Camera Austria International

131 | 2015

Price

€16 Add to cart

  • MAREN LÜBBKE-TIDOW
    Annette Kelm: We Don’t Really Know What We’re Seeing: Photographing Photographing
  • ANNETTE KELM
  • Guest Editor
    ANNETTE KELM

    Belichtung und Farbwerte / Exposure and Chromaticity
    Shannon Ebner
    Sabine Reitmaier
    Morgan Fisher
    Judith Hopf
    Horst P. Horst
    Josephine Pryde
    Louis Ducos du Hauron
    Michael Schmidt
    Barbara Kasten
    Henrik Olesen
    Sylvia Sleigh
    Christopher Williams
    David Lieske
    Jan Groover
    Arthur Ou
    Dirk von Lowtzow
    Lucie Stahl
    Herbert Tobias

  • HENDRIK SCHWANTES
    Hans Hansen in Conversation with Hendrik Schwantes: The Studio
  • HANS HANSEN

Preface

Once again we have decided to conceptually develop an issue of Camera Austria International together with an artist—after working with guest editors Tobias Zielony (Camera Austria International No. 114/2011) and Artur Żmijewski (Camera Austria International No. 117/2012), we have now invited the artist Annette Kelm to design the present issue with us. Annette Kelm has long been associated with the Camera Austria organisation, with our exhibition space and the magazine: after being featured in a main contribution to issue No. 102/2008, a solo exhibition in Graz curated by Maren Lübbke-Tidow was to follow in the year 2009, along with many discussions about her various exhibition projects.
Our interest in Annette Kelm’s artistic activity is sustained by her continuity in making pictures, which has always drawn on her cultural environment—people, objects, artefacts never assume the function of pure indices but rather become independent arrangements, “for all those who behold her pictures tend to grapple with the motifs” (Maren Lübbke-Tidow). So it is this contradiction between literalness and mystification that, in our eyes, makes her works appear exemplary for a productive occupation with present-day contexts related to photography.

Read more

Camera Austria International 131 | 2015
Preface

Once again we have decided to conceptually develop an issue of Camera Austria International together with an artist—after working with guest editors Tobias Zielony (Camera Austria International No. 114/2011) and Artur Żmijewski (Camera Austria International No. 117/2012), we have now invited the artist Annette Kelm to design the present issue with us. Annette Kelm has long been associated with the Camera Austria organisation, with our exhibition space and the magazine: after being featured in a main contribution to issue No. 102/2008, a solo exhibition in Graz curated by Maren Lübbke-Tidow was to follow in the year 2009, along with many discussions about her various exhibition projects.
Our interest in Annette Kelm’s artistic activity is sustained by her continuity in making pictures, which has always drawn on her cultural environment—people, objects, artefacts never assume the function of pure indices but rather become independent arrangements, “for all those who behold her pictures tend to grapple with the motifs” (Maren Lübbke-Tidow). So it is this contradiction between literalness and mystification that, in our eyes, makes her works appear exemplary for a productive occupation with present-day contexts related to photography.
Under the title “Belichtung und Farbwerte / Exposure and Chromaticity”, Annette Kelm has compiled works by artists who shed light on her own pictures or demonstrate a fundamental interest in image creation. Photography as an image-fostering medium takes centre stage here, which also becomes clear at the point where artists depart from the medium, where room in this magazine is made for drawing, collage (Judith Hopf, Henrik Olesen), painting (Sylvia Sleigh), and poetry (Josephine Pryde, Dirk von Lowtzow), which in this space attain a sense of given affinity. Yet “Exposure and Chromaticity” initially references the technical aspects involved in creating pictures “which are not evident to the beholder and are effectively non-apprehensible”. In her essay published in the current magazine issue, Maren Lübbke-Tidow describes precisely this gap between producer and beholder that arises on the path between the photographic shot (and all related questions and decisions) and the recipient’s act of deciphering the image: “we don’t really know what we’re seeing: photographing photographing.” Annette Kelm’s determined inclusion of such explorative questions related to photography becomes evident not least in the applied photography of Hans Hansen, whose conversation with Hendrik Schwantes concludes the section of this issue curated by Annette Kelm, laying bare the idea and potentiality of construction in the photographic image.
All this has given rise to what is, for Camera Austria, an unusual edition. And it is precisely this unusual nature, this removing-oneself-again-and-again from one’s own areas of interest and activity, that serves to greatly enrich and challenge work on the Camera Austria project. We would like to extend our enormous gratitude to Annette Kelm for her willingness to collaborate with us on this project, for her dedicated and tireless efforts, and for the time that she has chosen to invest.

Reinhard Braun and Rebecca Wilton
and the Camera Austria Team
September 2015

Cover: Annette Kelm, Home Home Home / Flashlight, 2015. C-print, 70.5 × 55 cm.
Courtesy: KÖNIG GALERIE, Berlin and Andrew Kreps, New York.

Close

Entries

Exhibitions

Liebes Wien, Deine Ingeborg Strobl
Wien Museum Karlsplatz, Vienna
MAREN LÜBBKE-TIDOW

Unsere Helden. Rückblick auf den sozialistischen Realismus, das Beispiel Ex-Jugoslawien
Kunstgalerie Maribor
Helden. Versuch der Inventarisierung
Nationales Kunstmuseum der Ukraine, Kiev
HERWIG G. HÖLLER

Sven Johne: Anomalien des frühen 21. Jahrhunderts / Einige Fallbeispiele
Arbeiterkammer Wien
CHRISTIAN EGGER

Widerstand und Amnesie #2 – Über gescheiterte Utopien, lebendige Mythen und Kolonialität heute
Kunstpavillon, Innsbruck
SØNKE GAU

Sarah Charlesworth: Doubleworld
New Museum, New York
RACHEL BAUM

Charlotte Moth: Choreography of the Image
Tate Britain, London
ELEA HIMMELSBACH

Andrzej Steinbach: Figur I, Figur II
Sprengel Museum Hannover
MORITZ SCHEPER

Jon Rafman
Musée d’Art Contemporain de Montréal, Montreal
HEATHER DAVIS / MICHAEL NARDONE

Under the Clouds: From Paranoia to the Digital Sublime
Museu de Arte Contemporânea de Serralves, Porto
ÓSCAR FARIA

Trevor Paglen: The Octopus
Frankfurter Kunstverein, Frankfurt / Main
VERENA KUNI

7. Fotobookfestival Kassel
documenta-Halle, Kassel
JAN WENZEL

The Order of Things: Photography from the Walther Collection
The Walther Collection, Neu-Ulm
TACO HIDDE BAKKER

Utopian Pulse – Flares in the Darkroom
Württembergischer Kunstverein Stuttgart
Secession Wien
CHRISTINE PETERS

Welten im Widerspruch – Zonen der Globalisierung
Galerie im Taxispalais, Innsbruck
MANISHA JOTHADY

Fred Lonidier: Strike
Centre de la photographie Genève, Geneva
Istituto Svizzera di Roma, Rome
UNO, Palais des Nations, Salle des Pas Perdus, Geneva
Camere del Lavoro Autonomo e Precario, Rome
Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK)
CHRISTINA TÖPFER

The Day Will Come – When We Share More Than Ever
Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg
The Day Will Come – When Photography Revises
Kunstverein in Hamburg
KARIN SCHULZE

Valérie Jouve: Bodies Resisting
Jeu de Paume, Paris,
Germaine Krull
Jeu de Paume, Paris
Martin-Gropius-Bau, Berlin
Images of Conviction: The Construction of Visual Evidence
Le Bal, Paris
The Photographers’ Gallery, London
Nederlands Fotomuseum, Rotterdam
ELLIE ARMON AZOULAY

Books

Geert Goiris: Prophet
Roma Publications, Amsterdam 2015
KATHI HOFER

Hilde van Gelder (ed.): Allan Sekula. Ship of Fools / The Dockers’ Museum
Leuven University Press, Leuven 2015
WILFRIED PRANTNER

A “Visual Pathology”
Hillie de Rooij: Myopia
The Eriskay Connection, Breda 2015
MICHÈLE COHEN-HADRIA

Ruinierte Montagen
Über die fragwürdige Editionspraxis bei Bertolt Brechts Arbeitsjournal
Bertolt Brecht: Große kommentierte Berliner und Frankfurter Ausgabe. Journale 2
Suhrkamp Verlag, Frankfurt / Main; Aufbau Verlag Weimar / Berlin, 1994/95
JAN WENZEL

Imprint

Publisher: Reinhard Braun
Owner: Verein CAMERA AUSTRIA. Labor für Fotografie und Theorie.
Lendkai 1, 8020 Graz, Österreich

Editors: Margit Neuhold, Christina Töpfer, Rebecca Wilton
Clara Wildberger (Praktikum)

Translators: Dawn Michelle d’Atri, Peter McCavana, Wilfried Prantner.

English proofreading: Dawn Michelle d’Atri

Acknowledgement: Joerg Bader, Daniela Baumann, Laura Bielau, Janet Borden, Lizzie Borden, Silvia Cipriani, Shannon Ebner, Isabelle Fein, Morgan Fisher, Robbie Fitzpatrick, Jean-Claude Freymond-Guth, Philip Gaißer, Simon Greenberg, Valentina Hagendorfer, Hans Hansen, Adam Harrison, Emma Hazen, Judith Hopf, Douglas John, Barbara Kasten, Annette Kelm, Johann König, Sébastien Leseigneur, David Lieske, Aram Lintzel, Stefanie Löhr, Dirk von Lowtzow, Maren Lübbke-Tidow, Nasim Mirzai, Henrik Olesen, Arthur Ou, Eléonor de Pesters, Josephine Pryde, Sabine Reit­maier, Esperanza Rosales, Karin Schmidt, Elisa Schroer, Hendrik Schwantes, Lucie Stahl, Christian Tagger, Anna Voswinckel, Rachel Walker, Brendan Wattenberg, Christopher Williams, Ayelet Yanai.

Copyright © 2015
No parts of this magazine may be reproduced without publisher’s permission.
Camera Austria International does not assume any responsibility for submitted texts and original materials.

ISBN 978-3-902911-19-3
ISSN 1015 1915
GTIN 4 19 23106 1600 5 00131

Camera Austria International

131 | 2015

Preis

€16 In den Warenkorb

  • MAREN LÜBBKE-TIDOW
    Annette Kelm: Wir wissen eigentlich nicht, was wir sehen: Fotografieren fotografieren
  • ANNETTE KELM
  • Gastredaktion
    ANNETTE KELM

    Belichtung und Farbwerte / Exposure and Chromaticity
    Shannon Ebner
    Sabine Reitmaier
    Morgan Fisher
    Judith Hopf
    Horst P. Horst
    Josephine Pryde
    Louis Ducos du Hauron
    Michael Schmidt
    Barbara Kasten
    Henrik Olesen
    Sylvia Sleigh
    Christopher Williams
    David Lieske
    Jan Groover
    Arthur Ou
    Dirk von Lowtzow
    Lucie Stahl
    Herbert Tobias

  • HENDRIK SCHWANTES
    Hans Hansen im Gespräch mit Hendrik Schwantes: Das Studio
  • HANS HANSEN

Vorwort

Zum wiederholten Mal haben wir uns entschieden, eine Ausgabe von Camera Austria International gemeinsam mit einer Künstlerin / einem Künstler zu konzipieren – nach Gastredaktionen mit Tobias Zielony (Camera Austria International Nr. 114/2011) und Artur Żmijewski (Camera Austria International Nr. 117/2012) haben wir nun die Künstlerin Annette Kelm eingeladen, die vorliegende Ausgabe mit uns zu gestalten. Annette Kelm ist bereits seit vielen Jahren der Institution Camera Austria, dem Ausstellungsraum wie der Zeitschrift, verbunden – einem Hauptbeitrag in Ausgabe Nr. 102/2008 folgte eine von Maren Lübbke-Tidow kuratierte Einzelausstellung in Graz im Jahr 2009 und immer wieder Besprechungen ihrer Ausstellungsprojekte.
Unser Interesse an Annette Kelms künstlerischer Arbeit wird getragen von ihrer kontinuierlichen Fortführung des Bildermachens, das sich immer schon abarbeitet an ihrem kulturellen Umfeld – Menschen, Objekte, Artefakte nehmen hier nie die Funktion reiner Indizes ein, sondern werden zu eigenen Arrangements, »an deren Motiven sich alle, die sie betrachten, regelmäßig die Zähne ausbeißen.« (Maren Lübbke-Tidow) Es ist also jener Widerspruch zwischen Buchstäblichkeit und Verrätselung, der uns ihre Arbeiten für eine produktive Beschäftigung mit aktuellen Kontexten des Bildermachens exemplarisch erscheinen lässt.

Volltext

Camera Austria International 131 | 2015
Vorwort

Zum wiederholten Mal haben wir uns entschieden, eine Ausgabe von Camera Austria International gemeinsam mit einer Künstlerin / einem Künstler zu konzipieren – nach Gastredaktionen mit Tobias Zielony (Camera Austria International Nr. 114/2011) und Artur Żmijewski (Camera Austria International Nr. 117/2012) haben wir nun die Künstlerin Annette Kelm eingeladen, die vorliegende Ausgabe mit uns zu gestalten. Annette Kelm ist bereits seit vielen Jahren der Institution Camera Austria, dem Ausstellungsraum wie der Zeitschrift, verbunden – einem Hauptbeitrag in Ausgabe Nr. 102/2008 folgte eine von Maren Lübbke-Tidow kuratierte Einzelausstellung in Graz im Jahr 2009 und immer wieder Besprechungen ihrer Ausstellungsprojekte.
Unser Interesse an Annette Kelms künstlerischer Arbeit wird getragen von ihrer kontinuierlichen Fortführung des Bildermachens, das sich immer schon abarbeitet an ihrem kulturellen Umfeld – Menschen, Objekte, Artefakte nehmen hier nie die Funktion reiner Indizes ein, sondern werden zu eigenen Arrangements, »an deren Motiven sich alle, die sie betrachten, regelmäßig die Zähne ausbeißen.« (Maren Lübbke-Tidow) Es ist also jener Widerspruch zwischen Buchstäblichkeit und Verrätselung, der uns ihre Arbeiten für eine produktive Beschäftigung mit aktuellen Kontexten des Bildermachens exemplarisch erscheinen lässt.
Unter dem Titel »Belichtung und Farbwerte / Exposure and Chromaticity« hat Annette Kelm Arbeiten von KünstlerInnen zusammengestellt, die auch Licht auf ihre eigenen Bilder oder ein ihnen zugrundeliegendes Interesse am Bildermachen werfen: Die Fotografie als bildgebendes Medium steht hier im Vordergrund, und deutlich wird dies auch an der Stelle, an der das Medium verlassen wird und Zeichnung, Collage (Judith Hopf, Henrik Olesen), Malerei (Sylvia Sleigh) und Poesie (Josephine Pryde, Dirk von Lowtzow) Raum in dieser Zeitschrift und eine in diesem Raum existierende Verbundenheit gegeben wird. »Belichtung und Farbwerte « verweist aber zunächst auf die technischen Aspekte des fotografischen Bildermachens, »die für die BetrachterInnen nicht sichtbar und faktisch nicht nachvollziehbar sind« – Maren Lübbke-Tidow beschreibt in ihrem Text in dieser Ausgabe genau diese Lücke zwischen ProduzentInnen und BetrachterInnen, die sich auf dem Weg von fotografischer Aufnahme (und all den damit verbundenen Fragen und Entscheidungen) bis hin zur Entschlüsselung des Bildes durch die RezipientInnen auftut: »Wir wissen eigentlich nicht, was wir sehen: Fotografieren fotografieren«. Annette Kelms dezidiertes Einbeziehen eben dieser fotografischen Fragestellungen wird nicht zuletzt deutlich an der angewandten Fotografie von Hans Hansen, dessen Gespräch mit Hendrik Schwantes den von Annette Kelm kuratierten Teil dieser Ausgabe schließt und die Idee und Möglichkeit der Konstruktion im fotografischen Bild offenlegt.
Es ist eine für Camera Austria ungewöhnliche Ausgabe entstanden. Und es ist genau diese Ungewöhnlichkeit, das Immer-wieder-Heraustreten aus den eigenen Interessens- und Beschäftigungsgebieten, die die Arbeit an dem Projekt Camera Austria enorm bereichert und fordert. Wir möchten Annette Kelm für ihre Bereitschaft zu diesem Projekt, für ihr engagiertes und unermüdliches Bemühen und die Zeit, die sie hierfür investiert hat, unseren großen Dank aussprechen.

Reinhard Braun und Rebecca Wilton
und das Camera-Austria-Team
September 2015

Beiträge

Ausstellungen

Liebes Wien, Deine Ingeborg Strobl
Wien Museum Karlsplatz, Wien
MAREN LÜBBKE-TIDOW

Unsere Helden. Rückblick auf den sozialistischen Realismus, das Beispiel Ex-Jugoslawien
Kunstgalerie Maribor
Helden. Versuch der Inventarisierung
Nationales Kunstmuseum der Ukraine, Kiew
HERWIG G. HÖLLER

Sven Johne: Anomalien des frühen 21. Jahrhunderts / Einige Fallbeispiele
Arbeiterkammer Wien
CHRISTIAN EGGER

Widerstand und Amnesie #2 – Über gescheiterte Utopien, lebendige Mythen und Kolonialität heute
Kunstpavillon, Innsbruck
SØNKE GAU

Sarah Charlesworth: Doubleworld
New Museum, New York
RACHEL BAUM

Charlotte Moth: Choreography of the Image
Tate Britain, London
ELEA HIMMELSBACH

Andrzej Steinbach: Figur I, Figur II
Sprengel Museum Hannover
MORITZ SCHEPER

Jon Rafman
Musée d’Art Contemporain de Montréal, Montreal
HEATHER DAVIS / MICHAEL NARDONE

Under the Clouds: From Paranoia to the Digital Sublime
Museu de Arte Contemporânea de Serralves, Porto
ÓSCAR FARIA

Trevor Paglen: The Octopus
Frankfurter Kunstverein, Frankfurt / Main
VERENA KUNI

7. Fotobookfestival Kassel
documenta-Halle, Kassel
JAN WENZEL

The Order of Things: Photography from the Walther Collection
The Walther Collection, Neu-Ulm
TACO HIDDE BAKKER

Utopian Pulse – Flares in the Darkroom
Württembergischer Kunstverein Stuttgart
Secession Wien
CHRISTINE PETERS

Welten im Widerspruch – Zonen der Globalisierung
Galerie im Taxispalais, Innsbruck
MANISHA JOTHADY

Fred Lonidier: Strike
Centre de la photographie Genève, Genf
Istituto Svizzera di Roma, Rom
UNO, Palais des Nations, Salle des Pas Perdus, Genf
Camere del Lavoro Autonomo e Precario, Rom
Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK)
CHRISTINA TÖPFER

The Day Will Come – When We Share More Than Ever
Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg
The Day Will Come – When Photography Revises
Kunstverein in Hamburg
KARIN SCHULZE

Valérie Jouve: Bodies Resisting
Jeu de Paume, Paris,
Germaine Krull
Jeu de Paume, Paris
Martin-Gropius-Bau, Berlin
Images of Conviction: The Construction of Visual Evidence
Le Bal, Paris
The Photographers’ Gallery, London
Nederlands Fotomuseum, Rotterdam
ELLIE ARMON AZOULAY

Bücher

Geert Goiris: Prophet
Roma Publications, Amsterdam 2015
KATHI HOFER

Hilde van Gelder (ed.): Allan Sekula. Ship of Fools / The Dockers’ Museum
Leuven University Press, Leuven 2015
WILFRIED PRANTNER

A “Visual Pathology”
Hillie de Rooij: Myopia
The Eriskay Connection, Breda 2015
MICHÈLE COHEN-HADRIA

Ruinierte Montagen
Über die fragwürdige Editionspraxis bei Bertolt Brechts Arbeitsjournal
Bertolt Brecht: Große kommentierte Berliner und Frankfurter Ausgabe. Journale 2
Suhrkamp Verlag, Frankfurt / Main; Aufbau Verlag Weimar / Berlin, 1994/95
JAN WENZEL

Impressum

Herausgeber: Reinhard Braun

Verlag, Eigentümer: Verein CAMERA AUSTRIA. Labor für Fotografie und Theorie.
Lendkai 1, 8020 Graz, Österreich

Redaktion: Margit Neuhold, Christina Töpfer, Rebecca Wilton
Clara Wildberger (Praktikum)

ÜbersetzerInnen: Dawn Michelle d’Atri, Peter McCavana, Wilfried Prantner.

Englisches Lektorat: Dawn Michelle d’Atri

Dank: Joerg Bader, Daniela Baumann, Laura Bielau, Janet Borden, Lizzie Borden, Silvia Cipriani, Shannon Ebner, Isabelle Fein, Morgan Fisher, Robbie Fitzpatrick, Jean-Claude Freymond-Guth, Philip Gaißer, Simon Greenberg, Valentina Hagendorfer, Hans Hansen, Adam Harrison, Emma Hazen, Judith Hopf, Douglas John, Barbara Kasten, Annette Kelm, Johann König, Sébastien Leseigneur, David Lieske, Aram Lintzel, Stefanie Löhr, Dirk von Lowtzow, Maren Lübbke-Tidow, Nasim Mirzai, Henrik Olesen, Arthur Ou, Eléonor de Pesters, Josephine Pryde, Sabine Reit­maier, Esperanza Rosales, Karin Schmidt, Elisa Schroer, Hendrik Schwantes, Lucie Stahl, Christian Tagger, Anna Voswinckel, Rachel Walker, Brendan Wattenberg, Christopher Williams, Ayelet Yanai.

Copyright © 2015
Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Nachdruck nur mit vorheriger Genehmigung des Verlags. Für übermittelte Manuskripte und Originalvorlagen wird keine Haftung übernommen.

ISBN 978-3-902911-19-3
ISSN 1015 1915
GTIN 4 19 23106 1600 5 00131