Camera Austria International

146 | 2019

Price

16Add to cart

  • KATHARINA SYKORA
    Writing Life
  • ANNIE ERNAUX
  • CHRISTIN MÜLLER
    When Historical and Contemporary Views Meet
  • JENS KLEIN
  • EILEEN MYLES
    the elevator
  • ALEXANDER GARCÍA DÜTTMANN
    In the Contemporary for the Contemporary
  • JOANNA PIOTROWSKA

Editorial

The close relationship shared by photography and literature is the focus of the summer issue of Camera Austria International. Some contributions gathered here take a literary approach, others a photographic one, yet all explore what is playing out at the interface between the two mediums and the ensuing narratives. Documentary photos unfold as adventurous narratives about German history or as seemingly absurd domestic scenes, while literary texts in turn make the poetics of the photographic image tangible.

Full text

Camera Austria International 146 | 2019
Editorial

The close relationship shared by photography and literature is the focus of the summer issue of Camera Austria International. Some contributions gathered here take a literary approach, others a photographic one, yet all explore what is playing out at the interface between the two mediums and the ensuing narratives. Documentary photos unfold as adventurous narratives about German history or as seemingly absurd domestic scenes, while literary texts in turn make the poetics of the photographic image tangible.

Écrire la vie—writing life—is the name of the volume released in 2011 by Gallimard which compiles a large portion of the texts published by the French author Annie Ernaux up to that year. In many of these books, the autobiographical writing of her life takes place not only on a written plane, but also through the medium of photography. At times it becomes evident on the pages, at other times through the content and materiality as described by the author, who sets out to make readers aware of a certain moment and to lend form to that which has passed. “In literature, she represents the same claim to reality as analogue photography by conjuring up the having-been-there of the speakers in order to subject it to a sociobiographical reading,” writes Katharina Sykora in her analysis of the photographic approaches found in the books by Ernaux.

Another form of narrative is developed in the work of the artist Jens Klein. To this end, he scrutinizes photographs from public and private archives, liberating them from their historical and social context. Christin Müller, in her contribution, traces Klein’s treatment of archival photographs and examines how partially speculative stories about the past are spun through this decontextualization of the individual images and their rearrangement in series, even balancing out the documentary character of the photographs: “Manifesting there is a vacuum which strongly urges us to fill it with stories. The images thus become planes of reflection for a fictitious activity that has little to do with the past and much more to do with our mindscape.”

The American poet Eileen Myles has developed, for Camera Austria International, a contribution titled “the escalator” (2019) which constellates quotidian scenes from Myles’s surroundings and her home through an interplay of image and text. Myles, who discerns “the other side of poetry” in Instagram, makes no effort to carve out the special facets of everyday life in these photos. Instead, she shows life in its manifest banality through quickly shot, technically flawed pictures. “I feel like what I do in poems I also do in photographs, which is to say that I’m wanting them to carry the sense of moving through the world, with stuff being apprehended awkwardly and indirectly rather than straight on.”

In her photographic practice, which is based on precisely choreographed stagings, Joanna Piotrowska focuses on family structures and everyday gestures, on how both are entangled in political, economic, social, and cultural contexts. In his text, Alexander García Düttmann immerses himself in the spaces, gestures, and structures portrayed by Piotrowska and investigates how the contemporary is defined today: “This artist pushes the act of photographic representation to the limits of irrefutable evidence, especially in that the images often indicate an absence instead of a presence.”

Christina Töpfer and the Camera Austria Team
June 2019

Cover: Jens Klein, k. A., from the 19-part series: Balloons, 2013. Archival pigment print, 40 × 30 cm. Based on a photograph taken from the archive of the State Security Service of the former German Democratic Republic (BStU-Archiv).

Contributions

Forum

Presented by Susanne Kriemann
Alexander Theis
Jonas Zilius
Karolina Sobel
Rayna Teneva
Natalia Schmidt
Ulf Beck
Nis Petersen
Judith Milz
Iden Sungyoung Kim
Mustafa Emin Büyükcoskun
Isabelle Konrad
Philip Lawall

Exhibitions

Adelita Husni-Bey: Chiron
New Museum, New York
CARLOS KONG

Peter Friedl: Teatro
Kunsthalle Wien
Carré d’art – Musée d’art contemporain de Nîmes
RAIMAR STANGE

Not the Usual Suspects
South African National Gallery, Iziko Museums, Cape Town
SEAN O’TOOLE

Producing Futures: An Exhibition on Post-Cyber-Feminism
Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zurich
VERENA DOERFLER

Marge Monko: Diamonds Against Stones
Museum Folkwang, Essen
MORITZ SCHEPER

Benoît Platéus: One Inch Off
WIELS, Brussels
Bonner Kunstverein, Bonn
STEVEN HUMBLET

Laurie Robins: ‘FREE TRADE OR ELSE’*
South London Gallery, London
CHRIS FITE-WASSILAK

Ernst Ludwig Kirchner: Der Maler als Fotograf
Museum der Moderne Salzburg
ULRIKE MATZER

Global National: Art on Right-Wing Populism
Haus am Lützowplatz (HaL), Berlin
The Alt-Right Complex: On Right-Wing Populism Online
Hartware MedienKunstVerein (HMKV), Dortmund
CASPAR SHALLER

Agency of Singular Investigations: Flower Power. Archive
Triumph Gallery, Moscow Museum of Modern Art (MMoMA)
ANDREY SHENTAL

Lorenza Böttner: Requiem für die Norm
Württembergischer Kunstverein Stuttgart
MARIE HIMMERICH

Martine Syms: Boon
Secession, Vienna
KATHI HOFER

Net Art Anthology
anthology.rhizome.org, 2016–18
The Art Happens Here: Net Art’s Archival Poetics
New Museum, New York
Michael Connor, Aria Dean, Dragan Espenschied (eds.): The Art Happens Here: Net Art Anthology
Rhizome, New York 2019
DOMENICO QUARANTA

Books

Luca Lo Pinto (ed.): Babette Mangolte. Selected Writings, 1998–2015
Kunsthalle Wien, Vienna; Sternberg Press, Berlin 2018
JACOB KORCZYNSKI

Talia Chetrit: Showcaller
MACK, London 2019
REBECCA WILTON

Steffen Siegel: Fotogeschichte aus dem Geist des Fotobuchs
Wallstein Verlag, Göttingen 2019
TACO HIDDE BAKKER

Michalis Pichler (Hg.): Publishing Manifestos
The MIT Press, Cambridge, MA/London; Miss Read, Berlin 2019
REGINE EHLEITER

Talking Books
Erik van der Weijde in Conversation with . . . Brad Feuerhelm
Dein Kampf – MACK, London

Imprint

Publisher: Reinhard Braun

Owner: Verein CAMERA AUSTRIA. Labor für Fotografie und Theorie.
Lendkai 1, 8020 Graz, Österreich

Editor-in-Chief: Christina Töpfer.
Editor: Margit Neuhold.

Translations: Dawn Michelle d’Atri, Amy Klement, Lina Morawetz, Wilfried Prantner.

English Proofreading: Dawn Michelle d’Atri.

Acknowledgments: Moritz Appich, Ulf Beck, Christel Boget, Mustafa Emin Büyükcoskun, Solène Carrer, Alexander García Düttmann, Nela Eggenberger, Annie Ernaux, Brad Feuerhelm, Sonja Finck, Geneviève Fumeron, Ira Grünberger, Jens Klein, Aleksander Komarov, Isabelle Konrad, Susanne Kriemann, Philip Lawall, Marc Marie, Judith Milz, Christin Müller, Eileen Myles, Sean O’Toole, Nis Petersen, Joanna Piotrowska, María Inés Plaza Lazo, Veronika Rühl, Friederike Schäfer, Moritz Scheper, Natalia Schmidt, Karolina Sobel, Pauł Sochaki, Nina Strand, Iden Sungyoung Kim, Katharina Sykora, Rayna Teneva, Rein Jelle Terpstra, Alexander Theis, Erik van der Weijde, Daniela Zehetner, Jonas Zilius.

Copyright © 2019

No parts of this magazine may be reproduced without publisher’s permission.
Camera Austria International does not assume any responsibility for submitted texts and original materials.

ISBN 978-3-902911-51-3
ISSN 1015 1915
GTIN 4 19 23106 1600 5 00146

Camera Austria International

146 | 2019

Preis

16In den Warenkorb

  • KATHARINA SYKORA
    Das Leben schreiben
  • ANNIE ERNAUX
  • CHRISTIN MÜLLER
    Wenn sich historische und gegenwärtige Blicke treffen
  • JENS KLEIN
  • EILEEN MYLES
    der aufzug
  • ALEXANDER GARCÍA DÜTTMANN
    In der Gegenwart für die Gegenwart
  • JOANNA PIOTROWSKA

Vorwort

Das Naheverhältnis von Fotografie und Literatur steht in der Sommerausgabe von Camera Austria International im Mittelpunkt. Die hier versammelten Beiträge loten teils literarisch, teils fotografisch aus, was sich an den Schnittstellen beider Medien abspielt und welche Erzählungen daraus entstehen. Dokumentarische Aufnahmen entfalten sich dabei zu abenteuerlichen Narrativen über die deutsche Geschichte oder zu absurd anmutenden Szenen des Häuslichen, während literarische Texte wiederum die Poetik des fotografischen Bildes greifbar machen.

Volltext

Camera Austria International 146 | 2019
Vorwort

Das Naheverhältnis von Fotografie und Literatur steht in der Sommerausgabe von Camera Austria International im Mittelpunkt. Die hier versammelten Beiträge loten teils literarisch, teils fotografisch aus, was sich an den Schnittstellen beider Medien abspielt und welche Erzählungen daraus entstehen. Dokumentarische Aufnahmen entfalten sich dabei zu abenteuerlichen Narrativen über die deutsche Geschichte oder zu absurd anmutenden Szenen des Häuslichen, während literarische Texte wiederum die Poetik des fotografischen Bildes greifbar machen.

Écrire la vie – das Leben schreiben – ist der 2011 im Verlag Gallimard erschienene Band betitelt, der einen Großteil der bis dahin publizierten Texte der französischen Schriftstellerin Annie Ernaux versammelt. Das autobiografische Schreiben ihres Lebens geschieht in vielen dieser Bücher nicht ausschließlich auf textlicher Ebene, sondern auch über das Medium Fotografie, das teils auf den Seiten sichtbar in Erscheinung tritt, teils in seinem Inhalt sowie seiner Materialität von der Autorin beschrieben wird, um den Leser*innen einen bestimmten Moment vor Augen zu führen und dem Vergangenen Gestalt zu verleihen. »Sie vertritt literarisch denselben Realitätsanspruch wie die analoge Fotografie, indem sie das Dagewesensein des Referenten beschwört, um es einer soziobiografischen Lektüre zu unterziehen«, schreibt Katharina Sykora in ihrer Analyse fotografischer Verfahren in den Büchern Ernaux’.

Eine andere Form des Narrativs entwickeln die Arbeiten des Künstlers Jens Klein, für die er auf Aufnahmen aus öffentlichen wie privaten Archiven zurückgreift und diese aus ihrem historischen und sozialen Zusammenhang herausnimmt. Christin Müller geht in ihrem Beitrag Kleins Umgang mit Archivfotografien nach und arbeitet heraus, wie sich aus dieser Entkontextualisierung der Einzelbilder und ihrer seriellen Neuanordnung teils spekulative Geschichten über die Vergangenheit entspinnen, die den dokumentarischen Charakter der Aufnahmen bisweilen nivellieren: »Es manifestiert sich ein Vakuum, das danach drängt, von uns mit Geschichten angefüllt zu werden. Die Bilder werden so zu Reflexionsflächen für ein fiktives Geschehen, das wenig mit der Vergangenheit und viel mehr mit unserer Vorstellungskraft zu tun hat.«

Die amerikanische Lyrikerin Eileen Myles hat für Camera Austria International einen Beitrag mit dem Titel »der aufzug« (2019) entwickelt, der in einem Zusammenspiel von Bild und Text Szenen des Alltäglichen, von Myles’ Umgebung und ihrem Zuhause zusammenführt. Myles, die in Instagram »die andere Seite von Lyrik« sieht, bemüht sich in diesen Aufnahmen nicht, das Besondere des Alltags herauszuarbeiten, sondern sie zeigt ihn in seiner offensichtlichen Banalität in schnellen, technisch unvollkommenen Bildern. »Ich glaube, dass ich das, was ich in Gedichten mache, auch in Fotografien mache, nämlich das Anliegen verfolgen, dass sie ein Gefühl des Sich-durch-die-Welt-Bewegens wiedergeben – mit Dingen, die eigentümlich und eher indirekt als geradeheraus verstanden werden.«

Joanna Piotrowska fokussiert in ihrer fotografischen Praxis, der präzise choreografierte Inszenierungen zugrunde liegen, auf familiäre Strukturen, alltägliche Gesten und darauf, wie diese in politische, wirtschaftliche, soziale oder kulturelle Zusammenhänge verstrickt sind. Alexander García Düttmann begibt sich in seinem Textbeitrag in die von Piotrowska abgebildeten Räume, Gesten und Strukturen und geht der Frage nach, wie die Gegenwart in der Gegenwartskunst zu definieren sei: »Diese Künstlerin bringt das fotografische Zeigen bis an die Grenze unumstößlicher Evidenz, und zwar umso mehr, als die Bilder häufig nicht eine Anwesenheit, sondern eine Abwesenheit indizieren.«

Christina Töpfer und das Team von Camera Austria
Juni 2019

Cover: Jens Klein, k. A., aus der 19-teiligen Serie: Balloons, 2013. Pigmentdruck, 40 × 30 cm. Basiert auf einer Fotografie aus dem Archiv des Staatssicherheitsdienstes der ehemaligen Deutschen Demokratischen Republik (BStU-Archiv).

 

Beiträge

Forum

Vorgestellt von Susanne Kriemann
Alexander Theis
Jonas Zilius
Karolina Sobel
Rayna Teneva
Natalia Schmidt
Ulf Beck
Nis Petersen
Judith Milz
Iden Sungyoung Kim
Mustafa Emin Büyükcoskun
Isabelle Konrad
Philip Lawall

Ausstellungen

Adelita Husni-Bey: Chiron
New Museum, New York
CARLOS KONG

Peter Friedl: Teatro Kunsthalle Wien
Carré d’art – Musée d’art contemporain de Nîmes
RAIMAR STANGE

Not the Usual Suspects
South African National Gallery, Iziko Museums, Kapstadt
SEAN O’TOOLE

Producing Futures: An Exhibition on Post-Cyber-Feminism
Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zürich
VERENA DOERFLER

Marge Monko: Diamonds Against Stones
Museum Folkwang, Essen
MORITZ SCHEPER

Benoît Platéus: One Inch Off
WIELS, Brüssel
Bonner Kunstverein, Bonn
STEVEN HUMBLET

Laurie Robins: ‘FREE TRADE OR ELSE’*
South London Gallery, London
CHRIS FITE-WASSILAK

Ernst Ludwig Kirchner: Der Maler als Fotograf
Museum der Moderne Salzburg
ULRIKE MATZER

Global National: Art on Right-Wing Populism
Haus am Lützowplatz (HaL), Berlin
The Alt-Right Complex: On Right-Wing Populism Online
Hartware MedienKunstVerein (HMKV), Dortmund
CASPAR SHALLER

Agency of Singular Investigations: Flower Power. Archive
Triumph Gallery, Moscow Museum of Modern Art (MMoMA)
ANDREY SHENTAL

Lorenza Böttner: Requiem für die Norm
Württembergischer Kunstverein Stuttgart
MARIE HIMMERICH

Martine Syms: Boon
Secession, Wien
KATHI HOFER

Net Art Anthology
anthology.rhizome.org, 2016–18
The Art Happens Here: Net Art’s Archival Poetics
New Museum, New York
Michael Connor, Aria Dean, Dragan Espenschied (eds.): The Art Happens Here: Net Art Anthology
Rhizome, New York 2019
DOMENICO QUARANTA

Bücher

Luca Lo Pinto (ed.): Babette Mangolte. Selected Writings, 1998–2015
Kunsthalle Wien; Sternberg Press, Berlin 2018
JACOB KORCZYNSKI

Talia Chetrit: Showcaller
MACK, London 2019
REBECCA WILTON

Steffen Siegel: Fotogeschichte aus dem Geist des Fotobuchs
Wallstein Verlag, Göttingen 2019
TACO HIDDE BAKKER

Michalis Pichler (Hg.): Publishing Manifestos
The MIT Press, Cambridge, MA/London; Miss Read, Berlin 2019
REGINE EHLEITER

Talking Books
Erik van der Weijde in Conversation with . . . Brad Feuerhelm
Dein Kampf – MACK, London

Impressum

Herausgeber: Reinhard Braun

Verlag, Eigentümer: Verein CAMERA AUSTRIA. Labor für Fotografie und Theorie.
Lendkai 1, 8020 Graz, Österreich

Chefredaktion: Christina Töpfer.
Redaktion: Margit Neuhold.

Übersetzer*innen: Dawn Michelle d’Atri, Amy Klement, Lina Morawetz, Wilfried Prantner.

Englisches Lektorat: Dawn Michelle d’Atri.

Dank: Moritz Appich, Ulf Beck, Christel Boget, Mustafa Emin Büyükcoskun, Solène Carrer, Alexander García Düttmann, Nela Eggenberger, Annie Ernaux, Brad Feuerhelm, Sonja Finck, Geneviève Fumeron, Ira Grünberger, Jens Klein, Aleksander Komarov, Isabelle Konrad, Susanne Kriemann, Philip Lawall, Marc Marie, Judith Milz, Christin Müller, Eileen Myles, Sean O’Toole, Nis Petersen, Joanna Piotrowska, María Inés Plaza Lazo, Veronika Rühl, Friederike Schäfer, Moritz Scheper, Natalia Schmidt, Karolina Sobel, Pauł Sochaki, Nina Strand, Iden Sungyoung Kim, Katharina Sykora, Rayna Teneva, Rein Jelle Terpstra, Alexander Theis, Erik van der Weijde, Daniela Zehetner, Jonas Zilius.

Copyright © 2019
Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Nachdruck nur mit vorheriger Genehmigung des Verlags. Für übermittelte Manuskripte und Originalvorlagen wird keine Haftung übernommen.

ISBN 978-3-902911-51-3
ISSN 1015 1915
GTIN 4 19 23106 1600 5 00146