Camera Austria International

132 | 2015

Price

€16 Add to cart

  • SIMON BAIER
    Anne Collier: Albus / Ater
  • ANNE COLLIER
  • MATTHIAS REICHELT
    On the Scent of Upheaval: The Pictorial Narratives of Helmut and Johanna Kandl
  • HELMUT UND JOHANNA KANDL
  • GUY MANNES-ABBOTT
    Ala Younis: Figuring Lesser Baghdadis (One to Seven)
  • ALA YOUNIS
  • CECILIA FAJARDO-HILL
    Teresa Burga: Open Work
  • TERESA BURGA

Preface

Processes that newly determine the distribution of political, social, cultural, and economic agency have long been playing out—not just starting with the events currently culminating around flight and migration in Europe—attesting to dislocation in terms of geography and politics. These processes of redistribution not only point to the future, to a different tomorrow, but also simultaneously induce a revision of the way the history of the present is to be written. The current issue of Camera Austria International focuses on four artistic positions, which are exemplary and antithetical in equal measure, in an attempt to explore the issue of the construction and reconstruction of history, of remembrance and cultural memory.

Read more

Camera Austria International 132 | 2015
Preface

Processes that newly determine the distribution of political, social, cultural, and economic agency have long been playing out—not just starting with the events currently culminating around flight and migration in Europe—attesting to dislocation in terms of geography and politics. These processes of redistribution not only point to the future, to a different tomorrow, but also simultaneously induce a revision of the way the history of the present is to be written.
The current issue of Camera Austria International focuses on four artistic positions, which are exemplary and antithetical in equal measure, in an attempt to explore the issue of the construction and reconstruction of history, of remembrance and cultural memory. In the case of Anne Collier, her work often deals with the re-representation of already published visual testimonials. As Simon Baier notes, “most of the found objects originate from a past that, though not specified, usually goes back to the pre-digital era: photo books from the 1970s, or even photo albums. But also the music cassettes and LPs that Collier sometimes displays in her photographs are obsolete media in our present day and age.” But what does bringing supposedly obsolete material back into play mean, exposing it to a new gaze?
Helmut and Johanna Kandl have long engaged in travel, research, and photography, encountering a diverse range of people, friends of friends—in the Austrian Waldviertel, former Yugoslavia, former Czechoslovakia, and Ukraine. Memories, information, and pictures are arranged in an associative way, resembling less an organised archive than the spoken word, a narrative, a conversation. Banal motifs are constellated with world-historical ones, yet not as counter-narratives but rather as a part of history, as commentary and corrective of the grand narratives.
The contribution on Ala Younis in the present issue goes back to her participation in this year’s Venice Biennale. In “Plan for Greater Baghdad” (2015), she references Frank Lloyd Wright’s 1957 redesign of the city as “Persianate fantasia”. The Gymnase de Bagdad reached completion—in accordance with Le Corbusier’s plans from the 1950s—in 1980, at a time when millions of oil dollars were expediting the modernisation of the city. Guy Mannes-Abbott takes a fragmented approach to reconstructing this phase and contextualises the many misunderstandings and violations within history that were so fundamental to this modernisation.
We also invited Teresa Burga to present her work, an artist who has, since the 1960s, been probing traditional conceptions of art, as well as the role and status of women within society. With her unconventional, critical stance towards gender and art issues, Burga is—as Cecilia Fajardo-Hill writes—one of those artists outside of the European and North American mainstream who “have, despite their invisibility in art-historical books, surveys, and key museum exhibitions, created some of the most radical and original art in the twentieth
century—works that we are only learning about now.”
It is in this sense of a necessary reassessment of representation and its role in the continued writing of history that we ultimately view our invitation extended to Eva Maria Ocherbauer to curate the Forum section, based on her teaching activity at LagosPhoto Summer School. In any case, a selection of works by her students shows a way of speaking about “Africa” that deviates from the many documentary and journalistic works familiar to us.

Reinhard Braun
and the Camera Austria Team
December 2015

Cover: Anne Collier, Despair, 2005. C-print, 94.7 × 116.3 cm. Courtesy: the artist; Anton Kern Gallery, New York; Corvi-Mora, London; Marc Foxx, Los Angeles; The Modern Institute/Toby Webster Ltd., Glasgow.

Entries

Forum

Presented by Eva Maria Ocherbauer

Anthony Monday
Sulayman Afose Senayon
Obuh Christopher Nelson
Rahima Gambo
Adeolu Adeniyi
Dada Michael Kolawole

Exhibitions

Co-Workers: Beyond Disaster
Bétonsalon – Centre d’Art et de Recherche, Paris
Co-Workers: Network as Artist
ARC – Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris
MICHÈLE COHEN-HADRIA

[7] Orte [7] Prekäre Felder
Fotofestival Mannheim-Ludwigshafen-Heidelberg
KERSTIN STREMMEL

Mark Leckey + Alessandro Raho: We Transfer
Secession, Vienna
ANNE FAUCHERET

Stadt/Bild. Image of a City
Brandlhuber + Hertweck, Mayfried
The Dialogic City : Berlin wird Berlin
Berlinische Galerie
Welcome to the Jungle
KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin
Xenopolis
Deutsche Bank KunstHalle, Berlin
Fluids. A Happening by Allan Kaprow, 1967/2015
Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
REBECCA WILTON

Landschaft. Umwelt. Kultur.
Über den transnationalen Einfluss der New Topographics
Museum für Photographie, Braunschweig
ANDREAS PRINZING

The Aftermath of Conflict: Jo Ractliffe’s Photographs of Angola and South Africa
The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
TACO HIDDE BAKKER

Twenty-Five? Hey, Give Me Five!
Topographie de l’Art, Paris
ELLIE ARMON AZOULAY

Hengameh Golestan: Witness 1979
The Showroom, London
FRANCESCA LAURA CAVALLO

Context is Half the Work – A Partial History of the Artist Placement Group
Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien, Berlin
SANDRA SCHÄFER

The School of Kyiv
Various venues, Kiev
HERWIG G. HÖLLER

Emily Jacir: Europa
Whitechapel Gallery, London
Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin
DENISE ROBINSON

Back to the Future: steirischer herbst 2015
Various venues, Graz and environs
NAZLI GÜRLEK

Farrah Karapetian
Danziger Gallery, New York
Cig Harvey: Gardening at Night
Robert Mann Gallery, New York
Delphine Burtin: Encouble
Benrubi Gallery, New York
Wolfgang Tillmans: PCR
David Zwirner Gallery
RACHEL BAUM

Telling Time. Rencontres de Bamako –
Biennale Africaine de la Photographie, 10ième édition
Musée National du Mali and various venues, Bamako
TOBIAS NEUMANN

Zofia Rydet: Record 1978–1990
Museum of Modern Art, Warsaw
JAKUB MAJMUREK

Books

Die Sprechenden
Rainald Goetz: elfter september 2010. Bilder eines Jahrzehnts
Suhrkamp Verlag, Berlin, 2010
Erich Salomon: Berühmte Zeitgenossen in unbewachten Augenblicken
Schirmer/Mosel, München, 1978
[Erstausgabe: Engelhorn, Stuttgart, 1931]
JAN WENZEL

Anthony Downey (ed.): Dissonant Archives. Contemporary Visual Culture and Contested Narratives in the Middle East
I.B.Tauris & Co. Ltd, London/New York 2015
MIRIAM ROSEN

Simone Donati: Hotel Immagine
TerraProject, Florenz/Rom 2015
GISLIND NABAKOWSKI

Dragana Jurišić: YU: The Lost Country
Oonagh Young Gallery, Dublin 2015
VESNA VUKOVIC

Imprint

Publisher: Reinhard Braun

Owner: Verein CAMERA AUSTRIA. Labor für Fotografie und Theorie.
Lendkai 1, 8020 Graz, Österreich

Editors: Margit Neuhold, Christina Töpfer, Rebecca Wilton.

Translators: Dawn Michelle d’Atri, John Doherty, Yoshiaki Kai, Peter McCavana, Wilfried Prantner.

English proofreading: Dawn Michelle d’Atri

Acknowledgement:Adeolu Adeniyi, Simon Baier, Madeleine Bernstorff, Teresa Burga, Delphine Burtin, Nayari Castillo, Diego Castro, Hans D. Christ, Jasmin Chun, Anne Collier, Angeles Devoto, Patricia Edgar, Cecilia Fajardo-Hill, Rahima Gambo, Herwig G. Höller, Azadeh Fatehrad, Helmut Kandl, Johanna Kandl, Farrah Karapetian, Kasia Klimpel, Dada Michael Kolawole, Miguel A. López, Guy Mannes-Abbott, Anthony Monday, Christin Müller, Obuh Christopher Nelson, Eva Maria Ocherbauer, Virgilio Pelayo, Matthias Reichelt, Pilar M. Ríos Ramírez, Anna Roszman, Sandra Schäfer, Sulayman Afose Senayon, Louise Shelley, Katharina Schniebs, Erzen Shkololli, Ian-Simon Curry, Kristen Smoragiewicz, Joana Theuer, Barbara Thumm, Nici Wegener, Ala Younis, Oleg Zabava.

Copyright © 2015
No parts of this magazine may be reproduced without publisher’s permission.
Camera Austria International does not assume any responsibility for submitted texts and original materials.

ISBN 978-3-902911-21-6
ISSN 1015 1915
GTIN 4 19 23106 1600 5 00132

Camera Austria International

132 | 2015

Preis

€16 In den Warenkorb

  • SIMON BAIER
    Anne Collier: Albus / Ater
  • ANNE COLLIER
  • MATTHIAS REICHELT
    Den Umbrüchen auf der Spur: Die Bilderzählungen von Helmut und Johanna Kandl
  • HELMUT UND JOHANNA KANDL
  • GUY MANNES-ABBOTT
    Ala Younis: Figuring Lesser Baghdadis (One to Seven)
  • ALA YOUNIS
  • CECILIA FAJARDO-HILL
    Teresa Burga: Offenes Werk
  • TERESA BURGA

Vorwort

Nicht erst die aktuell kulminierenden Ereignisse rund um Flucht und Migration in Europa zeugen von Verwerfungen in Geografie und Politik, längst schon sind Prozesse in Gang gekommen, die die Verteilung von politischen, sozialen, kulturellen und ökonomischen Handlungsfähigkeiten neu bestimmen. Diese Neuverteilungen weisen allerdings nicht nur in die Zukunft, auf ein anderes Morgen, sie bedingen gleichzeitig eine Revision dessen, wie die Geschichte der Gegenwart konstruiert wird. Die vorliegende Ausgabe von Camera Austria International versucht anhand von vier gleichermaßen exemplarischen wie gegensätzlichen künstlerischen Positionen der Frage nach Geschichtskonstruktion und -rekonstruktion, Erinnerung und kulturellem Gedächtnis nachzugehen.

Volltext

Camera Austria International 132 | 2015
Vorwort

Nicht erst die aktuell kulminierenden Ereignisse rund um Flucht und Migration in Europa zeugen von Verwerfungen in Geografie und Politik, längst schon sind Prozesse in Gang gekommen, die die Verteilung von politischen, sozialen, kulturellen und ökonomischen Handlungsfähigkeiten neu bestimmen. Diese Neuverteilungen weisen allerdings nicht nur in die Zukunft, auf ein anderes Morgen, sie bedingen gleichzeitig eine Revision dessen, wie die Geschichte der Gegenwart konstruiert wird.
Die vorliegende Ausgabe von Camera Austria International versucht anhand von vier gleichermaßen exemplarischen wie gegensätzlichen künstlerischen Positionen der Frage nach Geschichtskonstruktion und -rekonstruktion, Erinnerung und kulturellem Gedächtnis nachzugehen. Im Falle der Arbeiten von Anne Collier handelt es sich oftmals um die Re-Repräsentation von bereits veröffentlichten visuellen Zeugnissen, und zwar, wie Simon Baier schreibt, »gehören die meisten der gefundenen Objekte einer, wenn auch nicht weiter spezifizierten Vergangenheit an, die oft vor der Durchsetzung des Digitalen liegt: die Fotobücher der 1970er Jahre, selbst Fotoalben, aber auch Musikkassetten und LPs sind in unserer Gegenwart obsolete Medien.« Was aber bedeutet es, vermeintlich Obsoletes wieder ins Spiel zu bringen, einem neuen Blick auszusetzen?
Helmut und Johanna Kandl reisen, recherchieren, treffen verschiedenste Menschen, Freunde von Freunden, fotografieren – zwischen dem österreichischen Waldviertel, dem ehemaligen Jugoslawien, der ehemaligen Tschechoslowakei und der Ukraine. Erinnerungen, Informationen, Bilder werden in assoziativer Weise angeordnet, gleichen weniger einem organisierten Archiv als vielmehr dem gesprochenen Wort, einer Erzählung, einem Gespräch. Banales kommt neben Weltgeschichtlichem zum Liegen, allerdings nicht als eine Gegenerzählung, sondern als Teil von Geschichte, als Anmerkung und Korrektiv der großen Erzählungen.
Ala Younis’ Beitrag in dieser Ausgabe geht auf ihre Beteiligung an der diesjährigen Biennale von Venedig zurück. In »Plan for Grea­ter Baghdad« (2015) bezieht sie sich auf den von Frank Lloyd Wright 1957 vorgelegten Neuentwurf der Stadt als »persianische Fantasie«. 1980 wurde das Gymnase de Bagdad nach Plänen Le Corbusiers aus den 1950er Jahren fertiggestellt, eine Zeit, als durch Ölmillionen die Modernisierung der Stadt vorangetrieben wurde. Guy Mannes-Abbott rekonstruiert diese Phase ausschnitthaft, kontextualisiert die vielen Missverständnisse und Missachtungen der Geschichte, die dieser Modernisierung zugrunde lagen.
Mit Teresa Burga haben wir schließlich eine Künstlerin eingeladen, die seit den 1960er Jahren traditionelle Vorstellungen von Kunst sowie die Rolle und Stellung der Frau in der Gesellschaft befragt. Mit ihrer eigenwilligen, kritischen Haltung in Gender- und Kunstfragen ist Burga – wie Cecilia Fajardo-Hill schreibt – eine jener KünstlerInnen außerhalb des europäischen und nordamerikanischen Mainstreams, »die trotz des Umstands, dass sie in der Kunstgeschichtsschreibung, Überblicksdarstellungen und großen Museumsausstellungen nicht vorkommen, einige der radikalsten und originellsten Kunstwerke des 20. Jahrhunderts geschaffen haben – Werke, die wir erst jetzt allmählich kennenlernen«.
In diesem Sinne einer notwendigen Neubewertung von Repräsentation und ihrer Rolle für die Fortschreibung von Geschichte verstehen wir schließlich auch die Einladung an Eva Maria Ocherbauer, aus ihrer Lehrtätigkeit an der LagosPhoto Summer School das vorliegende Forum zu kuratieren. Eine Auswahl an Arbeiten ihrer Studierenden zeigt jedenfalls ein anderes Sprechen-Über, »Afrika«, als wir es aus viel zu vielen dokumentarischen und journalistischen Arbeiten kennen.

Reinhard Braun
und das Camera-Austria-Team
Dezember 2015

 

Cover: Anne Collier, Despair, 2005. C-Print, 94,7 × 116,3 cm. Courtesy: die Künstlerin; Anton Kern Gallery, New York; Corvi-Mora, London; Marc Foxx, Los Angeles; The Modern Institute/Toby Webster Ltd., Glasgow.

Beiträge

Forum

Vorgestellt von Eva Maria Ocherbauer

Anthony Monday
Sulayman Afose Senayon
Obuh Christopher Nelson
Rahima Gambo
Adeolu Adeniyi
Dada Michael Kolawole

Ausstellungen

Co-Workers: Beyond Disaster
Bétonsalon – Centre d’Art et de Recherche, Paris
Co-Workers: Network as Artist
ARC – Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris
MICHÈLE COHEN-HADRIA

[7] Orte [7] Prekäre Felder
Fotofestival Mannheim-Ludwigshafen-Heidelberg
KERSTIN STREMMEL

Mark Leckey + Alessandro Raho: We Transfer
Secession, Wien
ANNE FAUCHERET

Stadt/Bild. Image of a City
Brandlhuber + Hertweck, Mayfried
The Dialogic City : Berlin wird Berlin
Berlinische Galerie
Welcome to the Jungle
KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin
Xenopolis
Deutsche Bank KunstHalle, Berlin
Fluids. A Happening by Allan Kaprow, 1967/2015
Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
REBECCA WILTON

Landschaft. Umwelt. Kultur.
Über den transnationalen Einfluss der New Topographics
Museum für Photographie, Braunschweig
ANDREAS PRINZING

The Aftermath of Conflict: Jo Ractliffe’s Photographs of Angola and South Africa
The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
TACO HIDDE BAKKER

Twenty-Five? Hey, Give Me Five!
Topographie de l’Art, Paris
ELLIE ARMON AZOULAY

Hengameh Golestan: Witness 1979
The Showroom, London
FRANCESCA LAURA CAVALLO

Context is Half the Work – A Partial History of the Artist Placement Group
Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien, Berlin
SANDRA SCHÄFER

The School of Kyiv
Verschiedene Orte, Kiew
HERWIG G. HÖLLER

Emily Jacir: Europa
Whitechapel Gallery, London
Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin
DENISE ROBINSON

Back to the Future: steirischer herbst 2015
Verschiedene Orte, Graz und Umgebung
NAZLI GÜRLEK

Farrah Karapetian
Danziger Gallery, New York
Cig Harvey: Gardening at Night
Robert Mann Gallery, New York
Delphine Burtin: Encouble
Benrubi Gallery, New York
Wolfgang Tillmans: PCR
David Zwirner Gallery
RACHEL BAUM

Telling Time. Rencontres de Bamako – Biennale Africaine de la Photographie, 10ième édition
Musée National du Mali und verschiedene Orte, Bamako
TOBIAS NEUMANN

Zofia Rydet: Record 1978–1990
Museum of Modern Art, Warschau
JAKUB MAJMUREK

Bücher

Die Sprechenden
Rainald Goetz: elfter september 2010. Bilder eines Jahrzehnts
Suhrkamp Verlag, Berlin, 2010
Erich Salomon: Berühmte Zeitgenossen in unbewachten Augenblicken
Schirmer/Mosel, München, 1978
[Erstausgabe: Engelhorn, Stuttgart, 1931]
JAN WENZEL

Anthony Downey (ed.): Dissonant Archives. Contemporary Visual Culture and Contested Narratives in the Middle East
I.B.Tauris & Co. Ltd, London/New York 2015
MIRIAM ROSEN

Simone Donati: Hotel Immagine
TerraProject, Florenz/Rom 2015
GISLIND NABAKOWSKI

Dragana Jurišić: YU: The Lost Country
Oonagh Young Gallery, Dublin 2015
VESNA VUKOVIC

Impressum

Herausgeber: Reinhard Braun

Verlag, Eigentümer: Verein CAMERA AUSTRIA. Labor für Fotografie und Theorie.
Lendkai 1, 8020 Graz, Österreich

Redaktion: Margit Neuhold, Christina Töpfer, Rebecca Wilton.

ÜbersetzerInnen: Dawn Michelle d’Atri, John Doherty, Yoshiaki Kai, Peter McCavana, Wilfried Prantner.

Englisches Lektorat: Dawn Michelle d’Atri

Dank:Adeolu Adeniyi, Simon Baier, Madeleine Bernstorff, Teresa Burga, Delphine Burtin, Nayari Castillo, Diego Castro, Hans D. Christ, Jasmin Chun, Anne Collier, Angeles Devoto, Patricia Edgar, Cecilia Fajardo-Hill, Rahima Gambo, Herwig G. Höller, Azadeh Fatehrad, Helmut Kandl, Johanna Kandl, Farrah Karapetian, Kasia Klimpel, Dada Michael Kolawole, Miguel A. López, Guy Mannes-Abbott, Anthony Monday, Christin Müller, Obuh Christopher Nelson, Eva Maria Ocherbauer, Virgilio Pelayo, Matthias Reichelt, Pilar M. Ríos Ramírez, Anna Roszman, Sandra Schäfer, Sulayman Afose Senayon, Louise Shelley, Katharina Schniebs, Erzen Shkololli, Ian-Simon Curry, Kristen Smoragiewicz, Joana Theuer, Barbara Thumm, Nici Wegener, Ala Younis, Oleg Zabava.

Copyright © 2015
Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Nachdruck nur mit vorheriger Genehmigung des Verlags. Für übermittelte Manuskripte und Originalvorlagen wird keine Haftung übernommen.

ISBN 978-3-902911-21-6
ISSN 1015 1915
GTIN 4 19 23106 1600 5 00132