Tetsugo Hyakutake
Postwar Conditions

Infos

Opening
7.12.2018, 8 pm

Artist’s talk & film screening
17.1.2019, 6 pm

Duration
8.12.2018 – 17.2.2019

Opening hours
Tue – Sun, 10 am to 5 pm

Guided tours

German, English
Free, on request:
exhibitions@camera-austria.at
+43 316 81555016

Curated by
Walter Seidl

Free shuttle to the opening
Vienna – Graz – Vienna

Departure Vienna: 3 pm, Bus stop Opera, Bus 59 a
Departure Graz: 11:30 pm, KM– Künstlerhaus, Burgring 2
cmrk.org

Intro

The exhibition by the Japanese artist Tetsugo Hyakutake, born 1975, leads back into history in a twofold way. On the one hand, he analyzes Japan’s history since World War II and how it has affected current identity formations within the country, which, for many decades, has been under the influence of the West, most especially the United States. The artist seeks to pursue a past that relates to issues of colonization, war, and other decisive historical events—themes that reflect on current issues of identity in Japanese culture and on the relationship between past and present, as well as the fractures between individual and collective memory. The artist juxtaposes archival material with his own photographs and negotiates various levels of temporality within the photographic dispositive. He often applies a special technique by treating photographs with chlorine to make them appear like historical documents and thus provokes an ontological leap between different realities—always raising the question of how Japanese identity and thought have come into being.

On the other hand, the project leads into the history of Camera Austria: already in 1975—at the time still in the Galerie Schillerhof in Graz, curated by Manfred Willmann—a solo exhibition presented works by Masaaki Nakagawa, and in the same year works by Seiichi Furuya. It was due to Furuya’s mediation and knowledge that other important exhibitions of Japanese photography were realized in Graz, for instance by Toshimi Kamiya (1978), Daidoh Moriyama (1980), Hitoshi Fugo (1982), Shomei Tomatsu (1984), and Nobuyoshi Araki (1992). Ultimately, a new exhibition space was inaugurated in the Eisernes Haus with an exhibition of Japanese photography. It is when considering these moments of very specific intercultural exchange about such contrasting visual cultures that I would like to mention the upcoming exhibition curated by Walter Seidl and also transition now to discussion on a political level.

Read more

Tetsugo Hyakutake
Postwar Conditions

Tetsugo Hyakutake analyzes moments of Japan’s history since World War II and how they have affected current identity formations within the country, which, for many decades has been under the influence of the United States and, for some, still is. The artist seeks to pursue a past that relates to issues of colonization, war, and other decisive historical events that reflect on current issues of subjectivity in Japanese culture and the relationship between past and present, individual and collective memory and history. Hyakutake juxtaposes archival material with his own photographs and negotiates various levels of temporality within the photographic dispositive. He often applies a special technique by treating photographs with chlorine to make them appear like historical documents and thus creates an ontological leap between different realities, raising the question of how Japanese identity and thought have come into being. With the economic boom culminating in the 1980s, which was supposed to make up for losing the war, and which stagnated in the “Lost Decade” of the 1990s, Hyakutake’s works raise the question of how the international positioning of Japan has been subject to critical scrutiny and how the personal is put to the fore via an introspection of the dialectics between self-determination and the perception through the eyes of the Other, that is, a Westernized gaze.

Regarding the parallelization of Japan being an island and nation at the same time—with specific ethnic conditions—raises the question of the essence of Japanese thought. According to Naoki Sakai, “the being of Japanese thought is assumed but never disclosed, and its esoteric essence is projected into the past, while this institution of knowledge is sustained by the insatiable desire for it.”¹ Sakai thus relates to Lacan’s psychoanalytical approach, which makes it impossible to satisfy desire as it continues to reproduce itself constantly. The existence and uniqueness of Japanese identity and thought, however, is due to about 270 years of the population’s seclusion on an island, during which contact to the outside world was cut off. This isolation ended in 1868 with the return of the Emperor and the decline of the Edo period. The reason for this was the US-led Perry Expedition in 1853, which aimed to establish trade agreements with Japanese ports, open the country’s economy, and widen its diplomatic relations. Thereafter, an empire following Western economic and cultural models was created as a hyperreality construct, which made Japan the second largest world power.

Belonging to the generation that has come of age in the “Lost Decade” of the 1990s, Hyakutake found himself trying to understand what it means to be Japanese today and how the Japanese subject is reflected upon within and outside of the country. According to Gilles Deleuze’s reading of David Hume, the “subject is defined by the movement through which it is developed. This movement of self-development and of becoming other is double: the subject transcends itself, but it is also reflected upon.”² Hyakutake is concerned with the cross-reflections that situate the Japanese subject somewhere between a self-contained entity and a US-determined cultural and economic being. Moreover, his work focuses on industry and the infrastructure of contemporary society, through which the artist seeks to decipher recent Japanese history and culture. A conflicted relationship with historically relevant sites comes across in his images of a multilayered visuality, which testify to an uncertainty as to their structures of representation. Hence, Hyakutake’s photographic output has an ephemeral, fleeting quality that poses questions about its subjects of representation. In between document and fiction, his images depict monuments that are part of Japanese history yet suffused with rays of light which blend history with the individual’s mortal coil.

Hyakutake’s reflections on contemporary Japan start with the developments following World War II. The artist is particularly drawn to the controversial debate concerning the responsibility of Emperor Hirohito, now called Emperor Shōwa, for the wartime atrocities committed by Japanese forces. The media hardly covered the topic of his leadership and responsibility during the war, which was generally considered taboo despite the fact that he had full power over the Japanese military according to the imperial constitution of Japan. He was the one who finally decided to end the war. Hyaku-take also focuses on General Douglas MacArthur, who oversaw the US occupation of Japan from 1945 to 1951 and the ensuing political, economic, and social changes. A three-channel video animation shows Japan’s surrendering Emperor Hirohito and General Mac-Arthur, as well as an image of the artist’s granduncle, who died in the Philippines, which Japan had invaded under MacArthur’s rule. The image was taken from a family photo depicting him shortly before he left for the war. Thus, Hyakutake’s photographic documents try to reconstruct history, yet always refer to the relationship between fact and fiction and the use of archival material, which can reveal as much about the present as about the past. The animated Japanese eye and body movements are in fact the artist’s own, referencing a distance between the self, the eye of the beholder, and the historicity purported in the respective imagery.

One of the main areas of US interference has been the island of Okinawa. Ever since the battle of Okinawa in 1945, US military bases have been stationed on this island and will continue to be, giving the United States a stronghold in the Pacific, from which to operate in case of the unforeseen. Okinawa represents only 0.6 percent of Japan, but about 75 percent of the US bases are located on the island, which is considered a contested site with many disputes between the Japanese population and US soldiers on issues of crime and inequality. With regard to the battle as one of the most severe in the Pacific during World War II, Hyakutake ponders the feelings of those who witnessed the atrocities, killings, and suicides. One manipulated photo depicts two boys in Iejima, whose original photo negative was supposedly taken by American soldiers after 1945 and which was acquired by the artist at an auction; likewise the photo of women in Okinawa at that time, who are surrounded by American soldiers.

Moreover, Hyakutake explores Japanese sites where preparations for war were already underway before World War II. He researched and visited such sites and then manipulated his own photographs accordingly. These sites include a torpedo test fire facility in a small port town in Nagasaki, a navy ammunitions arsenal as part of the Maizuru shipyard in Kyoto Prefecture, the Shime coal mine near Fukuoka, and poison gas storages erected in line with the Imperial Japanese Army’s Institute of Science and Technology’s secret program to develop chemical weapons, which was already launched in 1929. His technique involves bleaching photographs, which makes them look faded, cracked, and fragmented. These damaged photographs are representations of Hyakutake’s concern that the memory of the individuals suffering from misfortune might fade and fall into oblivion. The blurry surface quality creates an illusionary effect that asks questions about the authenticity of the image. At the same time, the artist frees the image from its factual qualities and turns the gaze to a different, volatile reality. In her recent publication, Michelle Henning talks about the “unfettered image,” as photographs seem to become more and more detached from a specific place in time. “Theorising photography in terms of its mobility demands that we pay attention to practices where the urge to ‘fix’ reality is either barely evident or explicitly struggled over, images that seem to play with perception, that offer themselves to us and then deliberately withdraw from our gaze.”³
Hyakutake takes historically contested sites as point of departure and plays with the memory of such sites as well as the resulting moments of illusion or disillusion. The fact that the people in Okinawa experienced historical evidence differently than the readers of Japanese history books, has to be taken for granted. Yet, both relate to the essence of Japanese thought, as they create a “historiography that historicizes the conditions of possibility for the history of Japanese thought.”⁴ Concerning the processuality of historical events, one way to relate to their visuality is by confronting archive photographs, especially when it comes to such contested sites as Hiroshima. Here, the artist refers to the Trinity testing site in New Mexico, the actual bombing site as well as the aftermath and Hirohito’s visit, moreover to the B-29 Superfortress bombers operating against Japan’s major cities. Hyakutake employs a further trope when dealing with pictorial evidence as depicted in the war bonds he inherited from his grandfather. Here, Hyakutake prints or superimposes archive photographs as well as his own photographs over the original documents and thus mingles several moments of (visual) history that cannot be translated clearly from a present stance.

Early moments of industrialization can be traced in photographs of bridges, such as the Yalu River Bridge, a half-destroyed railroad bridge over the Yalu River between the Chinese city of Dandong and the North Korean city of Sinuiju built by Imperial Japan in 1911. A contemporary approach would be the expressway bridge in Nihonbashi in the center of Tokyo, which translates into as “Japan Bridge.” Formerly a wooden bridge, Nihonbashi was reconstructed with stone in 1911. The expressway was built along with during the same period as the 1964 Tokyo Olympics and facilitated the city’s huge growth in post-industrial times. By combining these images, the artist poses questions as to how Japan’s force has been recognized outside of its geographical territory and especially within a Westernized hemisphere, which is likewise self-critical and “never content with what it is recognized as by others.”⁵ In this respect, Hyakutake tackles the project of modernization, which, for Sakai, can be equated with the process of Americanization in the case of Japan. The latter has affected the country ever since the Perry Expedition and continued to do so through various dispositives of power. Yet, it “has been repeatedly deplored or extolled that Japan alone of the non-Western cultures was able to adopt rapidly what it needed from Western nations in order to transform itself into a modern industrial society.”6 Hyakutake explores the external influences of war that were part of this “modernization theory” and examines historical narratives and their antagonistic moments. His works try to contribute to a history that has been disrupted by the same power it has nested upon, culling images from archives whose relevance has been fading in the wake of the country’s excelling in economic grandeur and at the same time overcoming failure as a non-existent phenomenon in everyday Japanese culture and thought.

Walter Seidl

¹ Naoki Sakai, Translation and Subjectivity: On “Japan” and Cultural Nationalism (Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 1997), p. 42.
² Gilles Deleuze, Empiricism and Subjectivity: An Essay on Hume’s Theory of Human Nature, trans. Constantin V. Boundas (New York: Columbia University Press, 1991), p. 85. Originally published in 1953.
³ Michelle Henning, Photography: The Unfettered Image (London: Routledge, 2018), p. 21.
⁴ Sakai, Translation and Subjectivity, p. 42.
⁵ Ibid., p. 154.
6 Ibid., p. 156.

Tetsugo Hyakutake was born in Japan in 1975. A graduate from of the University of the Arts in Philadelphia (US), he obtained a Master of Fine Arts master’s degree of fine arts from the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, in 2009. Hyakutake has exhibited in Tokyo (JP), Philadelphia, New York (US), Madrid (ES), Singapore (SG), and Taipei (TW). His work has been acquired by various corporate and public collections, including BlackRock (Philadelphia), Fidelity Investments (Boston, US), the Library of Congress (Washington, D. C., US), and the Carnegie Museum of Art (Pittsburgh, US). After participating as residence artist at the ISCP in New York from 2016 to 2017, Hyakutake is currently based in Japan.

Installation Views

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Iejima, 2018.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Okinawa, 2018.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Torpedo Base, 2016.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Torpedo Base #2, 2016.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Navy Ammunitions Arsenal, 2018.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, B-29, 2016.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Hiroshima, 2016.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Poison Gas Storage, 2018.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, War Bond #1; #2, 2017.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Nihonbashi, 2007.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Yalu River Broken Bridge, 2015.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Hirohito (video still), 2009.

/

Opening

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

  • Opening
    Tetsugo Hyakutake: Postwar Conditions
    Camera Austria 2018
    Photo: Joana Theuer

/

Materials

Kooperationspartner/Sponsoren

Tetsugo Hyakutake
Postwar Conditions

Infos

Eröffnung
7.12.2018, 20:00

Zeitraum
8.12.2018 – 17.2.2019

Öffnungszeiten
Di – So, 10:00 – 17:00

Führungen
Deutsch, Englisch
kostenlos, nach Vereinbarung:
exhibitions@camera-austria.at
+43 316 81555016

Kuratiert von
Walter Seidl

Die Ausstellung findet im Rahmen von CMRK statt.

Kostenloser Shuttlebus zur Eröffnung

Wien–Graz–Wien

Abfahrt Wien: 15:00, Haltestelle 59A (Opernring 1)

Abfahrt Graz: 23:30, KM– Künstlerhaus, Burgring 2

Intro

Die Ausstellung des 1975 geborenen japanischen Künstlers Tetsugo Hyakutake führt in zweifacher Weise in die Geschichte. Einerseits beschäftigt sich Hyakutake direkt mit der japanischen Geschichte nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg und wie diese bis heute auf die Identitätsbildung des Landes einwirkt, das seit vielen Jahrzehnten unter dem Einfluss des Westens, insbesondere der USA steht. Bei dieser Auseinandersetzung interessiert sich der Künstler für Kolonisierung, Krieg und andere relevante historische Ereignisse – Themen, die gegenwärtige Fragen nach Identität in der japanischen Kultur, das Verhältnis zwischen der Vergangenheit und der Gegenwart sowie die Brüche zwischen individuellem und kollektivem Gedächtnis thematisieren. Der Künstler stellt seinen eigenen Fotografien Archivmaterial gegenüber und verhandelt verschiedene Ebenen von Zeitlichkeit innerhalb des fotografischen Dispositivs. Er bearbeitet Fotografien häufig mit Chlor, um sie wie historische Dokumente erscheinen zu lassen und provoziert derart einen ontologischen Sprung zwischen verschiedenen Realitäten – immer vor dem Hintergrund der Frage, wie japanische Identität und japanisches Denken hergestellt wurden.

Andererseits führt das Projekt in die Geschichte von Camera Austria: Bereits 1975 wurde – noch in der Galerie im Schillerhof, kuratiert von Manfred Willmann – eine Einzelausstellung mit Arbeiten von Masaaki Nakagawa gezeigt, im selben Jahr Arbeiten von Seiichi Furuya, über dessen Vermittlung und Kenntnis weitere wichtige Ausstellungen japanischer Fotografie in Graz realisiert wurden, so u. a. von Toshimi Kamiya (1978), Daidoh Moriyama (1980), Hitoshi Fugo (1982), Shomei Tomatsu (1984) und Nobuyoshi Araki (1992). Schließlich wurde der damalige neue Ausstellungsraum im Eisernen Haus mit einer Ausstellung japanischer Fotografie eröffnet. An diese Momente eines sehr spezifischen interkulturellen Austauschs über durchaus gegensätzliche visuelle Kulturen möchte die von Walter Seidl kuratierte Ausstellung anschließen und gleichzeitig den Austausch auf eine politische Ebene überführen.

Volltext

Tetsugo Hyakutake
Postwar Conditions

Tetsugo Hyakutake analysiert Momente der japanischen Geschichte nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg und wie diese bis heute auf die Identitätsbildung innerhalb des Landes wirken, das seit vielen Jahrzehnten unter dem Einfluss der USA steht. Bei dieser Auseinandersetzung interessiert sich der Künstler für Kolonisierung, Krieg und andere relevante historische Ereignisse – Themen, die gegenwärtige Identitätsfragen in der japanischen Kultur und das Verhältnis zwischen der Vergangenheit und Gegenwart sowie zum individuellen und kollektiven Gedächtnis reflektieren. Hyakutake stellt seinen eigenen Fotografien Archivmaterial gegenüber und verhandelt verschiedene Ebenen von Zeitlichkeit innerhalb des fotografischen Dispositivs. Er bearbeitet Fotografien häufig mit Chlor, um sie wie historische Dokumente erscheinen zu lassen und gestaltet so einen ontologischen Sprung zwischen verschiedenen Realitäten, immer vor dem Hintergrund der Frage, wie sich japanische Identität und japanisches Denken konstituieren. Hyakutakes Arbeiten beschäftigen sich mit dem Wirtschaftsboom, der in den 1980er-Jahren im Zuge der Wiederwettmachung des Kriegsverlustes kulminierte und mit der »Verlorenen Dekade« der 1990er-Jahre stagnierte. Er thematisiert, wie die internationale Positionierung Japans kritisch hinterfragt werden muss und dabei das Private durch eine nach innen gerichtete Beobachtung der Dialektik von Selbstbestimmung und Wahrnehmung durch das Andere, nämlich den verwestlichten Blick, in den Vordergrund rücken kann.

Da Japan zugleich eine Insel und eine Nation – mit spezifischen ethnischen Bedingungen – ist, stellt sich die Frage nach dem Wesen japanischen Denkens. Dieses werde mehr »unterstellt als offengelegt, seine esoterische Essenz auf die Vergangenheit projiziert, während diese Institution des Wissens durch unstillbares Begehren am Leben erhalten wird«, wie Naoki Sakai feststellt.¹ Sakai bezieht sich dabei auf Jacques Lacans psychoanalytischen Ansatz, der besagt, dass es unmöglich sei, Begehren zu befriedigen, da es sich immer wieder reproduziere. Die Existenz und Einzigartigkeit japanischer Identität und japanischen Denkens begründen sich auf der 270 Jahre andauernden Abgeschiedenheit der Bevölkerung auf einer Insel ohne jeglichen Kontakt zur Außenwelt. Diese Isolation endete 1868 mit der Rückkehr des Kaisers und dem Niedergang der Edo-Zeit. Grund dafür war die US-amerikanische Perry-Expedition von 1853, die auf Handelsabkommen mit japanischen Häfen abzielte, die Wirtschaft des Landes öffnen und die diplomatischen Beziehungen ausweiten sollte. Ein Imperium nach dem Vorbild westlicher Wirtschaft und Kultur wurde in der Folge aufgebaut, ein hyperreales Konstrukt, das den Aufstieg Japans zur zweitgrößten Weltmacht ermöglichte.

Als Teil jener Generation, die in der »Verlorenen Dekade« der 1990er erwachsen wurde, versucht Hyakutake zu verstehen, was es heißt, heute Japaner zu sein, und wie das japanische Subjekt innerhalb und außerhalb des Landes verstanden werden kann. Nach Gilles Deleuzes Lesart von David Hume wird das Subjekt »von der Bewegung definiert, durch die es sich entfaltet. Diese Bewegung der Selbst-Entwicklung und des Ein-Anderes-Werdens ist eine doppelte: Das Subjekt transzendiert sich selbst und ist gleichzeitig Gegenstand der Betrachtung.«² Hyakutake interessiert sich für jene verschiedenartigen Wahrnehmungen des japanischen Subjekts, die es irgendwo zwischen einer in sich geschlossenen Einheit und einem kulturell wie ökonomisch durch die USA geprägten Wesen verorten. Darüber hinaus beschäftigt sich seine Arbeit mit der Industrie und Infrastruktur der gegenwärtigen Gesellschaft, um sich so der jüngeren japanischen Geschichte und Kultur zu nähern. Seine Bilder vermitteln eine konfliktgeladene Beziehung zu historisch wichtigen Orten, sind visuell vielschichtig und bezeugen eine Unsicherheit bezüglich ihrer eigenen repräsentativen Strukturen. So gewinnt Hyakutakes fotografisches Schaffen eine ephemere und flüchtige Qualität, die Fragen nach der Repräsentation ihrer Subjekte aufwirft. Zwischen Dokument und Fiktion situiert, zeigen seine Bilder Monumente, die Teil der japanischen Geschichte sind, gleichzeitig aber in einem Licht erscheinen, das Geschichte mit der Zeitlichkeit des Individuums überblendet.

Hyakutakes Betrachtungen des gegenwärtigen Japans beginnen mit den auf den Zweiten Weltkrieg folgenden Entwicklungen. Besonders interessiert ihn die Kontroverse um die Verantwortung Kaiser Hirohitos – heute als Shōwa-tennō bekannt – für die von der japanischen Armee im Krieg begangenen Gräueltaten. Medien berichteten kaum über seine Regierungszeit und Verantwortung während des Krieges; das Thema galt als tabu, obwohl Hirohito auf Grundlage der Verfassung des Kaiserreichs die volle Kontrolle über das japanische Militär innehatte. Er war es, der letztlich entschied, den Krieg zu beenden. Hyakutake widmet sich auch US-General Douglas Mac-Arthur, der während der Besatzung Japans zwischen 1945 und 1951 Oberbefehlshaber war, sowie den folgenden politischen, ökonomischen und sozialen Veränderungen. Eine Dreikanal-Installation mit animierten Videos zeigt Kaiser Hirohito bei der Kapitulation, General MacArthur sowie ein Bild des Großonkels des Künstlers, der bei der Invasion der Philippinen unter General MacArthur ums Leben kam. Das Bild stammt aus einem Familienfoto und zeigt den Großonkel kurz bevor er in den Krieg zog. Hyakutakes fotografische Dokumente versuchen eine Rekonstruktion von Geschichte, legen aber stets auch die Beziehung zwischen Fakt und Fiktion und den Gebrauch von Archivmaterial offen, welches ebenso viel über die Gegenwart wie über die Vergangenheit auszusagen vermag. Es sind das Auge und der Körper des Künstlers selbst, die in dem Video animiert werden und auf die Distanz zwischen dem Selbst, dem Auge der BetrachterInnen und der in den jeweiligen Bildern behaupteten Historizität verweisen.

Die Insel Okinawa ist eines der Hauptgebiete US-amerikanischer Einflussnahme. Seit der Schlacht um Okinawa im Jahr 1945 wurden (und werden) US-Militärstützpunkte auf der Insel platziert, von denen aus die USA im Fall unvorhergesehener Vorfälle im Pazifikraum agieren können. Nur 0,6 Prozent der Fläche Japans entfallen auf Okinawa, aber 75 Prozent der US-Stützpunkte befinden sich auf der Insel, die ein umstrittener Ort ist und auf der viele Konflikte zwischen der japanischen Bevölkerung und US-SoldatInnen schwelen, bei denen es um Kriminalität und Ungleichheit geht. Hyakutake befasst sich mit der Schlacht, eine der heftigsten, die während des Zweiten Weltkriegs im Pazifik ausgetragen wurde, indem er sich den Gefühlen jener Menschen zuwendet, die dort Gräueltaten, Morde und Selbstmorde miterleben mussten. Eine manipulierte Fotografie zeigt zwei Jungen auf Ie-jima. Das Originalnegativ erwarb der Künstler bei einer Auktion; es soll nach 1945 von zwei Soldaten aufgenommen worden sein, ebenso wie das zur gleichen Zeit entstandene Motiv mehrerer von US-amerikanischen Soldaten umgebener Frauen auf Okinawa.

Darüber hinaus erkundet Hyakutake auch Orte in Japan, an denen schon vor dem Zweiten Weltkrieg Kriegsvorbereitungen getroffen wurden. Er recherchierte solche Orte und suchte sie auf, um seine eigenen Fotografien anschließend entsprechend zu manipulieren. Dazu gehören eine Torpedo-Teststrecke in einer kleinen Hafenstadt in Nagasaki, ein Munitionslager der Marine in der Maizuru-Werft in der Präfektur Kyoto, das Shime-Kohlebergwerk nahe Fukuoka und Giftgas-Speicher, die im Zuge eines schon 1929 initiierten geheimen Chemiewaffen-Programms des Instituts für Wissenschaft und Technologie der Kaiserlich Japanischen Armee erbaut wurden. Hyakutake bleicht Fotografien, um sie farblos, rissig und fragmentiert erscheinen zu lassen. Damit stehen diese in Mitleidenschaft gezogenen Fotografien auch für seine Sorge, die Erinnerung der Betroffenen könne verblassen und ganz verschwinden. Die unscharfe Oberfläche lässt den Effekt von Illusion entstehen und hinterfragt die Authentizität des Bildes. Gleichzeitig befreit der Künstler das Bild von seiner Qualität der Faktizität und lenkt den Blick hin zu einer anderen, flüchtigen Realität. In ihrer jüngsten Publikation spricht Michelle Henning vom »entfesselten Bild«, weil Fotografien sich mehr und mehr von der Gebundenheit an einen bestimmten Ort und eine bestimmte Zeit zu lösen scheinen: »Fotografie hinsichtlich ihrer Mobilität zu theoretisieren, verlangt nach mehr Aufmerksamkeit für Praxen, in denen das Verlangen, Realität zu ›fixieren‹, entweder kaum greifbar ist oder ganz explizit verdrängt wurde, Bilder, die mit der Wahrnehmung zu spielen scheinen, die sich uns anbieten, um sich unserem Blick dann gleich wieder zu entziehen.«³

Hyakutake macht umstrittene Orte zum Ausgangspunkt seiner Arbeit, spielt mit der Erinnerung an diese Orte und den resultierenden Momenten von Illusion und Ernüchterung. Dass die BewohnerInnen von Okinawa jene Geschichte anders erlebt haben als LeserInnen japanischer Geschichtsbücher, ist eine Tatsache. Dennoch beeinflussen sowohl die einen als auch die anderen das japanische Denken, denn sie schaffen eine »Historiografie, die die Bedingungen einer potenziellen Geschichte des japanischen Denkens historisiert«.⁴ Was das Prozesshafte historischer Ereignisse angeht, ist die Konfrontation mit Archiv-Bildern eine Möglichkeit, sich auf deren Visualität zu beziehen, gerade wenn es sich um solch umstrittene Orte wie Hiroshima handelt. Der Künstler bezieht sich auf den Schauplatz des Trinity-Tests in New Mexico, den der eigentlichen Bombardierung, die Folgen, den Besuch Hirohitos sowie die B-29 Superfortress-Langstreckenbomber, die Angriffe auf japanische Großstädte flogen. Er führt noch eine weitere Trope ein, wenn er sich mit Bildbeweisen auseinandersetzt, wie er sie auf den von seinem Großvater geerbten Kriegsanleihen vorgefunden hat. Die Originaldokumente bedruckt und überlagert er mit Archiv-Bildern und seinen eigenen Fotografien und verwebt so diverse Momente der (visuellen) Geschichte, die aus einer gegenwärtigen Perspektive heraus nicht eindeutig übersetzt werden können.

In Fotografien von Brücken, wie der Yalu River Bridge, einer teils zerstörten Eisenbahnbrücke über dem Fluss Yalu, die die chinesische Stadt Dandong mit der nordkoreanischen Stadt Sinŭiju verbindet und die 1911 zur Zeit des Japanischen Kaiserreichs erbaut wurde, bilden sich frühe Momente der Industrialisierung ab. Ein ähnliches Projekt in der Gegenwart stellt die Autobahnbrücke in Nihonbashi im Zentrum Tokios dar, was so viel wie »Japans Brücke« bedeutet. Ehemals aus Holz, wurde sie 1911 aus Stein neu errichtet. Die Autobahn wurde zu den Olympischen Spielen 1964 in Tokio erbaut und beschleunigte das gewaltige Wachstum der Stadt in einer postindustriellen Zeit. Indem er diese Bilder miteinander in Verbindung bringt, fragt der Künstler danach, wie die Macht Japans außerhalb seines geografischen Territoriums und speziell in der westlichen Hemisphäre wahrgenommen wird, die gleichermaßen selbstkritisch wie »stets unzufrieden damit ist, wie sie von anderen identifiziert wird«.⁵ In dieser Hinsicht widmet sich Hyakutake dem Projekt der Modernisierung, das nach Sakai im Fall Japans mit einer Amerikanisierung gleichgesetzt werden kann. Letztere beeinflusste das Land seit der Perry-Expedition und wurde stets fortgeführt, wenn auch mit unterschiedlichen Dispositiven der Macht. Es wurde »vermehrt bedauert oder hoch gelobt, dass Japan als einzige nicht-westliche Kultur imstande war, sich sehr schnell alles, was es von westlichen Ländern benötigte, anzueignen, um sich in eine moderne Industriegesellschaft zu transformieren«.6 Hyakutake erkundet die externen Einflüsse auf den Krieg als Teil dieser »Modernisierungstheorie« und untersucht historische Narrative sowie deren antagonistische Momente. Sein Werk versucht sich als Beitrag zur Geschichte eines Landes, das von der gleichen Macht zum Erliegen gebracht wurde, von der es auch genährt wurde. Dafür wählt er Bilder aus jenen Archiven, deren Bedeutung mit dem Beginn des Aufstiegs des Landes zur Wirtschaftsmacht verblasst ist, und versucht die Tatsache zu überwinden, dass Versagen in der japanischen Kultur und im japanischen Denken ein nicht-existierendes Phänomen darstellt.

Walter Seidl

¹ Naoki Sakai, Translation and Subjectivity: On “Japan” and Cultural Nationalism (Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 1997), p. 42.
² Gilles Deleuze, Empiricism and Subjectivity: An Essay on Hume’s Theory of Human Nature, trans. Constantin V. Boundas (New York: Columbia University Press, 1991), p. 85. Originally published in 1953.
³ Michelle Henning, Photography: The Unfettered Image (London: Routledge, 2018), p. 21.
⁴ Sakai, Translation and Subjectivity, p. 42.
⁵ Ibid., p. 154.
6 Ibid., p. 156.

Tetsugo Hyakutake wurde 1975 in Japan geboren. Er graduierte an der University of the Arts in Philadelphia (US) und erhielt 2009 den Master of Fine Arts von der University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia. Es folgten Ausstellungen in Tokio (JP), Philadelphia, New York (US), Madrid (ES), Singapur (SG) und Taipeh (TW). Seine Werke finden sich in den Sammlungen verschiedener Unternehmen und öffentlicher Einrichtungen, dazu zählen BlackRock (Philadelphia), Fidelity Investments (Boston, US), die Library of Congress (Washington, US) und das Carnegie Museum of Art (Pittsburgh, US). Nach einem Künstleraufenthalt am ISCP in New York in den Jahren 2016 und 2017 lebt Hyakutake wieder in Japan.

Ausstellungsansichten

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Iejima, 2018.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Okinawa, 2018.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Torpedo Base, 2016.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Torpedo Base #2, 2016.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Navy Ammunitions Arsenal, 2018.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, B-29, 2016.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Hiroshima, 2016.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Poison Gas Storage, 2018.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, War Bond #1; #2, 2017.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Yalu River Broken Bridge, 2015.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Nihonbashi, 2007.

  • Tetsugo Hyakutake, Hirohito (Videostill), 2009.

/

Materialien

Kooperationspartner/Sponsoren