Anouk Tschanz: Actinism

Infos

Opening
7.6.2024, 6 p.m.

Artist’s tour with
Anouk Tschanz
8.6.2024, 2 p.m.

Duration
8.6. – 18.8.2024

Opening hours
Tue – Sun and bank holidays
10 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Guided tours
German, English
Free, on request:
exhibitions@camera-austria.at
+43 316 81555016

Curated by
Anna Voswinckel

Anouk Tschanz, Blatt (Leaf), 2023.

Intro

Anouk Tschanz, in her work, delves into the process of seeing and perceiving the world around us, and of reproducing it through photographs. Amid a visual culture characterized by accelerated digital image generation, Tschanz purposely employs the elaborate technique of analogue black-and-white photography, with the aim of training the focus on the perception of each individual image. In the exhibition, three recent photographic series are combined, all touching on classic subjects found in nature photos: Steine (Stones, 2024), Sonnenblumen (Sunflowers, 2023), and Blätter (Leaves, 2019–ongoing). The latter take center stage in the Actinism project. The staggering number of leaves with their idiosyncrasies of form can be read as an examination of biodiversity, of climatic conditions and weather effects. At the same time, in all three photographic series, the artist deals with processes of image creation, with surfaces, materiality, light, and depth. The word Blatt has two meanings—“leaf” as plant and “sheet” as (photo) paper—which gives rise to a polarization of nature and culture. In this same vein, Tschanz’s dense image compositions oscillate between representation and abstraction, encouraging us to view her photographs up close. Actinism is Tschanz’s first solo exhibition at a venue outside of Switzerland.

Anouk Tschanz (b. 1994 in Bern, CH) studied at the École cantonale d’art de Lausanne (ECAL) (CH), the Universität der Künste (UdK) Berlin (DE), and the Glasgow School of Art (GB). She lives and works in Zurich (CH). Her recent solo exhibitions were shown at Coalmine, Winterthur (CH, 2021), and LONGTANG, Zurich (2020).

Read more

Anouk Tschanz: Actinism

“Photography is neither a human representation nor a tool, [Walter Benjamin] argues, but rather one of the primary means through which the world discloses itself to us. What it reveals is uninformed by human consciousness—not just because it exceeds our optical capacities, but also because nature ‘speaks’ a different language to the camera than it does to the human eye: one based on analogy.”¹ Making reference to the aspect of indexicality, the art historian Kaja Silverman notes that “photography’s truth is disclosive, rather than evidentiary.”² Silverman likewise identifies in Anna Atkins’s famous mid-nineteenth century cyanotypes of algae and ferns an artistic sensitivity for analogies of form, which Atkins describes, independently of a botanic taxonomy, as “impressions of the plants themselves.”³ Contrary to William Henry Fox Talbot, who saw photography as “impressed by the agency of light alone” in disclosing the world, Silverman sees us—as human operators—as being constantly challenged by photography to establish relationships by recognizing analogies.4

Anouk Tschanz, who pursued a degree in the visual arts rather than formally studying photography, has been employing analogue black-and-white photography as an artistic means of expression for many years now. Playing a decisive role here is the ability to influence the pictures taken by making artistic decisions during the film-developing and enlargement process in the darkroom. Here she produces her handmade prints using elaborate techniques like split-grade filtering, image masking, post-exposure, or dodging.

Already during her studies in the bachelor’s program at the École cantonale d’art de Lausanne (ECAL), Tschanz began to explore the chemical and material fundaments of photography in experimental and conceptual projects. In order to better understand the medium, she engaged in a “reverse engineering” of sorts, going back to photography’s very beginnings, using self-made pinhole cameras, mixing her own photo emulsion, or examining different shades of color on developed and not-yet-developed paper. Again and again photographic series emerged from these investigative steps as byproducts, such as Out Of Your Body (2018). In this work, she took the animal-based glue sheets needed for mixing the bone glue and placed them in the darkroom directly onto the enlarger’s negative holder and then printed them like a photographic negative, filtered in color. While investigating red light filtering in the darkroom, Tschanz came across the term “actinism,” which describes how the photochemical potency of light touching photosensitive surfaces is measured—and which lends the exhibition its title. Since the term in English reads like a play on words with “activism,” it could also subtly allude to the question of (one’s own) ability to act in response to physical but also global ecological processes.

Many of Tschanz’s early works can be understood as approaches to penetrating the medium she was using to create her art. Since her university days, Anouk Tschanz’s work has evolved from media-reflexive to documentary, from abstraction to realism, and from color to black and white. The medium of photography, however, has remained ingrained in her works over time. Tschanz invites us to look at her images more closely—be it randomly exposed printing plates, reproduced sheets of photo paper, or the leaf of a shrub.

In the exhibition space at Camera Austria, we first encounter a series of Sonnenblumen (Sunflowers, 2023). The close-up shots in black and white depict radially opening petals, captured by a 6×6 medium-format camera. Some of the plants were photographed outside, others against a neutral studio background. The artist allows us to discover—in these plants cultivated monoculturally on a mass scale—the diverse growth forms and color variations, which are usually omitted from stereotypical renderings of sunflowers. Tschanz forces us to look very closely in order to perceive the sunflowers without their cultural coding (“warmth,” “joie de vivre,” “the Green Party,” “Ukraine,” etc.), gazing beyond the stereotypes.

Newly produced for the exhibition is the series Steine (Sto­nes, 2024), featuring black-and-white photographs of quartzes and crystals against a black backdrop, shot in the studio. Portrait and landscape formats alternate here depending on the shape of the respective stone. The powerful contrasts in lighting lend emphasis to the sharp edges of the quartz; the hard and solid surface of the minerals makes them seem fragile at the same time due to their opacity and the delicate bifurcations. Analogous to the transformation of organic substances into inorganic ones, minerals—like photographs—stand for the preservation of memory; like a fossil, time can become inscribed in a photograph and survive in a form legible in a different way. The stones become a vis-à-vis for the beholder due to the frontal shot, the enlargement, and the mounting at eye level—it is almost as if one could discern faces. Hence, an inversion of subject and object occurs: the semi-precious stones, which we normally view as objects, now take on the guise of a creature gazing back at us.

This observation leads us to the series Blätter (Leaves, 2019–ongoing)—framed solo images in slightly varying formats, moun­ted in a long row. Tschanz photographed each leaf in the place where it is growing or was cultivated: along streets in cities she has lived in, sites spotted on trips through Europe, in remote meadows in the Alps. One photo was taken last year in Graz. Depending on the given motif, she uses an analogue 35mm camera or medium- or large-format camera. For the pictorial invention, the lighting situation at the moment the photograph was taken is decisive. The Blätter pictures are the main focus of the exhibition Actinism. The overwhelming number of prints and the different forms can also be understood as a reference to biodiversity, to the impact of climate and weather conditions. At the same time, the artist is interested in processes of pictorial creation, in surfaces, materiality, light, depth.

The leaves in Blätter display their own quirks and flaws. Tschanz’s photographs are the opposite of schematic pictures, an inversion of the famous nature photographs of Karl Blossfeldt.5 Her photos were not made in the studio, not removed from their natural environment, not systematized. Anouk Tschanz is not interested in taxonomies, but in analogies: Of what do the leaves remind us? And how can these similarities allow relations to evolve? Although plants had played an only occasional role in Tschanz’s search for motifs earlier on, with the series Blätter the artist then made the move described above, from exploring the medium of photography to engaging with nature.

That nature photography faces fundamental pictorial issues is something that has been affecting the medium since its early use for the purpose of recording the species and populations of plants. It is surely no coincidence that Tschanz’s first photographs of leaves were taken during her time as a visiting student at the Glasgow School of Art, where the history of photography and image theory were main elements of the curriculum.

An indication that Tschanz is aware of these references and issues is given by Untitled (2020), which is presented alone in the exhibition. In this work, the important polarizations evoked by photography come to the fore: those between the given and the made, and thus those of nature and culture. The picture shows a newly exposed, fixed, and rinsed photograph, lying slightly curved atop a second sheet—a leaf of paper rendering a leaf. Drops of water are apparent on the surface of the photo paper. Analogue photography is tied to its material foundations. It is flat and planar, yet the act of our perception allows depth and three-dimensionality to arise. Indeed, Untitled is perhaps the clearest example of a photograph rendering the photographic.

¹ Kaja Silverman, The Miracle of Analogy or The History of Photography, Part 1 (Stanford: Stanford University Press, 2015), pp. 141–42.
² Ibid., p. 10.
³ Ibid., p. 100.
4 Ibid., pp. 11–12.
5 For alerting me to this, I am grateful to the artist Markéta Othová, with whom I corresponded by email about the work of Anouk Tschanz.

Anouk Tschanz (b. 1994 in Bern, CH) studied at the École cantonale d’art de Lausanne (ECAL) (CH), the Universität der Künste (UdK) Berlin (DE), and the Glasgow School of Art (GB). She lives and works in Zurich (CH). Her recent solo exhibitions were shown at Coalmine, Winterthur (CH, 2021), and LONGTANG, Zurich (2020).

 

Installation Views

  • Anouk Tschanz, Blatt (Leaf), 2019.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Blatt (Leaf), 2019.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Blatt (Leaf), 2019.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Blatt (Leaf), 2019.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Blatt (Leaf), 2020.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Blatt (Leaf), 2023.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Blatt (Leaf), 2023.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Sonnenblume (Sunflower), 2023.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Sonnenblume (Sunflower), 2023.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Sonnenblume (Sunflower), 2023.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Stein (Stone), 2024.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Stein (Stone), 2024.

/

Partners/Sponsors

Anouk Tschanz: Actinism

Infos

Eröffnung
7.6.2024, 18:00

Künstlerinnenführung mit
Anouk Tschanz

8.6.2024, 14:00

Zeitraum
8.6. – 18.8.2024

Öffnungszeiten
Di – So und an Feiertagen
10:00 – 18:00

Führungen
Deutsch, Englisch
kostenlos, nach Vereinbarung:
exhibitions@camera-austria.at
+43 316 81555016

Kuratiert von
Anna Voswinckel

 

Anouk Tschanz, Blatt, 2023.

Intro

Anouk Tschanz untersucht in ihren Arbeiten den Prozess des Sehens und Wahrnehmens der uns umgebenden Welt und deren fotografische Wiedergabe. Dabei setzt sie bewusst auf die aufwendigen Verfahren der analogen Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografie, um in einer von beschleunigten digitalen Bildentstehungsprozessen geprägten visuellen Kultur den Fokus auf die Wahrnehmung des Einzelbildes zu richten. In der Ausstellung sind drei jüngere Bildserien kombiniert, die jeweils klassische Sujets der Naturfotografie aufgreifen: Steine (2024), Sonnenblumen (2023) und Blätter (seit 2019). Letztere stehen im Zentrum von Actinism. Die überwältigende Anzahl der Blätter mit ihren formalen Eigenheiten lässt sich als Auseinandersetzung mit Biodiversität, mit Klima- und Witterungseinflüssen verstehen. Gleichzeitig geht es der Künstlerin in allen drei Fotoserien um Prozesse der Bildfindung, um Oberflächen, Materialität, Licht, Tiefe. In gleichem Maße wie der doppeldeutige Begriff des Blattes – des pflanzlichen wie des (foto-)papierenen – die Polarisierung von Natur und Kultur aufbricht, oszillieren Tschanz’ konzentrierte Bildkompositionen zwischen Repräsentation und Abstraktion – wodurch wir angeregt sind, ihre Fotografien eingehender zu betrachten. Actinism ist Tschanz’ erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung außerhalb der Schweiz.

Anouk Tschanz (geb. 1994 in Bern, CH) studierte an der École cantonale d’art de Lausanne (ECAL) (CH), der Universität der Künste (UdK) Berlin (DE) und an der Glasgow School of Art (GB). Sie lebt und arbeitet in Zürich (CH). Ihre letzten Einzelausstellungen wurden bei Coalmine, Winterthur (CH, 2021), und LONGTANG, Zürich (2020), gezeigt.

Volltext

Anouk Tschanz: Actinism

»Fotografie ist weder menschliche Repräsentation noch Instru­­ment, schreibt [Walter Benjamin], sondern eines der Hauptmittel, durch das die Welt sich uns zeigt. Was sie offen­bart, ist vom menschlichen Bewusstsein unbeeinflusst – nicht nur, weil es unsere optischen Fähigkeiten übersteigt, sondern auch, weil die Natur für die Kamera eine andere Sprache ›spricht‹ als für das menschliche Auge: eine, die auf Analogie beruht.«¹ Bezugnehmend auf den Aspekt der Indexikalität sieht die Kunsthistorikerin Kaja Silverman das Bemerkenswerte an der Fotografie weniger in ihrem Evidenzcharakter als in ihrer Fähigkeit, »uns die Welt zu offenbaren«.² Auch in Anna Atkins’ berühmten, Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts entstandenen Cyanotypien von Algen und Farnen erkennt Silverman eine künstlerische Sensibilität für formale Analogien, die Atkins unabhängig von einer botanischen Taxonomie als »Selbstausdruck der Pflanzen« beschreibt.³ Silverman sieht jedoch nicht allein die von William Henry Fox Talbot konstatierte Einwirkung von Licht (»agency of light«) als alleinige Akteurin der fotografischen Welterfassung, sondern wir als menschliche Operateur*innen sind durch die Fotografie permanent aufgefordert, durch das Erkennen von Analogien Beziehungen herzustellen.4

Anouk Tschanz, die nie dezidiert Fotografie, sondern Bilden­de Kunst studiert hat, nutzt analoge Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografie seit vielen Jahren als künstlerisches Ausdrucksmittel. Eine entscheidende Rolle spielt für sie dabei die Möglichkeit der Einflussnahme auf die aufgenommenen Bilder während der Filmentwicklung und der Vergrößerung in der Dunkelkammer. Hier produziert sie ihre Handabzüge in aufwendigen Verfahren wie Splitgrade-Filterung, Maskieren, Nachbelichten oder Abwedeln.

Bereits während ihres Bachelorstudiums an der École canto­nale d’art de Lausanne (ECAL) begann Tschanz, sich anhand von experimentellen und konzeptuellen Arbeiten mit den chemischen und materiellen Grundlagen der Fotografie auseinanderzusetzen. Um das Medium zu verstehen, betrieb sie eine Art Reverse Engineering, ging zu den Anfängen der Fotografie zurück, verwendete selbstgebaute Lochkameras, mischte Fotoemulsion selbst an oder untersuchte die unterschiedlichen Farbschattierungen von entwickeltem und unentwickeltem Fotopapier. Immer wieder entstanden aus diesen Untersuchungsschritten foto­grafische Serien als Nebenprodukte, wie beispielsweise Out Of Your Body (2018), für die sie zum Anrühren von Glutinleim benötigte Knochenleimplatten in der Dunkelkammer direkt auf die Negativbühne des Vergrößerungsgeräts legte und sie wie ein Fotonegativ, farbig gefiltert, abzog. In der Untersuchung von Rotlichtfilterung in der Dunkelkammer stieß Tschanz auf den Begriff der Aktinität (englisch: actinism), der die fotochemische Wirksamkeit von Lichtstrahlung auf fotosensitive Oberflächen bemisst und der Ausstellung ihren Titel gibt. Da sich der Begriff im Englischen wie ein Wortspiel mit activism liest, könnte er auf subtile Weise auf Fragen der (eigenen) Handlungsfähigkeit in Bezug auf physische, aber auch globale ökologische Prozesse hindeuten.

Viele von Tschanz’ frühen Arbeiten lassen sich als Ansätze verstehen, das Medium, mit dem sie arbeitet, zu durchdringen. Seit ihrem Studium hat sich das Werk der Künstlerin vom Medienreflexiven zum Dokumentarischen, von der Abstraktion zum Realismus und von der Farbe zum Schwarz-Weiß entwickelt. Den die Fotografie reflektierenden Aspekt haben ihre Arbeiten dabei stets beibehalten. Tschanz bringt uns dazu, Bilder genau anzuschauen – seien es zufällig belichtete Druckplatten, reproduzierte Fotopapiere oder ein Blatt an einem Strauch.

Im Ausstellungsraum von Camera Austria begegnen wir zu­nächst einer Serie von Sonnenblumen (2023). Es handelt sich um Schwarz-Weiß-Nahaufnahmen von sich strahlenförmig öffnenden Blütenblättern, die mit einer 6×6-Mittelformatkamera aufgenommen wurden. Einige der Pflanzen wurden im Freien fotografiert, andere vor einem neutralen Hintergrund im Studio. Die Künstlerin lässt uns in den massenhaft und monokulturell angebauten Nutzpflanzen vielfältige Wuchsformen und Farbschattierungen entdecken, die in stereotypen Darstellungen von Sonnenblumen üblicherweise ausgeblendet werden. Tschanz zwingt uns, genau hinzuschauen, die Blumen ohne ihre kulturelle Codierung (»Wärme«, »Lebens­freude«, »Die Grü­nen«, »Ukraine« etc.) wahrzunehmen, gegen die Stereotypen zu sehen.

Neu für die Ausstellung entstanden ist die Serie Steine (2024). Es handelt sich um Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografien von Quarzen und Kristallen vor schwarzem Hintergrund, die im Studio aufgenommen wurden. Je nach Form des abgebildeten Steins wechseln sich Hoch- und Querformate ab. Durch die starken Lichtkontraste werden die scharfen Kanten der Quarze betont, die harte und massive Oberfläche der Minerale scheint durch ihre Opazität und die feinen Verästelungen gleichzeitig fragil. In Analogie zur Umwandlung organischer in anorganische Substanzen stehen Mineralien wie Fotografien für das Bewahren von Erinnerung – wie in ein Fossil kann sich die Zeit in eine Fotografie einschreiben und in anders lesbarer Form überdauern. Durch die frontale Aufnahme, Vergrößerung und die Hängung auf Augenhöhe werden die Steine zum Gegenüber der Betrachter*innen – fast meint man, Gesichter erkennen zu können. So findet eine Subjekt-Objekt-Umkehr statt: Die Schmucksteine, die wir normalerweise als Objekte wahrnehmen, bekommen etwas Wesenhaftes, sie blicken uns an.

Diese Beobachtung führt uns zu der Serie Blätter (seit 2019) – in langer Reihe gehängte, gerahmte Einzelbilder in leicht variie­renden Formaten. Tschanz hat jedes Blatt dort aufgenommen, wo es wächst oder angebaut wird: am Straßenrand in den Städten, in denen sie gelebt hat, auf Reisen durch Europa, auf abgelegenen Wiesen in den Alpen. Eines hat sie letztes Jahr in Graz aufgenommen. Je nach Motiv fotografiert sie mit einer analogen Kleinbild-, Mittelformat- oder Großformatkamera. Ausschlaggebend für die Bildfindung ist unter anderem die Lichtsituation zum Zeitpunkt der Aufnahme. Die Blätter stehen im Mittelpunkt der Ausstellung Actinism. Ihre überwältigende Anzahl und die unterschiedlichen Formen lassen sich auch als Auseinandersetzung mit Biodiversität, mit Klima- und Witterungseinflüssen verstehen. Gleichzeitig geht es der Künstlerin um Prozesse der Bildfindung, um Oberflächen, Materialität, Licht, Tiefe.

Die Blätter zeigen ihre Eigenheiten und Brüche. Tschanz’ Fotografien sind das Gegenteil von Schaubildern, eine Umkehrung der berühmten Naturaufnahmen von Karl Blossfeldt5 – nicht im Studio aufgenommen, nicht aus ihrer natürlichen Umgebung herausgelöst, nicht systematisiert. Anouk Tschanz interessiert sich nicht für Taxonomien, sondern für Analogien: Woran erinnern uns die Blätter und wie lassen sich über diese Ähnlichkeiten Beziehungen herstellen? Hatten Pflanzen bis dahin nur vereinzelt eine Rolle in ihrer Motivfindung gespielt, so vollzog die Künstlerin mit den Blättern den eingangs beschriebenen Wandel von der Auseinandersetzung mit dem Medium Fotografie hin zur Auseinandersetzung mit der Natur.

Dass die Naturfotografie auf grundsätzliche Fragen der Bildhaftigkeit stößt, beschäftigt das Medium seit seiner frühen Verwendung für die Erfassung von Pflanzenarten und -beständen. Es ist wohl kein Zufall, dass die ersten Aufnahmen von Blättern während Tschanz’ Gaststudium an der Glasgow School of Art entstanden, wo die Auseinandersetzung mit Fotografiegeschichte und Bildtheorie im Zentrum der Lehre steht.

Einen Hinweis darauf, dass Tschanz sich dieser Referenzen und Fragen bewusst ist, gibt die solitär gehängte Arbeit Untitled (2020). In ihr treten die wichtigen Polarisierungen des Fotografischen hervor: jene zwischen dem Gegebenen und dem Gemachten und damit auch jene von Natur und Kultur. Das Bild zeigt einen frisch belichteten, fixierten und gewässerten Abzug, der leicht gewölbt über einem anderen liegt – ein Blatt, das ein Blatt abbildet. Wassertropfen zeichnen sich auf der Oberfläche des Fotopapiers ab. Die analoge Fotografie ist an ihre materielle Grundlage gebunden. Sie ist flächig, lässt durch unsere Wahrnehmung aber Tiefe und Räumlichkeit entstehen. So ist Untitled vielleicht am deutlichsten eine Fotografie, die uns über das Fotografische nachdenken lässt.

¹ Kaja Silverman, The Miracle of Analogy or The History of Photography, Part 1, Stanford: Stanford University Press 2015, S. 141–142 (Übers. A. V.).
² Ebd., S. 10.
³Ebd., S. 100.
4 Ebd., S. 11–12.
5 Ich verdanke diesen Hinweis der Künstlerin Markéta Othová, mit der ich einen E-Mail-Austausch über die Arbeit von Anouk Tschanz geführt habe.

Anouk Tschanz (geb. 1994 in Bern, CH) studierte an der École cantonale d’art de Lausanne (ECAL) (CH), der Universität der Künste (UdK) Berlin (DE) und an der Glasgow School of Art (GB). Sie lebt und arbeitet in Zürich (CH). Ihr letzten Einzelausstellungen wurden bei Coalmine, Winterthur (CH, 2021) und LONGTANG, Zürich (2020) gezeigt.

Ausstellungsansichten

  • Anouk Tschanz, Blatt, 2019.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Blatt, 2019.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Blatt, 2019.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Blatt, 2019.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Blatt, 2020.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Blatt, 2023.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Blatt, 2023.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Sonnenblume, 2023.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Sonnenblume, 2023.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Sonnenblume, 2023.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Stein, 2024.

  • Anouk Tschanz, Stein, 2024.

/

Kooperationspartner/Sponsoren