephine Meckseper and Lily van der Stokker.
Edited by Reinhard Braun.

Description

The exhibition project “Common Affairs,” developed as a contribution to the steirischer herbst festival 2008, fields the question of possible terrains of the political–terrains in which common affairs become public and can welcome debate. Where are these terrains likely to be found today? Which issues can be considered common affairs when “[i]t is difficult to say where collective experience ends and individual experience begins” (Paolo Virno). The exhibition and contributions to the catalogue accordingly focus on migration, image politics, lifestyle, and cultural history as reservoirs for construction and critique of everyday life, collectivism, and history. This prefaces the question lingering in the background: “Can properly political relations be wrested from a totally administered world?” (Brian Holmes).

Josephine Meckseper details her works as “crystallization points of absurd antipodes and coincidences with which we have become accustomed to living,” posing in her photographic works and installations questions about the relationship between global politics and private consumption. Ursula Biemann singles out the politics of mobility in her video work by example of the story of a Belarussian migrant crossing Europe. Kristleifur Björnsson works with Internet images in rendering the authenticity inherent in their fictionalism and factitiousness. Mladen Bizumic wonders: Do photographic images exist that refrain from relating meaning, identity, a story, or politics? Mustafa Maluka, in his pictorial portraits, points out the difficulties in understanding cultural differences beyond contested memories of colonialism. Claus Föttinger’s installations revolve around the banalization of history and politics, but also around choosing to not acknowledge them, hence yielding options for the creation of an “individual” history. Lily van der Stokker works in her murals with strategies of banalization and a type of strategic naïveté.
Hence, the participating artists approximate from different angles questions of the possibilities for keeping separate or associating subjective action and political contexts, that is, questions of possibilities arising from common affairs. An essay by curator Reinhard Braun positions these questions in the context of current debates on the political between “empire” and “multitude,” on the distribution of the sensible, cultural studies, and faitiches.

Common Affairs

Infos

Preis

€15 In den Warenkorb

Graz, 2008
deutsch/englisch
176 Seiten
10 cm x 17 cm
45 Farbabbildungen

Edition Camera Austria

ISBN: 978-3-900508-74-6

Mit Arbeiten von Ursula Biemann, Mladen Bizumic, Kristleifur Björnsson, Claus Föttinger, Mustafa Maluka, Josephine Meckseper und Lily van der Stokker.
Herausgegeben von Reinhard Braun.

Erschienen anlässlich der gleichnamigen Ausstellung im steirischen herbst 2008

Beschreibung

Das Ausstellungsprojekt „Common Affairs“, entstanden als Beitrag zum Festival steirischer herbst 2008, stellt die Frage nach möglichen Terrains des Politischen, Terrains, in denen gemeinschaftliche Angelegenheiten öffentlich werden und zur Debatte stehen. Wo wären diese Terrains heute aufzufinden? Welche Belange zeichnen sich als gemeinschaftliche Angelegenheiten ab, wenn es „schwierig geworden [ist] festzustellen, wo die kollektive Erfahrung endet und wo die individuelle Erfahrung einsetzt“ (Paolo Virno) Die Ausstellung und die Beiträge im Katalog beschäftigen sich demnach mit Migration, Bildpolitiken, Lifestyle und Kulturgeschichte als Reservoirs der Konstruktion und Kritik von Alltag, Gemeinschaft und Geschichte. Im Hintergrund steht dabei die Frage, ob sich „einer restlos verwalteten Welt dezidiert politische Beziehungen abringen [lassen]?“ (Brian Holmes)

Josephine Meckseper spricht über ihre Arbeiten als „Kristallisationspunkte von absurden Gegensätzen und Zufällen, mit denen zu leben wir uns arrangiert haben“ und stellt in ihren Fotoarbeiten und Installationen Fragen nach dem Verhältnis von globaler Politik und privatem Konsum. Ursula Biemann thematisiert mit ihrer Videoarbeit die Politik der Mobilität anhand der Geschichte eines weissrussischen Migranten quer durch Europa. Kristleifur Björnsson bearbeitet Internetbilder als Aufführung von Authentizität, die in ihrer Fiktionalität und Künstlichkeit liegen; Mladen Bizumic fragt, ob es fotografische Bilder gibt, die nicht von Bedeutung, von Identität, von einer Geschichte oder von Politik erzählen? Mustafa Maluka verweist in seinen Portraitmalereien auf die Schwierigkeiten, kulturelle Differenzen jenseits umstrittener kolonialer Gedächtnisse zu verstehen. Claus Föttingers Installationen drehen sich um die Banalisierung von Geschichte und Politik, aber auch darum, diese nicht anzuerkennen und Optionen zur Herstellung einer „eigenen“ Geschichte zu gewinnen. Lily van der Stokker arbeitet in ihren Wandmalereien mit Strategien der Banalisierung und einer Art strategischen Naivität.

Damit stellen die beteiligten Künstlerinnen von verschiedenen Seiten her Fragen über die Möglichkeiten, subjektives Handeln und politische Zusammenhänge auseinanderzuhalten oder zusammenzudenken, d. h. Frage nach den Möglichkeiten gemeinschaftlicher Angelegenheiten. Ein Essay des Kurators Reinhard Braun stellt diese Fragen in den Zusammenhang aktueller Debatten um das Politische zwischen „Empire“ und „Multitude“, der Aufteilung des Sinnlichen, Cultural Studies und „faitiches“.