Peggy Buth
Vom Nutzen der Angst – The Politics of Selection

Infos

Opening
13.9.2019, 7 pm

Duration
14.9.–17.11.2019

Opening hours
Tue – Sun, 10 am to 5 pm

Guided tours
German, English
Free, on request:
exhibitions@camera-austria.at
+43 316 81555016

Curated by
Reinhard Braun

Peggy Buth, from: Then/Now Pruit-Igoe, 2015.

Intro

The very title of the current project by Peggy Buth, “Vom Nutzen der Angst – The Politics of Selection” (2014–19), of which an updated segment is being shown at Camera Austria, makes it clear that the artist is one of the most politically defiant of her generation in Germany. How are urban planning, economy, racism, and their representation related?

In the exhibition presented in Graz, the artist explores suburbs of northern Paris like La Courneuve, the Pruitt-Igoe housing complex in St. Louis, Missouri, which was demolished in 1972, and Martin Luther King Boulevard in Kinloch, Missouri. Through these sites, she establishes a space of negotiation related to civil rights movements, acts of resistance, and urban unrest or political emancipation, in contrast to present-day social and ethnic discrimination and exclusion. Peggy Buth is interested in the causes of different forms of exclusion; she raises questions about the meaning of solidarity and empathy, about the history and memory of emancipatory movements and their defeat in the wake of (de)industrialization and globalization.

Yet Peggy Buth does not deliver critical visual essays with a message. Her series are reports of a stopover, a gesture of research, a path of orbit, through which the artist herself engages with the site, surveying her own role in the process and bringing her own capacity for agency into play.

We have been working with Peggy Buth for many years. Already in 2009, she contributed to Camera Austria International Nr. 107, 2011 her work was shown in the exhibition »Communitas. Among others«, and in 2014 in »once documentary«.

Full text

Peggy Buth
Vom Nutzen der Angst – The Politics of Selection

In the three-minute black-and-white video “Pruitt-Igoe Fallow Area” by Peggy Buth from the year 2015, the viewer follows the camera through a wasteland, through an overgrown forest, in which debris from former buildings appears again and again. The video was created in connection with the artist’s research on the Pruitt-Igoe housing project in the northern part of St. Louis, Missouri. It was originally planned by architect Minoru Yamasaki (who also designed the World Trade Center) as a model residential complex in the scope of an already weak social housing landscape in the United States. Residents started moving into the thirty-three eleven-story buildings in 1954, and in 1972 they were already demolished under the spotlight of media and political spheres—a momentous date from an architectural and urban-planning perspective, which for Charles Jencks signified the end of postwar modernism. Originally the individual buildings were to offer housing segregated according to race, but a Supreme Court ruling in 1954, shortly before construction was completed, ruled this intention to be unlawful—which resulted in the white residents moving out of Pruitt-Igoe within a two-year period. Since no funding for maintenance of the infrastructure was made available, the remaining residents engaged in a rent strike lasting nine months.

For postwar modernism, this housing project thus has twofold symbolic character: first, for the political utopias aiming to combat poverty, attain equality, ensure civil rights, and overcome racial segregation; and second, for the purported failure of these political and social aspirations. Peggy Buth thus literally passes through the ruins of modernity for her video “Pruitt-Igoe Fallow Area,” in a wasteland between nature and city which appears to be populated by the specters of this modernity. Nothing ended up being built in place of the Pruitt-Igoe complex; it was not replaced by another urban-development concept, but rather made to disappear, though not completely. The wasteland in “Pruitt-Igoe Fallow Area” is just as symbolic: it covers an end without a new beginning, concealing and overgrowing an act of failure marked by reasons that have not been analyzed, offering only the welcome opportunity to reduce social expenditures and introduce a penal strategy of zero tolerance.

“If you live on or near one of the nearly 900 streets in the U.S. named after Martin Luther King, Jr., you’re more likely to be poor, and you’re more likely to be black. And some might argue that your street serves more as a symbol of inequality than of progress made since King’s death” (Adele Peters). Peggy Buth did not limit her research in the St. Louis area to Pruitt-Igoe. She also took pictures in Kinloch, a small town that borders on St. Louis and Ferguson and was at one point home to the oldest black community in Missouri. In 1950, Kinloch had a population of around 6,000, while in 2012 only 300 people remained. Due to the construction of St. Louis Lambert International Airport in the 1990s, Kinloch lost 80 percent of its residents. It was in Kinloch that Buth found the street sign of a Martin Luther King Boulevard, on the corner of Fifth Street. The sign also seems to be situated in a fallow area of sorts, assuming a crooked position and situated next to garbage, an old tire, and concrete blocks that restrict access to Fifth Street. The urban decline evident along the many Martin Luther King Boulevards is a nationwide phenomenon in the US, from Houston to Milwaukee to Washington, DC. In most cities, these boulevards are among the most dangerous streets, shaped by gang crime, drug dealing, and car theft. The average school dropout age for youth living on streets of this appellation is thirteen. A street name that is inseparably linked to the civil rights movement—and that lent expression to the black population’s hope to be part of social prosperity, and also hope to be able to participate in political life in the United States—today attests to the demise of these very hopes. In fact, it spotlights a lingering segregation of American society motivated by social and racist issues.

With the series of photographs on the Martin Luther King Boulevards Peggy Buth in turn finds herself in a kind of ruins, the ruins of society. The specters prowling around there are not only of neoliberal or postdemocratic nature, but are also the fairly living ghosts of racism, or perhaps rather the racist undead. Peggy Buth, in her works, touches a sore spot related to capital and race; she orbits this wound, keeping it open in order to counter the staggering rhetorics of postmodern discussions asserting that all of this is long since history. All of these projects, and countless others (some of which are yet to be mentioned in this text), concentrate on a manner of archaeology of squandered political and social chances to have facilitated a different present. And for Buth it is not enough to slave away at exploring the present. She sees in everything the historical dimension, the longue durée, as historian Fernand Braudel termed it, all of which were necessary for shifting structures within society; or the long staying power, the exceedingly broad temporal scope of ideologies, convictions, and cultural constructions which—perhaps in altered form, updated, instagramized—still impact present-day political, social, and cultural paradigms, convictions that we thought to have long since overcome.

Perhaps these are the specters being pursued by Peggy Buth. They can hardly be shown instantaneously or be represented directly, or even forced into an image that could document their presence in the present day. Instead, they must be reconstructed, assembled, and—even more importantly—they must have rendered an experience. Buth does not deliver critical visual essays with a statement; her series are reports on a sojourn, on exploration, during which the artist posits herself in relation to the place in question, thus probing her own role and bringing into play her own agency. The images belong to this report on a sojourn, a journey, a visit, and a pacing that may well be accompanied by the aforementioned ghosts. They also nestle into the associations arising within the viewers; they are ephemeral and almost transparent, yet they are also the explosive charges that bring down numerous modern housing complexes and architectural ensembles in the video “Demolition Flats” (2014). We are not speaking here of otherworldly specters but are rather spotlighting the phantoms of our present, their irritating and persistent presence that engenders an absence in the regimes of visual phenomena and invites us to forget the conflicts, schisms, wars, suffering, and the dysfunctional circumstances of our life which provide the impetus for global neoliberal capitalism (T. J. Demos).

So how do urban planning, economics, racism, and their representations interrelate in relation to such phantoms? From which utopias have “our” Western societies at least bid adieu? And how can this political change be read and understood up close in urban landscapes? Which acts of resistance have been wielded against these processes of disintegration? And are there still societal powers that are trying to keep the question of another order on the political agenda? Buth has been exploring these questions since 2013 at the latest, when she began taking photographs and conducting research in the northern suburbs of Paris like La Courneuve, one of the starting points of unrest in Paris during the year 2005. In the slide projection “91, 92, 93, 94 / 75” (2017), Buth shows her shots from the Paris banlieues together with found and archival material displaying colonial traces of French history. The Départements 91 to 94, as well as today’s Département 75, which encompasses downtown Paris, were created as part of the restructuring of the former (more comprehensive) Département Seine, which by the 1960s had become too large and complex for sensible administration. Through Algeria’s independence in 1962, the current Département figures were made available, since they had originally denoted territories in Algeria like Algier, Oran, Constantine, and the Territoires du Sud. These new Départements around Paris had harbored countless migrants from the Maghreb states and the sub-Saharan region since the postwar period. Extensive housing projects, the aftermath of deindustrialization, and the disintegration of the social welfare state transformed these peripheral urban areas into increasingly impoverished residential and dormitory districts with underdeveloped infrastructure, reduced work opportunities, and poor transport to the city center, which is moreover isolated from such urban areas by the Boulevard périphérique de Paris.

France’s colonial past has become inscribed in the layout of Paris, with the city center and the periphery mapping out social and ethnically defined hierarchies, which are, in turn, inscribed in the life of the residents. The spatial organization of the city enables an organization of identities, an incessant production of the “Others” and their distribution. In “91, 92, 93, 94 / 75,” Buth traces stereotypical representations and highlights contradictions between official rhetoric and concrete urban environments, between the messages disseminated by newspaper articles—“Le ras-le-bol,” those who are fed up, or “Do away with Sarkozy’s methods”—and pictures of—unemployed? bored?—youth in parks. Arising here is a sequence of photographs that is full of contradictions, in terms of both their aesthetics and their “themes.” The artist also confronts us with our own prejudices and insecurities in interpreting these images. To what extent are we ourselves already biased by our situated knowledge? What is our stance, and in which social space are we standing when looking at this conflicting imagery? From which social space is our knowledge about these other social spaces organized and determined?

Peggy Buth presents all of these works under the title “Vom Nutzen der Angst – The Politics of Selection.” Indeed, the purported decline of large sections of contemporary cities happens not due to social automatisms, but due to political and economic decisions: politics of selection and election, politics of distribution and redistribution, of the production of “superfluous populations,” as Zygmunt Bauman has termed it. In his book In Search of Politics (1999), he notes: “the only communities which the loners may hope to build and the managers of public space can seriously and responsibly offer are ones constructed of fear, suspicion and hate.” It has become commonplace in the context of political language to warn against mechanisms of division. Yet they are not only mechanisms of language, but also mechanisms of architecture and urban organization (and perhaps this division has already long since reached the images themselves). In some of Peggy Buth’s photographs, this division and cleavage seem to be rendered more blatantly: in the basic neglect of the streets, in the fences and the desolateness, in the potholes and the missing roofs, in the closed community centers, the steps overgrown with grass, and the rubble of demolished buildings. Yet the division and disintegration extend much deeper, surpassing anything that pictures can show. It is not primarily visual, but rather material in a more comprehensive sense, organizing and disorganizing the things and the people, the bodies and the languages. Under these—post-documentary—conditions, how might the meaning of solidarity and empathy, the meaning of the history and the memory of emancipatory movements and self-empowerment, be perpetuated, and how might their diffusion in the course of (de)industrialization and globalization be countered? How can the idea of a utopia be recaptured?
Reinhard Braun

Peggy Buth studied photography and Visual Arts at the Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst in Leipzig (DE) where she graduated 2002, 2003–05 she was a fellow at the Jan van Eyck Academie Maastricht (NL). Since 2016 she is professor for media art at the Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst, Leipzig. Her works have been shown in numerous exhibitions, i.e. at Exhibition Research Centre, John Moores University, Liverpool (GB); Parc Saint Léger –
Centre d’art contemporain, Pougues-les-Eaux (FR); Württembergischer Kunstverein, Stuttgart (DE); CAC Vilnius (LT); Weltkulturen Museum, Frankfurt am Main (DE); K21, Düsseldorf (DE); Kestnergesellschaft, Hannover (DE); Bétonsalon, Paris (FR); La Synagogue de Delme, Delme (FR); Brussels Biennial (BE) and recently at Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin. Buth received numerious scholarships and awards in Germany, the US, France, and Belgium. 2014 she received the “Contemporary German Photography” Grant donated by the Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung with a subsequent solo exhibition at Museum Folkwang, Essen (DE). In 2018 she was nominated for the Deutsche Börse Foundation Photography Prize 2019.

Exhibition Views

  • Peggy Buth, from: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, still from: Pruitt Igoe Fallow Area, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, Martin Luther King Blvd / Fifth Ave (Kinloch, St. Louis County, Missouri), 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, from: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, from: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, from: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, from: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, from: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, from: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, from: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, from: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, from: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, from: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, from: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, from: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

/

Materials

Partners/Sponsors

Peggy Buth
Vom Nutzen der Angst – The Politics of Selection

Infos

Eröffnung
13.9.2019, 19:00

Zeitraum
14.9.–17.11.2019

Öffnungszeiten
Di – So, 10:00 – 17:00

Führungen
Deutsch, Englisch
kostenlos, nach Vereinbarung:
exhibitions@camera-austria.at
+43 316 81555016

Kuratiert von
Reinhard Braun

Peggy Buth, aus: Then/Now Pruit-Igoe, 2015.

Intro

Der Titel des aktuellen Projekts von Peggy Buth, »Vom Nutzen der Angst« (2014 – 2019), von dem ein aktualisierter Ausschnitt bei Camera Austria zu sehen ist, verdeutlicht, dass die Künstlerin zu den politisch widerständigsten ihrer Generation in Deutschland zählt. Von welchen Utopien hat sich unsere Gesellschaft seit der Moderne verabschiedet, wie lässt sich dieser politische Kurswechsel ganz unmittelbar in Stadtbildern ablesen und nachvollziehen? Wie hängen Städteplanung, Ökonomie, Rassismus und deren Repräsentationen zusammen? Die Künstlerin nimmt in der Präsentation in Graz ihren Ausgangspunkt in den nördlichen Pariser Vorstädten wie La Courneuve, um über die 1972 gesprengte Wohnanlage Pruitt-Igoe im US-amerikanischen St. Louis und anhand des Martin Luther King Boulevard in Kinloch, Missouri, einen Raum der Verhandlung von Bürgerrechtsbewegungen, Widerständen und städtischen Unruhen bzw. politischer Emanzipation im Gegensatz zu aktuellen sozialen wie ethnischen Diskriminierungen und Ausgrenzungen zu etablieren. Peggy Buth geht es um die Ursachen für die unterschiedlichen Formen der sozialen und rassistischen Ausgrenzung, sie stellt Fragen zur Bedeutung von Solidarität und Empathie, zur Geschichte und Erinnerung von emanzipatorischen Bewegungen und deren Niedergang im Zuge von (De-)Industrialisierung und Globalisierung.
Doch liefert Peggy Buth keine kritischen visuellen Essays mit einer Aussage; ihre Serien sind Berichte eines Aufenthalts, einer Erforschung, einer Umkreisung, bei der sich die Künstlerin selbst zum Ort in ein Verhältnis setzt, dabei ihre eigene Rolle befragt und ihre eigene Handlungsfähigkeit ins Spiel bringt.

Volltext

Peggy Buth
Vom Nutzen der Angst – The Politics of Selection

Im dreiminütigen Schwarz-Weiß-Video »Pruitt-Igoe Fallow Area« von Peggy Buth aus dem Jahr 2015 folgt man der Kamera durch ein Brachland, einen verwilderten Wald, in dem immer wieder Schutt von ehemaligen Gebäuden auftaucht. Das Video entstand im Zusammenhang mit ihren Recherchen zur Wohnanlage Pruitt-Igoe im Norden von St. Louis im Bundesstaat Missouri. Die ursprünglich als Mustersiedlung des ohnehin schwachen sozialen Wohnbaus in den USA vom Architekten Minoru Yamasaki (der auch das World Trade Center entwarf) geplanten 33 elfstöckigen Gebäude wurden ab 1954 bezogen – 1972 wurden sie unter medialer und politischer Aufmerksamkeit gesprengt, ein aus architektonischer und städteplanerischer Sicht denkwürdiges Datum, das für Charles Jencks das Ende der Nachkriegs-Moderne bedeutete. Ursprünglich sollten die einzelnen Gebäude nach Rassen getrennt bezogen werden, doch ein Urteil des Obersten Gerichtshofs aus dem Jahr 1954, kurz vor Beendigung der Bauarbeiten, erklärte diese Absicht für gesetzeswidrig – mit dem Ergebnis, dass die weißen Bewohner*innen binnen zwei Jahren aus Pruitt-Igoe wegzogen. Nachdem keine Mittel mehr zur Aufrechterhaltung der Infrastruktur zur Verfügung gestellt wurden, traten die verbliebenen Bewohner*innen in einen neunmonatigen Mietstreik.

Für die Nachkriegsmoderne ist dieses Wohnbauprojekt somit ein zweifaches Symbol: zunächst für die politischen Utopien der Armutsbekämpfung, der Gleichstellung, der Bürgerrechte und Versuche zur Überwindung der Rassentrennung, und schließlich für das vermeintliche Scheitern dieser politischen und sozialen Ansprüche. Peggy Buth bewegt sich für das Video » Pruitt-Igoe Fallow Area« somit buchstäblich auf den Ruinen der Moderne, in einem Brachland zwischen Natur und Stadt, das von den Geistern dieser Moderne bevölkert zu sein scheint, denn nichts wurde an deren Stelle realisiert, sie wurde nicht durch ein anderes städtebauliches Konzept ersetzt, sie wurde einfach zum Verschwinden gebracht, wenn auch nicht vollständig. Die Brache in »Pruitt-Igoe Fallow Area« ist demnach ebenso symbolisch: Sie bedeckt ein Ende ohne Neuanfang, sie kaschiert und überwuchert ein Scheitern, dessen Ursachen nicht analysiert wurden, sondern das lediglich willkommenen Anlass bot, um Sozialausgaben zu kürzen und eine strafrechtliche Nulltoleranz-Strategie einzuführen.

»If you live on or near one of the nearly 900 streets in the U.S. named after Martin Luther King, Jr., you’re more likely to be poor, and you’re more likely to be black. And some might argue that your street serves more as a symbol of inequality than of progress made since King’s death.« (Adele Peters) Peggy Buth hat ihre Recherchen im Raum St. Louis nicht nur auf Pruitt-Igoe beschränkt, sondern auch in Kinloch fotografiert, eine Kleinstadt, die an St. Louis sowie Ferguson grenzt und die die älteste schwarze Gemeinde in Missouri beherbergte. 1950 hatte Kinloch an die 6 000 Einwohner*innen, 2012 waren es gerade einmal 300. Durch den Bau des St. Louis Lambert International Airport verlor Kinloch in den 1990er-Jahren 80 Prozent der Bevölkerung. In Kinloch fand Buth auch das Straßenschild eines Martin Luther King Boulevard, Ecke Fifth Street. Es scheint ebenfalls in einer Art Brache zu stehen, schief, neben Müll, einem alten Reifen und Betonblöcken, die den Zugang zur Fifth Street einschränken. Der städtische Niedergang entlang der zahlreichen Martin Luther King Boulevards ist ein überregionales Phänomen in den USA, von Houston über Milwaukee bis hin zu Washington, D. C. Die Boulevards gehören in den meisten Städten zu den gefährlichsten Straßen, die geprägt sind von Bandenkriminalität, Drogenhandel und Autodiebstählen. Das Durchschnittsalter, in dem die Jugendlichen, die in diesen Straßen leben, die Schule verlassen, liegt bei 13 Jahren. Ein Straßenname, der unzertrennlich mit der Bürgerrechtsbewegung verbunden ist und der die Hoffnung auf die Teilhabe der schwarzen Bevölkerung am gesellschaftlichen Wohlstand und auch die Hoffnung auf die Teilhabe am politischen Leben der USA zum Ausdruck brachte, zeugt heute vom Niedergang dieser Hoffnungen, er markiert vielmehr die anhaltende soziale und rassistisch motivierte Segregation der amerikanischen Gesellschaft.

Wiederum befindet sich Peggy Buth mit der fotografischen Serie über die Martin Luther King Boulevards in einer Art Ruine, einer gesellschaftlichen Ruine, und die Geister, die sich dort herumtreiben, sind nicht nur neoliberaler oder postdemokratischer Natur, sie sind recht lebendige Geister des Rassismus, oder vielleicht eher rassistische Untote. Peggy Buth legt in ihren Arbeiten den Finger in die Wunde des Kapitals und der Rasse, sie umkreist diese Wunde, hält sie offen, um den überwältigenden Rhetoriken der postmodernen Diskussionen, all dies sei mittlerweile Geschichte, etwas entgegen zu halten. All diese Projekte, und zahlreiche weitere (um manche davon wird es in diesem Text noch gehen) konzentrieren sich auf eine Art Archäologie der vertanen politischen und sozialen Chancen, eine andere Gegenwart ermöglicht zu haben. Und für Buth genügt es nicht, sich an der Gegenwart abzuarbeiten, sie erkennt in allem die historische Dimension, die weit zurückreichende Geschichte, die longue durée, wie sie der Historiker Fernand Braudel bezeichnet hat, die es benötigt hat, um gesellschaftliche Strukturen zu verschieben, oder aber der lange Atem, die überaus große zeitliche Reichweite von Ideologien, Überzeugungen und kulturellen Konstruktionen, die in vielleicht veränderter Form – aktualisiert, instagrammisiert – dennoch auf gegenwärtige politische, soziale und kulturelle Paradigmen einwirken, Überzeugungen, von denen wir glauben, wir hätten sie lange überwunden.
Dies sind möglicherweise die Geister, denen Peggy Buth auf der Spur ist. Sie können kaum unmittelbar gezeigt werden, sie lassen sich nicht direkt repräsentieren, in ein Bild zwingen, mit dem ihre Präsenz in der Gegenwart dokumentiert werden könnte. Sie müssen vielmehr rekonstruiert, zusammengesetzt werden, wichtiger noch, sie müssen eine Erfahrung gebildet haben. Buth liefert keine kritischen visuellen Essays mit einer Aussage, ihre Serien sind Berichte eines Aufenthalts, einer Erforschung, bei der sich die Künstlerin selbst zum Ort in ein Verhältnis setzt und dabei ihre eigene Rolle befragt und ihre eigene Handlungsfähigkeit ins Spiel bringt. Die Bilder gehören zu diesem Bericht eines Aufenthalts, einer Reise, eines Aufsuchens und Abschreitens, das möglicherweise von den erwähnten Geistern begleitet wird. Diese nisten sich auch in den Assoziationen ein, die sich bei den Betrachter*innen einstellen, sie sind flüchtig und nahezu transparent, dennoch sind sie auch die Sprengladungen, die im Video »Demolition Flats« (2014) zahlreiche moderne Wohnbauten und Architekturensembles zum Einsturz bringen. Wir sprechen hier nicht von Geistern einer anderen Welt, es geht vielmehr darum, das Augenmerk auf die Phantome unserer Gegenwart zu legen, ihre irritierende und fortdauernde Präsenz, die eine Abwesenheit in den Ordnungen visueller Erscheinungen erzeugt und uns einlädt, die Konflikte, die Spaltungen, die Kriege, das Leiden und die dysfunktionalen Bedingungen unseres Lebens zu vergessen, die den Antrieb des globalen neoliberalen Kapitalismus (T. J. Demos) bilden.

Wie hängen also Städteplanung, Ökonomie, Rassismus und deren Repräsentationen um solche Phantome herum zusammen? Von welchen Utopien haben sich zumindest »unsere« westlichen Gesellschaften verabschiedet, wie lässt sich dieser politische Kurswechsel ganz unmittelbar in Stadtbildern ablesen und nachvollziehen? Welche Widerstände gegen diese Desintegrationsprozesse hat es gegeben und gibt es noch gesellschaftliche Kräfte, die versuchen, die Frage nach einer anderen Ordnung auf der politischen Tagesordnung zu halten? Diesen Fragen geht Buth spätestens seit 2013 nach, als sie begann, in den nördlichen Pariser Vorstädten wie La Courneuve – einer der Ausgangspunkte der Unruhen in Paris im Jahr 2005 – zu fotografieren und zu recherchieren. In der Diaprojektion »91, 92, 93, 94 / 75« (2017) zeigt Buth ihre Aufnahmen aus den Pariser Banlieues gemeinsam mit gefundenem und Archivmaterial der kolonialen Spuren der französischen Geschichte. Die Départements 91 bis 94 entstanden ebenso wie das heutige Département 75, welches die Innenstadt von Paris umfasst, durch die Neugliederung des ehemaligen umfangreicheren Départements Seine, das in den 1960er-Jahren zu groß und komplex für eine vernünftige Verwaltung geworden war. Durch die Unabhängigkeit Algeriens 1962 wurden die heutigen Départementzahlen verfügbar, da sie ursprünglich Gebiete in Algerien wie Algier, Oran, Constantine und die Territoires du Sud bezeichnet hatten. Diese neuen um Paris liegenden Départements beherbergten seit der Nachkriegszeit zahlreiche Migrant*innen aus den Maghreb-Staaten und des sub-saharischen Raums. Umfangreiche Wohnbauprojekte, die Folgen der Deindustrialisierung und der Abbau des Wohlfahrtsstaates verwandelten diese peripheren Stadtgebiete in verarmende, infrastrukturarme Wohn- und Schlafstädte mit wenigen Arbeitsmöglichkeiten und schlechter Verkehrsanbindung an die Innenstadt, die außerdem durch den Boulevard périphérique von diesen Stadtgebieten isoliert ist.

Die koloniale Vergangenheit Frankreichs hat sich dem Grundriss der Stadt eingeschrieben, Zentrum und Peripherie bilden gesellschaftliche und ethnisch definierte Hierarchien ab, die wiederum dem Leben der Bewohner*innen eingeschrieben sind. Die räumliche Organisation der Stadt betreibt eine Organisation von Identitäten, eine unausgesetzte Produktion der »Anderen« und deren Verteilung. In »91, 92, 93, 94 / 75« zeichnet Buth stereotype Repräsentationen nach und markiert Widersprüche zwischen offiziellen Rhetoriken und konkreten urbanen Umgebungen, zwischen den Botschaften von Zeitungsartikeln – »Le ras-le-bol«, diejenigen, die die Schnauze voll haben, oder »Schluss mit der Methode Sarkozy« – und Bildern von – arbeitslosen? gelangweilten? – Jugendlichen in Parks. Es entsteht eine Sequenz von Bildern, die voller Gegensätze ist, sowohl hinsichtlich ihrer Ästhetik als auch ihrer »Thematiken«. Die Künstlerin konfrontiert uns auch mit unseren eigenen Vorurteilen und Unsicherheiten beim Deuten dieser Bilder. Wie sehr sind wir selbst immer schon voreingenommen von unserem situierten Wissen? Welcher ist unser Standpunkt, von welchem sozialen Raum aus schauen wir auf diese widersprüchlichen Bilder? Von welchem sozialen Raum wird unser Wissen über diese anderen sozialen Räume organisiert und bestimmt?

Peggy Buth zeigt alle diese Arbeiten unter dem Titel »Vom Nutzen der Angst – The Politics of Selection«. Denn der vermeintliche Niedergang von großen Teilen der zeitgenössischen Städte geschieht nicht aufgrund sozialer Automatismen, sondern aufgrund politischer und wirtschaftlicher Entscheidungen: Politiken der Auswahl und der Erwählung, Politiken der Verteilung und Umverteilung, der Produktion »überflüssiger Menschen«, wie es Zygmunt Bauman bezeichnet hat. Und in seinem Buch Krise der Politik (1999) führt er aus: »Die einzigen Gemeinschaften, auf deren Entstehung die Einsamen hoffen können und die die Organisatoren des Öffentlichen ernsthaft und verantwortungsbewusst anbieten können, sind auf Angst, Argwohn und Hass gegründet.« Es ist ein Allgemeinplatz geworden, im Zusammenhang mit der politischen Sprache vor den Mechanismen der Spaltung zu warnen. Doch sind dies nicht nur Mechanismen der Sprache, sondern auch Mechanismen der Architektur und der Organisation von Stadt (und vielleicht hat diese Spaltung sogar die Bilder selbst längst erreicht). Auf manchen Bildern Peggy Buths scheint sich diese Teilung und Spaltung offensichtlicher darzustellen – in der grundsätzlichen Vernachlässigung der Straßen, in den Zäunen und der Leere, den Schlaglöchern und den fehlenden Dächern, den geschlossenen Gemeindezentren, den vom Gras überwucherten Treppen und dem Geröll der gesprengten Gebäude. Doch die Spaltung und Desintegration reichen tiefer, sie übersteigen alles, was Bilder zeigen könnten, sie sind nicht primär visuell, sondern in einem umfassenderen Sinn materiell und organisieren und desorganisieren die Dinge und die Menschen, die Körper und die Sprachen. Wie lässt sich unter diesen – post-dokumentarischen – Bedingungen die Bedeutung von Solidarität und Empathie, die Bedeutung der Geschichte von und der Erinnerung an emanzipatorische Bewegungen und Selbstermächtigungen aufrechterhalten und deren Zerstreuung im Zuge von (De-)Industrialisierung und Globalisierung entgegenarbeiten? Wie lässt sich die Idee einer Utopie zurückgewinnen?

Peggy Buth studierte Fotografie und Bildende Kunst an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig (DE, Abschluss 2002) und war 2003 – 2005 Fellow der Jan van Eyck Academie Maastricht (NL). Seit 2016 hat sie die Professur für Medienkunst an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig inne. Ihre Arbeiten wurden im In- und Ausland gezeigt, u.a.: Exhibition Research Centre, John Moores University, Liverpool (GB); Parc Saint Léger – Centre d’art contemporain, Pougues-les-Eaux (FR); Württembergischer Kunstverein, Stuttgart (DE); CAC Vilnius (LT); Weltkulturen Museum, Frankfurt am Main (DE); K21, Düsseldorf (DE); Kestnergesellschaft, Hannover (DE); Bétonsalon, Paris (FR); La Synagogue de Delme, Delme (FR); Brussels Biennial (BE) sowie zuletzt im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin. Buth erhielt zahlreiche Arbeitsstipendien in Deutschland, den USA, Frankreich und Belgien. 2014 erhielt sie das Stipendium für »Zeitgenössische deutsche Fotografie« der Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung mit einer anschließenden Einzelausstellung im Museum Folkwang, Essen (DE). 2018 wurde sie für den Deutsche Börse Foundation Photography Prize 2019 nominiert.

Ausstellungsansichten

  • Peggy Buth, aus: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, Still aus: Pruitt Igoe Fallow Area, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, Martin Luther King Blvd / Fifth Ave (Kinloch, St. Louis County, Missouri), 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, aus: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, aus: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, aus: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, aus: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, aus: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, aus: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, aus: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, aus: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, aus: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, aus: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, aus: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

  • Peggy Buth, aus: Then/Now Pruitt-Igoe, 2015.

/

Materialien

Kooperationspartner/Sponsoren