Camera Austria International

143 | 2018

Price

€16 Add to cart

  • ABIGAIL SOLOMON-GODEAU
    Art Photography in the Age of Catastrophe
  • DUNCAN FORBES
    Beyond Melodrama: Photography and Mexico ’68
  • LARA BALADI
    “Nothing Is Well in Egypt”
    Below and Above: The Bird’s-Eye View of Tahrir Square
  • MARINA GRŽINIĆ
    Images of Violence, or the Violence of Neoliberal Necrocapitalism
  • ANA TEIXEIRA PINTO
    What’s in an Image?
  • DINA AL-KASSIM
    Maria Eichhorn’s Japanese Mapplethorpe
  • OMAR KHOLEIF
    Imagining Sound as Image
    Lawrence Abu Hamdan and the Politics of Visuality
  • CHRISTIAN HÖLLER
    In the Maelstrom of Images
    On the Absorbent Power of Contemporary Image Production
  • TIMOTHY DRUCKREY
    Astride “Post-History” and the “Instant Archive”
  • SELECTED BY …

Preface

Ever since the first symposion on photography in 1979, the publication of which served as a departure point for the magazine Camera Austria International, Camera Austria’s work has been characterized by an intensive investigation into the relationship between text and image, theory and visual practice. Beginning with the fourth issue, the magazine regularly published the lectures of these symposia, the last of which, “Agents and Agencies,” took place in 1997. Timothy Druckrey and Christian Höller, two of this issue’s authors, took part in the 1997 symposion; their essays highlighted the growing influence of cultural and visual studies as well as the questions media studies posed regarding the debates waged over photography.

Read more

Camera Austria International 143 | 2018
Preface

Ever since the first symposion on photography in 1979, the publication of which served as a departure point for the magazine Camera Austria International, Camera Austria’s work has been characterized by an intensive investigation into the relationship between text and image, theory and visual practice. Beginning with the fourth issue, the magazine regularly published the lectures of these symposia, the last of which, “Agents and Agencies,” took place in 1997.¹ Timothy Druckrey and Christian Höller, two of this issue’s authors, took part in the 1997 symposion; their essays highlighted the growing influence of cultural and visual studies as well as the questions media studies posed regarding the debates waged over photography.
This broadening of the contexts in which the photographic image plays a role and undergoes theoretical examination can also, however, be traced back to the beginnings of the symposia. Diverging or opposing positions were placed in relation to one another to widen the purview of the debate over photography on an ongoing basis—in the cultural sciences, visual studies, urbanism research, architecture, literature and film studies, philosophy, media theory, semiotics, the politics of representation, political activism, feminist theory, postcolonial studies, etc. First and foremost, however, the symposia were also a locus of exchange between theory and artistic practice. Today, this transdisciplinarity or even postdisciplinarity is taken for granted. In this regard, from a contemporary point of view, it appears that during the symposia on photography it wasn’t so much existing agreements that came to expression, but a polyphony of disagreement, discrepancy, and dissent corresponding to the simultaneous, albeit opposing perspectives on the photographic image.
In October 2018, a symposium on photography will once again take place in collaboration with steirischer herbst, dedicated to the theme of the “Violence of Images” and following in this tradition of the polyphony and expansion of discourses. This symposium again brings together artists and experts from various disciplines: Christine Frisinghelli, Marina Gržinić, Ana Hoffner, Tom Holert, Jakub Majmurek, Guy Mannes-Abbott, Ines Schaber, Ana Teixeira Pinto, and Ala Younis. In contrast to the past, however, we have decided to publish this issue of Camera Austria International, which is deliberately conceived as a text and theory issue, concurrently with the symposion as a kind of ground-preparing reader. In an intersection between magazine and symposion, some of the participants will also publish an essay in this issue. Other lecturers and authors have already published in the magazine, some of them having cooperated with Camera Austria for many years. The question we posed to the invited authors was simple: what themes and reflections on photographic subjects—whether they be artistic or related to everyday culture—are currently at the top of their agenda?
We’re fascinated by the result, a panorama of observations on and insight into visual cultures: art photography in the age of catastrophe; questions of censorship and of the visual representation of revolution; the question as to what, if anything, can be gained from racialized images; the way in which right-wing authoritarian politics are expressed in conventional imagery; the forensics and representability of the sonic; the phenomenon of demobilization through images, and the resulting visual “instant archive.”
As a team that’s been working together on the production of this magazine for many years, we are, of course, well aware that reading and researching mean something completely different today than even a few years ago. Much of the time, it’s all about short, fast information, summaries, excerpts to move through quickly. Knowledge is supposed to come to us—prepared, explained, commented upon, usable. In a time in which anti-intellectualism is on the rise, however, it seems appropriate for this very reason to slow down and branch out, elaborate, become more comprehensive. In agreement with Stuart Hall, we believe that reality is not something that can be understood easily. And the texts are important in this effort against reducing photographic images to things that are merely glanced at in passing or while turning the page. Images require time, just as texts require time to be read and understood; each prepare us for a slowness that “would be a time that takes time, that is, a time that takes the time for the slowness of the investigation and of the architectonics” (Alain Badiou). This is the time in which texts meet images: “Images and words collide so that thought has its place in the visual” (Georges Didi-Huberman). This place, or rather, this moment of collision could also mark the political movement of images, their politicization; it could also shed light on the visualization of a politics that has replaced thought with allegation. How do the ways in which the visible is contingent on the word manifest themselves; what regulation in the relationship between knowing and not knowing are images subjected to; how can a practice such as representation be maintained when the images no longer primarily depict something, but are integrated into events in various ensembles?
We’ve developed the current issue in the context of these questions in the hope of reaching our allies for the idea of the detailed, the scrupulously researched, and the comprehensive—while addressing the history of Camera Austria and bringing it up to date. Accompanying the texts in this issue is an expanded image section that we’ve developed in close cooperation with the authors who have long accompanied and left their mark on Camera Austria, and who were invited to propose artists whose work they’d like to share with the readers of Camera Austria International. We’re pleased that the contributions presented here offer a multi-faceted insight into current positions in art photography, one that’s proven unexpected, even to us.

Reinhard Braun and the Camera Austria Team
September 2018

1 And on a less regular basis thereafter: “Positions of Japanese Photography” (2003) accompanying the first exhibition in the new space of the Iron House Graz to mark the opening of the Kunsthaus Graz, “Pierre Bourdieus Blick auf die Gesellschaftliche Welt” (“Pierre Bourdieu’s View of the Social World,” 2004), as well as the Symposion on Photography XX, concurrent with the publication of Camera Austria International no. 100/2007, which focused on the South African Market Photo Workshop, cofounded by the recently deceased David Goldblatt.

Cover: Montage of various contributions to the magazine. Copyright: Satz & Sätze, Graz.

Entries

Imprint

Publisher: Reinhard Braun

Owner: Verein CAMERA AUSTRIA. Labor für Fotografie und Theorie.
Lendkai 1, 8020 Graz, Österreich

Editor-in-Chief: Christina Töpfer.
Editor: Margit Neuhold.

Translations: Wolfgang Astelbauer, Dawn Michelle d’Atri, John Doherty, Nicholas Huckle, Lina Morawetz, Katrin Mundt, Wilfried Prantner, Marina Schumann, Andrea Scrima, Sabine Weier.

English Proofreading: Dawn Michelle d’Atri.

Acknowledgments: Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Dina Al-Kassim, Jens Asthoff, Kader Attia, Lara Baladi, Véronique Besnard, Nahún Calleros, Michèle Cohen Hadria, Anthony Downey, Timothy Druckrey, Maria Eichhorn, Luigi Fassi, Karine Fauchard, Anne Faucheret, Duncan Forbes, Forensic Architecture, François-Xavier Gbré, Marina Gržinić, Claudia Gülzow, Grit Hachmeister, Sebastian Hau, Taco Hidde Bakker, Christian Höller, Susanne Holschbach, Omar Kholeif, Maya Krinsky, Sandra Križić Roban, Pierre Leguillon, Nicolas Linnert, Bart Lunenburg, Ben Mohai, Walter Moser, Yuki Onodera, Johan Österholm, Max Pinckers, Matthew Rana, Natascha Sadr Haghighian, Moritz Scheper, Julia Scher, Marika Schmiedt, Abigail Solomon-Godeau, Marko Tadić, Ana Teixeira Pinto, Fatoş Üstek, Mercedes Vicente, Claudio Vogt, Franz Wanner, Joanna Warsza, Sabine Weier, Carmen Winant.

Copyright © 2018
No parts of this magazine may be reproduced without publisher’s permission.
Camera Austria International does not assume any responsibility for submitted texts and original materials.

ISBN 978-3-902911-46-9
ISSN 1015 1915
GTIN 4 19 23106 1600 5 00143

Camera Austria International

143 | 2018

Preis

€16 In den Warenkorb

  • ABIGAIL SOLOMON-GODEAU
    Künstlerische Fotografie im Zeitalter der Katastrophe
  • DUNCAN FORBES
    Jenseits von Melodramatik: Fotografie und Mexiko 68
  • LARA BALADI
    »Nichts ist in Ordnung in Ägypten«
    Oben und Unten: Die Vogelperspektive auf den Tahrir-Platz
  • MARINA GRŽINIĆ
    Bilder der Gewalt oder die Gewalt des neoliberalen Nekrokapitalismus
  • ANA TEIXEIRA PINTO
    Was ist in einem Bild?
  • DINA AL-KASSIM
    Maria Eichhorns japanischer Mapplethorpe
  • OMAR KHOLEIF
    Der Ton als Bild
    Lawrence Abu Hamdan und die Politik der Visualität
  • CHRISTIAN HÖLLER
    Im Sog der Bilder
    Über die absorbierende Kraft gegenwärtiger Bildproduktion
  • TIMOTHY DRUCKREY
    Im Spagat zwischen »Posthistoire« und »Instant Archive«
  • SELECTED BY …

Vorwort

Seit dem ersten Symposion über Fotografie 1979, dessen Publikation auch zum Ausgangspunkt für die Zeitschrift Camera Austria International wurde, kennzeichnet eine intensive Beschäftigung mit dem Verhältnis von Text und Bild, Theorie und visueller Praxis die Arbeit von Camera Austria. Ab der Ausgabe Nr. 4 wurden die Vorträge der nahezu jährlich stattfindenden Symposien regelmäßig in der Zeitschrift publiziert, zuletzt 1997 das Symposion »Agents and Agencies«. Timothy Druckrey und Christian Höller, zwei der Autoren dieser Ausgabe, nahmen am Symposion im Jahr 1997 teil und markierten mit ihren Beiträgen den zunehmenden Einfluss der Cultural und Visual Studies sowie medienwissenschaftlicher Überlegungen auf die Debatten rund um Fotografie.

Volltext

Camera Austria International 143 | 2018
Vorwort

Seit dem ersten Symposion über Fotografie 1979, dessen Publikation auch zum Ausgangspunkt für die Zeitschrift Camera Austria International wurde, kennzeichnet eine intensive Beschäftigung mit dem Verhältnis von Text und Bild, Theorie und visueller Praxis die Arbeit von Camera Austria. Ab der Ausgabe Nr. 4 wurden die Vorträge der nahezu jährlich stattfindenden Symposien regelmäßig in der Zeitschrift publiziert, zuletzt 1997 das Symposion »Agents and Agencies«.¹ Timothy Druckrey und Christian Höller, zwei der Autoren dieser Ausgabe, nahmen am Symposion im Jahr 1997 teil und markierten mit ihren Beiträgen den zunehmenden Einfluss der Cultural und Visual Studies sowie medienwissenschaftlicher Überlegungen auf die Debatten rund um Fotografie.
Diese Ausweitung der Kontexte, in denen das fotografische Bild eine Rolle spielt und seine theoretische Bearbeitung erfährt, geht jedoch ebenfalls auf die Anfänge der Symposien zurück. Unterschiedliche bis gegensätzliche Positionen wurden zueinander in Beziehung gesetzt, um das Feld der Erörterung des Fotografischen beständig zu erweitern – in die Kulturwissenschaften, Visual Studies, Urbanismusforschung, Architektur, Literatur- und Filmwissenschaften, Philosophie, Medientheorie, Zeichentheorie, Repräsentationspolitik, politischen Aktivismus, feministische Theorie, Postkoloniale Studien usw. Vor allem aber waren die Symposien auch ein Ort des Austauschs zwischen Theorie und künstlerischer Praxis. Heute ist diese Transdisziplinarität oder gar Postdisziplinarität nahezu selbstverständlich. Insofern scheint es aus gegenwärtiger Sicht, dass während der Symposien über Fotografie weniger bestehende Übereinkünfte zur Sprache kamen, als vielstimmige Meinungsverschiedenheiten, Unstimmigkeiten und Uneinigkeiten, die den gleichzeitigen, aber gegensätzlichen Perspektiven auf das fotografische Bild entsprachen.
Im Oktober 2018 findet nun erneut ein Symposion über Fotografie statt, das sich dem Thema der »Gewalt der Bilder« widmet, und es folgt dieser Tradition der Vielstimmigkeit und Erweiterung der Diskurse. Dabei bringt es erneut Künstler*innen und Expert*innen aus verschiedenen Bereichen zusammen: Christine Frisinghelli, Marina Gržinić, Ana Hoffner, Tom Holert, Jakub Majmurek, Guy Mannes-Abbott, Ines Schaber, Ana Teixeira Pinto und Ala Younis. Anders als in der Vergangenheit haben wir uns jedoch entschieden, diese Ausgabe von Camera Austria International, die als dezidierte Theorie- und Textausgabe konzipiert ist, bereits zum Symposion selbst als eine Art Reader, der das Feld bereitet, vorzulegen. Manche der Teilnehmer*innen veröffentlichen einen Essay auch in dieser Ausgabe, als eine Schnittmenge zwischen Zeitschrift und Symposion. Andere Vortragende und Autor*innen haben bereits früher in der Zeitschrift veröffentlicht, wobei mit einigen eine bereits vieljährige Zusammenarbeit besteht. Die Frage, die wir den eingeladenen Autor*innen gestellt haben, lautete schlicht, welche Analysen und Reflexionen über fotografische Themen – künstlerische wie alltagskulturelle – für sie momentan ganz oben auf der Agenda stehen.
Herausgekommen ist ein für uns faszinierendes Panorama an Beobachtungen von und Zugriffen auf Bildkulturen: künstlerische Fotografie im Zeitalter der Katastrophe, Fragen der Zensur und solche der visuellen Darstellung von Revolutionen, die Frage, was in rassifizierten Bildern überhaupt gesehen werden kann, der Niederschlag rechtsautoritärer Politik in Bildregimen, der imaginale Raum, die Forensik und die Darstellbarkeit des Sonischen, das Phänomen der Demobilisierung durch Bilder sowie das entstehende visuelle »Instant Archive«.
Als einem Team, das seit vielen Jahren mit der Produktion dieser Zeitschrift beschäftigt ist, ist uns natürlich klar, dass Lesen und Recherchieren heute etwas anderes bedeuten als noch vor wenigen Jahren. Oftmals dreht es sich um die schnelle, knappe Information, die Zusammenfassung, das Exzerpt, um rasch voranzukommen. Das Wissen sollte zu uns kommen – vermittelt, erklärt, kommentiert, verwertbar. Doch in einer Zeit, in der der Antiintellektualismus voranschreitet, erscheint es vielleicht gerade deshalb angebracht, wiederum langsam, ausufernd, verzweigt und umfangreich zu werden. Mit Stuart Hall glauben wir daran, dass die Wirklichkeit kein Gegenstand ist, der sich ohne Anstrengung erkennen lässt. Und für diese Anstrengung sind die Texte wichtig, um die fotografischen Bilder nicht auf etwas zu reduzieren, das im Vorbeigehen oder im Umblättern bloß angeschaut werden soll. Bilder brauchen ihre Zeit, wie die Texte ihre Zeit brauchen, gelesen und verstanden zu werden, und beides bereitet eine Langsamkeit vor, »die eine Zeit wäre, die sich Zeit gibt, das heißt eine Zeit, die sich Zeit gibt für die Langsamkeit der Untersuchung und der Architektonik« (Alain Badiou). Dies ist die Zeit, in der die Texte auf die Bilder treffen: »Bilder und Worte kollidieren, damit das Denken seinen Ort im Visuellen hat.« (Georges Didi-Huberman) Dieser Ort, oder vielmehr, dieses Moment der Kollision könnte auch die politische Bewegung der Bilder markieren, ihre Politisierung, aber auch die Visualisierung einer Politik beleuchten, die das Denken durch Behauptungen ersetzt hat. Wie stellt sich gegenwärtig die Abhängigkeit des Sichtbaren vom Wort dar, welcher Regulierung der Beziehung zwischen Wissen und Nichtwissen unterliegen die Bilder, wie lässt sich eine Praxis wie Repräsentation aufrechterhalten, wenn die Bilder nicht mehr primär etwas zeigen, sondern in vielfältige Ensembles von Aufführungen integriert werden?
Vor dem Hintergrund dieser Fragen haben wir die vorliegende Ausgabe in der Hoffnung entwickelt, Verbündete für die Idee des Detaillierten, des genau Recherchierten und des Umfangreichen zu erreichen, dabei an die Geschichte von Camera Austria anzuknüpfen und sie zu aktualisieren. Den Texten dieser Ausgabe steht ein erweiterter Bildteil zur Seite, den wir in engem Austausch mit Autor*innen entwickelt haben, die Camera Austria seit Längerem begleiten und mitgeprägt haben, und die eingeladen wurden, Künstler*innen vorzuschlagen, deren Arbeit sie mit den Leser*innen von Camera Austria International teilen möchten. Wir freuen uns, dass aus den vorgestellten Beiträgen ein vielstimmiger, auch für uns unvorhergesehener Einblick in aktuelle Positionen künstlerischer Fotografie entstanden ist.

Reinhard Braun und das Team von Camera Austria
September 2018

1 Danach unregelmäßiger: »Positionen japanischer Fotografie« (2003), das die erste Ausstellung in den neuen Räumen im Eisernen Haus in Graz zur Eröffnung des Kunsthaus Graz begleitete, »Pierre Bourdieus Blick auf die Gesellschaftliche Welt« (2004) und Symposion über Fotografie XX anlässlich von Ausgabe Camera Austria International Nr. 100/2007, das den südafrikanischen und vom kürzlich verstorbenen David Goldblatt mitbegründeten Market Photo Workshop ins Zentrum rückte.

Cover: Montage verschiedener Zeitschriftenbeiträge. Copyright: Satz & Sätze, Graz.

Beiträge

Impressum

Herausgeber: Reinhard Braun

Verlag, Eigentümer: Verein CAMERA AUSTRIA. Labor für Fotografie und Theorie.
Lendkai 1, 8020 Graz, Österreich

Chefredaktion: Christina Töpfer.
Redaktion: Margit Neuhold.

ÜbersetzerInnen: Wolfgang Astelbauer, Dawn Michelle d’Atri, John Doherty, Nicolas Huckle, Lina Morawetz, Katrin Mundt, Wilfried Prantner, Marina Schumann, Andrea Scrima, Sabine Weier.

Englisches Lektorat: Dawn Michelle d’Atri.

Dank: Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Dina Al-Kassim, Jens Asthoff, Kader Attia, Lara Baladi, Véronique Besnard, Nahún Calleros, Michèle Cohen Hadria, Anthony Downey, Timothy Druckrey, Maria Eichhorn, Luigi Fassi, Karine Fauchard, Anne Faucheret, Duncan Forbes, Forensic Architecture, François-Xavier Gbré, Marina Gržinić, Claudia Gülzow, Grit Hachmeister, Sebastian Hau, Taco Hidde Bakker, Christian Höller, Susanne Holschbach, Omar Kholeif, Maya Krinsky, Sandra Križić Roban, Pierre Leguillon, Nicolas Linnert, Bart Lunenburg, Ben Mohai, Walter Moser, Yuki Onodera, Johan Österholm, Max Pinckers, Matthew Rana, Natascha Sadr Haghighian, Moritz Scheper, Julia Scher, Marika Schmiedt, Abigail Solomon-Godeau, Marko Tadić, Ana Teixeira Pinto, Fatoş Üstek, Mercedes Vicente, Claudio Vogt, Franz Wanner, Joanna Warsza, Sabine Weier, Carmen Winant.

Copyright © 2018
Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Nachdruck nur mit vorheriger Genehmigung des Verlags. Für übermittelte Manuskripte und Originalvorlagen wird keine Haftung übernommen.

ISBN 978-3-902911-46-9
ISSN 1015 1915
GTIN 4 19 23106 1600 5 00143