Oliver Ressler
Barricading the Ice Sheets

Infos

Opening
3.9.2021, 6 pm

Duration
4.9. – 21.11.2021

Opening hours
Tue – Sun and bank holidays
10 am – 6 pm

Guided tours
German, English, Slowenian
Free, on request:
exhibitions@camera-austria.at
+43 316 81555016

Curated by
Reinhard Braun

Oliver Ressler, film still from: Everything’s Coming Together While Everything’s Falling Apart: Venice Climate Camp, 2020.

Intro

Barricading the Ice Sheets by Oliver Ressler examines the climate crisis and the climate justice movement, exploring their interplay with art. The research project records exemplary states of mobilization, activities, gatherings, and working sessions from these climate movements. Horizontally organized climate movements have sprung up all over the world, while polite protests are a thing of the past, with solutions now being sought through collective action. Camera Austria in Graz already hosted a conference on this topic in February 2020, and a publication of the same name was released. The exhibition in September 2021 presents the artistic work resulting from Oliver Ressler’s research extending over two years. This includes material that can be seen as specifically “documentary,” but also other elements where “artistic” activity is more obvious. Yet ongoing reflection on the work illustrates how any contrived boundaries between “document” and “artwork” become systematically blurred.

Barricading the Ice Sheets is a research endeavor by Oliver Ressler and supported by the Austrian Science Fund (FWF: AR 526) and Camera Austria as a research institution. Barricading the Ice Sheets will be shown in the form of solo exhibitions at Camera Austria, Graz (AT, 4. 9. – 21. 11. 2021); Museum of Contemporary Art, Zagreb (HR, 30. 11. 2021 – 30. 1. 2022); Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.), Berlin (DE, June – August 2022); Tallinn Art Hall, Tallinn (EE, 9. 9. – 13. 11. 2022); The Showroom, London (GB, October – December 2022). Research associate: Lisbeth Kovačič

Read more

Oliver Ressler
Barricading the Ice Sheets

Oliver Ressler: An Archivist of Capitalocene

Oliver Ressler’s oeuvre is an impressive filmic archive of social movements. The exhibition Barricading the Ice Sheets adds a new chapter to this body of work which chooses to focus on climate justice movements in Europe and beyond—as already evident in the six-film cycle Everything’s Coming Together while Everything’s Falling Apart (2016–20) and in even earlier examples like Leave It in the Ground (2013) or the slide installation For a Completely Different Climate (2008).

One of the key aspects of Ressler’s production is its archival character, immediately perceivable when looking at his entire film production on social struggles, but also when visiting his solo exhibitions, often designed as multichannel projections, presenting several films at once. The radical nature of archival practices is often discussed in contemporary art, but it rarely gets as clear as in Ressler’s work (and the project discussed here makes no exception), which functions as a repository of discourses, practices, and stories legitimizing subaltern subjectivities, truths, and struggles, visualizing the global dimension of social movements beyond political and geographic fragmentation.

Addressing the topic of climate justice movements, Barricading the Ice Sheets could thus be seen as one part of a hypothetical Capitalocene section of this archive—or, more precisely, of this counter-archive, as “Capitalocene” itself is a counter-term coined by Jason W. Moore in his 2016 book Anthropocene or Capitalocene?. It is meant to question the definition of the Anthropocene with its implicit assumption that all humans are equally responsible for global climate disruption. Yet the formula made popular by Moore clarifies how, historically, the main cause of the present climate crisis has to be identified in the process of capitalist accumulation. Political ecology implements a renewal of historical materialism. Capitalism is not described as a system that produces its own ecological regime, but as an ecological regime in itself, in which accumulation is built upon the appropriation of the labor of factory workers and, also and of equal importance, that of women, enslaved, racialized individuals, and nonhuman nature.

Ressler’s Not Sinking, Swarming (2021) is a film centered around an assembly which happened in Madrid in 2019, where a group of delegates from different Spanish groups discusses the organization of an action of civil disobedience on the occasion of an international week of rebellion for climate justice. A recurrent trait of Ressler’s work is his choice and ability to document practices of self-organization. He has filmed assemblies on a number of occasions, for example together with Dario Azzellini in the first decade of the twenty-first century in Venezuela during the Bolivarian Revolution, and in different worker-controlled factories in Italy, France, and Greece. In Take the Square (2012), Ressler invited activists from Occupy Wall Street, the Spanish Moviémento 15M, and the Syntagma Square Movement in Athens to reenact the methodology of working groups that became central during the 2011 “Occupy wave,” and to reflect on the role of self-organization.

This predilection for assemblies is important from different points of view. First of all, because the temporality of Not Sinking, Swarming, and of Ressler’s films in general, is tuned to the long temporality of self-organization. The “choreography” of social movements as portrayed by the Austrian artist exceeds the moment where direct action manifests in the street (without excluding it), comprising instead the apparent stillness of assemblies with their slow work of debating and collective decision-making: the non-cinematic time of organization. Ressler films “in the wings,” going beyond the superficial representation of the performative character of climate justice groups as a generic theatrical attitude. On the contrary, Not Sinking, Swarming includes the temporality of prefiguration in the social movements’ performance, the preference toward immediate, non­hierarchical forms of organization over the transformation of society after a hypothetical seizure of power to come. Of course, Ressler is well aware that the assembly of a Venezuelan consejo communal (communal council) in 2009 is different from a gathering of climate activists in Madrid in 2019, and that any homologation would be simplistic. These manifestations happen at different times and in different contexts, and they are probably inscribed within very different political genealogies. Still, it is the participatory moment and the temporalities of self-organization that are highlighted by the artist.

Those parts of the film documenting the Spanish assembly appear as fully pixelated sequences. The viewer can clearly follow the dialogue and the development of the discussion, but can only guess at what hides behind the grid of pixels. The practical reason behind this choice is the necessity to respect the anonymity of the participants in order to prevent legal consequences and to avoid portraying them as leaders or prominent individuals. Beyond this practical urgency, this example of Abstract Realism reminds me of the link between financial abstraction and extraction (or extractivism). It is a link that becomes clear when considering that both of them work by extracting value from preexisting richness, without any direct involvement of capital. In their book Assembly (2017), Antonio Negri and Michael Hardt reflect on the role of finance not only as a global infrastructure intertwined with the extraction of natural resources, but also as the instrument through which capital is able to extract profit from cooperation and social productivity. Data mining is, for example, a term directly connecting the extraction of value from (socially produced) data to that of minerals or oil from the underground. As pixels are nothing but aggregations of electronic information visualized as small squares—the digital matter of the almost totality of images circulating today—the abstract visual appearance of Ressler’s film carries with it a reminder of the challenge posed to social movements by the capitalist couple abstraction–extraction.

Barricade Cultures of the Future (2021), another film presented in Barricading the Ice Sheets, is structured as a dialogical interrogation on the status of art today, on the relation between aesthetics and politics.
Nnimmo Bassey, Jay Jordan, Steve Lyons, Marta Moreno Muñoz, and Aka Niviâna are all artists and climate activists. They participate in a filmic round table held in the scope of the conference Barricading the Ice Sheets conceived by Ressler and held at Camera Austria in February 2020, discussing their role within social movements in general, and within climate justice movements in particular. They debate the importance of deconstructing the artificial separation between artists (as those with the monopoly of creativity) and activists (as those with the monopoly of social change), the urge to learn from indigenous movements that the “common” is more important than the “new” (rediscovering the radical potential of ancient traditions in the present), the necessity to refuse biased positions when it comes to discussing nonviolent or violent tactics of resistance, and the capacity to work outside institutions (going beyond the narrow political horizon of the neoliberal art organization), while at the same time being able to bring struggles for radical democracy into the institutional space.

The film alternates images of the five speakers with excerpts from direct actions organized by climate justice movements. One sequence shows a group of demonstrators in Paris throwing around huge inflatable silver blocks during the COP21 protests in December 2015 (drastically downsized after the state of exception was proclaimed in response to the attack on the Bataclan nightclub just several weeks earlier). These large, light, reflecting objects form the “Red Line Barricade” (Fabriqué à Paris – Made in Paris, 2015), created by the Tools for Action collective and designed to provide demonstrators with an effective and playful barricade. As noted by the choreographer and theorist Moritz Frischkorn, these inflatables remind of Andy Warhol’s Silver Clouds (1968): reflecting, helium-filled pillows created by the artist as the stage setting for Merce Cunningham’s dance piece RainForest (1968). The work by Warhol is also mentioned by José Esteban Muñoz as one good example of queer utopian aesthetics. Recalling Herbert Marcuse’s interpretation of the myth of Narcissus, Muñoz underlines how Silver Clouds questions the performance principle underpinning capitalist society, suggesting a different relationship between human and nonhuman nature: “We can thus consider Warhol’s silver pillows, which are also trees in Cunningham’s RainForest, as components in a narcissistic scene: to gaze into [a] pillow’s reflective surface is to participate in the modality of contemplation that is an interruption in the mandates to labor, toil, and sacrifice that the performance principle describes” (Muñoz, 2009). In addition, the becoming flower of Narcissus after his death shows a process of absolute communing with nature, which subverts the subject-object relationship between human and nonhuman nature, one of the philosophical and epistemic cornerstones of anthropocentrism and modern extractivism.

Almost fifty years after 1968, the images shot in Paris by Ressler during the COP21 protests, where demonstrators were throwing around giant inflatable silver blocks, document a social choreography in which the great refusal has been updated to the refusal of extractivism, and where the horizon of a different relationship with nonhuman nature, now based on a radical critique of Western anthropocentrism, loses any naiveté.
The exhibition is completed by a series of photographic works in which messages about the effects of the capitalistic mode of production and lifestyle on the biosphere are superimposed onto images of the arctic ice, permafrost, coal mines, skies, and oil spills. Coherent with Ressler’s militant understanding of art, these prints seem designed more to be waved during a demonstration than to be hung in someone’s living room. It is not to be ruled out that they will soon become new signs, or maybe inspire new collective gestures and practices that will enrich the archive of the Capitalocene.

Marco Baravalle

Barricading the Ice Sheets is a research endeavor by Oliver Ressler and supported by the Austrian Science Fund (FWF: AR 526) and Camera Austria as a research institution. Barricading the Ice Sheets will be shown in the form of solo exhibitions at Camera Austria, Graz (AT, 4. 9. – 21. 11. 2021); Museum of Contemporary Art, Zagreb (HR, 30. 11. 2021 – 30. 1. 2022); Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.), Berlin (DE, June – August 2022); Tallinn Art Hall, Tallinn (EE, 9. 9. – 13. 11. 2022); The Showroom, London (GB, October – December 2022). Research associate: Lisbeth Kovačič

Oliver Ressler (born 1970, lives and works in Vienna, AT) produces installations, projects in public space, and films on economics, democracy, racism, climate breakdown, forms of resistance, and social alternatives. He has completed thirty-six films that have been screened in thousands of events of social movements, art institutions, and film festivals. Ressler has had comprehensive solo exhibitions at CAAC, Seville (ES) and SALT Galata, Istanbul (TR), and participated in the biennials in Taipei (TW, 2008), Lyon (FR, 2009), Gyumri (AR, 2012), Venice (IT, 2013), Quebec (CA, 2014), Jeju (KR, 2017), and in documenta 14, Kassel (DE, 2017).
www.ressler.at

Installation Views

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler, Arctic Permafrost Is Less Permanent Than Its Name Suggests, 2019.

  • Oliver Ressler, We Are All Learning about Nature’s Circulatory Systems by Poisoning Them, 2021.

  • Oliver Ressler, We Are All Learning about Nature’s Circulatory Systems by Poisoning Them, 2021.

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler, film still from: Everything’s Coming Together While Everything’s Falling Apart: Venice Climate Camp, 2020.

  • Oliver Ressler, film still from: Everything’s Coming Together While Everything’s Falling Apart: Venice Climate Camp, 2020.

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler, film still from: Not Sinking, Swarming, 2021.

  • Oliver Ressler, film still from: Not Sinking, Swarming, 2021.

  • Oliver Ressler, film still from: Not Sinking, Swarming, 2021.

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler, film still from: Everything’s Coming Together While Everything’s Falling Apart: Venice Climate Camp, 2020.

  • Oliver Ressler, film still from: Barricade Cultures of the Future, 2021.

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Markus Krottendorfer

/

Opening

  • Opening
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Natascha Reiterer

  • Opening
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Natascha Reiterer

  • Opening
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Natascha Reiterer

  • Opening
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Natascha Reiterer

  • Opening
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Natascha Reiterer

  • Opening
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Natascha Reiterer

  • Opening
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Natascha Reiterer

  • Opening
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Natascha Reiterer

  • Opening
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Natascha Reiterer

  • Opening
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Natascha Reiterer

  • Opening
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Natascha Reiterer

  • Opening
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Natascha Reiterer Foto: Natascha Reiterer

  • Opening
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Photo: Natascha Reiterer

/

Materials

Oliver Ressler
Barricading the Ice Sheets

Infos

Eröffnung
3.9.2021, 18:00

Zeitraum
4.9. – 21.11.2021

Öffnungszeiten
Di – So und an Feiertagen
10:00 – 18:00

Führungen
Deutsch, Englisch, Slowenisch
kostenlos, nach Vereinbarung:
exhibitions@camera-austria.at
+43 316 81555016

Kuratiert von
Reinhard Braun

Oliver Ressler, Filmstill aus: Everything’s Coming Together While Everything’s Falling Apart: Venice Climate Camp, 2020.

Intro

Barricading the Ice Sheets von Oliver Ressler untersucht die Klimakrise, die Klimagerechtigkeitsbewegung und deren Verhältnis zur Kunst. Das Forschungsprojekt zeichnet beispielhaft Mobilisierungen, Aktivitäten, Versammlungen und Arbeitstreffen der Klimabewegungen auf. Horizontal organisierte Klimabewegungen sind auf der ganzen Welt entstanden, höflicher Protest gehört der Vergangenheit an, Lösungen müssen durch kollektives Handeln erreicht werden. Bereits im Februar 2020 fand bei Camera Austria in Graz eine Konferenz zu diesem Thema statt und eine erste gleichnamige Publikation ist erschienen. Die Ausstellung im September 2021 präsentiert die künstlerische Produktion, die aus der mehr als zweijährigen Forschung Oliver Resslers entstanden ist, darunter sowohl Material, das als direkt »dokumentarisch« gesehen werden kann, als auch andere Elemente, bei denen das »künstlerische« Engagement offensichtlicher ist. Eine fortwährende Betrachtung des Werks zeigt jedoch, dass jede künstliche Grenze zwischen »Dokument« und »Kunstwerk« systematisch verwischt wird.

Barricading the Ice Sheets ist ein Projekt von Oliver Ressler und wird mit Unterstützung des Österreichischen Wissenschaftsfonds (FWF: AR 526) sowie Camera Austria als Forschungsinstitution realisiert. Barricading the Ice Sheets wird im Rahmen von Einzelausstellungen bei Camera Austria, Graz (AT, 4. 9. – 21. 11. 2021); Museum of Contemporary Art, Zagreb (HR, 30. 11. 2021 – 30. 1. 2022); Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.), Berlin (DE, Juni – August 2022); Tallinn Art Hall, Tallinn (EE, 9. 9. – 13. 11. 2022); The Showroom, London (GB, Oktober – Dezember 2022) präsentiert. Forschungsassistentin: Lisbeth Kovačič

Volltext

Oliver Ressler
Barricading the Ice Sheets

Oliver Ressler: Archivar des Kapitalozäns

Oliver Resslers Œu­v­re stellt ein beeindruckendes filmisches Archiv sozialer Bewegungen dar. Die Ausstellung Barricading the Ice Sheets bildet ein weiteres Kapitel in diesem Werkkomplex, dessen Schwerpunkt auf Klimagerechtigkeitsbewegungen in Europa und darüber hinaus liegt. Schon in dem sechs Filme umfassenden Zyklus Everything’s Coming Together While Everything’s Falling Apart (2016 – 2020) sowie in noch früheren Werken, wie Leave It in the Ground (2013) und der Dia-Installation For a Completely Different Climate (2008) hatte sich dieser Fokus herauskristallisiert.

Einer der Hauptaspekte von Resslers Arbeiten ist ihr archivarischer Charakter, der in seiner gesamten Filmproduktion über soziale Kämpfe klar erkennbar ist, aber auch in seinen Einzelausstellungen, die oft als mehrkanalige Projektionen angelegt sind, also mehrere Filme gleichzeitig zeigen. Die Radikalität archivarischer Methoden ist ein Thema, das in der zeitgenössischen Kunst häufig verhandelt wird, selten aber so eindeutig wie in Resslers Werk (und das vorliegende Projekt stellt keine Ausnahme dar), das ein Speicher für Diskurse, Methoden und Geschichten ist, subalterne Subjektivitäten, Wahrheiten und Kämpfe legitimiert und das globale Ausmaß sozialer Bewegungen über politische und geografische Brüche hinweg verbildlicht.

Barricading the Ice Sheets thematisiert die Klimagerechtigkeitsbewegungen und könnte daher als Teil einer möglichen Kapitalozän-Abteilung innerhalb dieses Archivs gesehen werden – oder, genauer, dieses Gegen-Archivs, da »Kapitalozän« selbst ja ein Gegenbegriff ist, den Jason W. Moore in seinem Buch Anthropocene or Capitalocene? von 2016 geprägt hatte. Mit dem Begriff soll die Definition des Anthropozäns kritisch hinterfragt werden, die implizit davon ausgeht, dass alle Menschen in gleichem Maße für die globale Klimakrise verantwortlich sind. Dagegen verdeutlicht die durch Moore popularisierte Formel, inwiefern, historisch betrachtet, die Hauptursache der heutigen Klimakrise im Prozess der kapitalistischen Akkumulation zu finden ist. Die politische Ökologie vollzieht eine Erneuerung des historischen Materialismus. Der Kapitalismus wird nicht als ein System beschrieben, das sein eigenes ökologisches Regime schafft, sondern als ein eigenständiges ökologisches Regime, in dem die Akkumulation auf der Aneignung der Arbeit von Fabrikarbeiter*innen fußt und, ebenso wichtig, von Frauen, von versklavten, rassifizierten Menschen und von nichtmenschlicher Natur.

Im Mittelpunkt von Resslers Film Not Sinking, Swarming (2021) steht eine Versammlung, die 2019 in Madrid stattfand und bei der Delegierte verschiedener spanischer Gruppen anlässlich einer internationalen Woche des Aufstands für Klimagerechtigkeit die Organisation einer Aktion zivilen Ungehorsams diskutieren. Ein wiederkehrendes Merkmal von Resslers Arbeiten ist seine Entscheidung und seine Fähigkeit, Beispiele der Selbstorganisation zu dokumentieren. Schon mehrmals filmte er Versammlungen, etwa gemeinsam mit Dario Azzellini zu Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts während der Bolivarischen Revolution in Venezuela und in verschiedenen selbstverwalteten Fabriken in Italien, Frankreich und Griechenland. In Take the Square (2012) lud Ressler Aktivist*innen von Occupy Wall Street, der spanischen 15M-Bewegung und der Syntagma-Platz-Bewegung in Athen ein, für seinen Film das Format der Arbeitsgruppen aufzugreifen, die während der »Occupy-Welle« von 2011 so wichtig geworden waren, und über die Rolle der Selbstorganisation zu reflektieren.

Diese Vorliebe für Versammlungen ist in verschiedener Hinsicht wichtig. Erstens, weil die Temporalität von Not Sinking, Swarming und von Resslers Filmen generell auf die Langzeitlichkeit der Selbstorganisation abgestimmt ist. Die »Choreografie« sozialer Bewegungen geht in der Darstellung des österreichischen Künstlers über den Moment hinaus, wo direkte Aktion sich auf der Straße manifestiert (ohne diesen auszuschließen), und beinhaltet vielmehr den scheinbaren Stillstand der Versammlungen: die langsame Arbeit des Diskutierens und der kollektiven Entscheidungsfindung, die nicht-filmische Zeit des Organisierens. Ressler filmt »in den Kulissen« und geht so über eine oberflächliche Darstellung des performativen Charakters der Klimagerechtigkeitsgruppen als typisch theatralisches Merkmal hinaus. Vielmehr erfasst Not Sink­ing, Swarming die Zeitlichkeit der Vorabbildung im Auftritt der sozialen Bewegungen und legt den Schwerpunkt auf direkte, nicht-hierarchische Formen der Organisation statt auf die Umgestaltung der Gesellschaft nach einer hypothetischen zukünftigen Machtergreifung. Natürlich ist sich Ressler der Tatsache bewusst, dass die Versammlung eines venezolanischen consejo communal (Kommunalen Rats) im Jahre 2009 etwas anderes ist als eine Zusammenkunft von Klimaaktivist*innen im Madrid von 2019 und dass jegliche Kongruenz vereinfachend wäre. Diese Versammlungen finden zu verschiedenen Zeiten und in verschiedenen Kontexten statt und sind wohl auch Teil sehr unterschiedlicher politischer Genealogien. Letztlich aber geht es dem Künstler darum, das partizipative Moment und die Zeitlichkeit der Selbstorganisation herauszustellen.

Jene Sequenzen, in denen der Film die spanische Versammlung dokumentiert, sind vollständig verpixelt. Die Zuschauer*innen können dem Dialog und Diskussionsverlauf folgen, dabei aber nur erahnen, was sich hinter dem Pixelraster verbirgt. Tatsächlich ist diese Entscheidung in der Notwendigkeit begründet, die Anonymität der Teilnehmer*innen zu wahren, um rechtlichen Folgen vorzubeugen und die Sprecher*innen nicht als Anführer*innen oder herausragende Einzelpersonen darzustellen. Über diesen praktischen Aspekt hinaus erinnert mich dieses Beispiel von Abstraktem Realismus an den Zusammenhang zwischen finanzieller Abstraktion und Extraktion (oder Extraktivismus). Ein Zusammenhang, der offensichtlich wird, wenn man bedenkt, dass beide ohne eine direkte Beteiligung von Kapital aus schon bestehendem Reichtum Wert extrahieren. In ihrem Buch Assembly (2017) betrachten Antonio Negri und Michael Hardt die Rolle des Finanzwesens nicht nur als eine eng mit dem Abbau (extraction) von Bodenschätzen verknüpfte Infrastruktur, sondern auch als das Mittel, das es dem Kapital ermöglicht, Profit aus Zusammenarbeit und sozialer Produktivität zu schlagen (ex­tract). Data-Mining etwa ist ein Begriff, der die Wertschöpfung (extraction of value) aus (sozial erzeugten) Daten direkt mit dem untertägigen Abbau (extraction) von Mineralien und Ölen in Verbindung bringt. Da Pixel nichts anderes als Ansammlungen elek­tronischer Information in der visuellen Form kleiner Quadrate sind – der digitale Stoff fast aller Bilder, die heutzutage im Umlauf sind –, birgt das abstrakte Erscheinungsbild von Resslers Film einen Hinweis auf die Herausforderung, die das kapitalistische Paar Abstraktion-Extraktion für soziale Bewegungen darstellt.

Barricade Cultures of the Future (2021), ein weiterer Film, der als Teil von Barricading the Ice Sheets gezeigt wird, ist als dialogische Befragung zum Status der Kunst heute, zur Beziehung zwischen Ästhetik und Politik, strukturiert.
Nnimmo Bassey, Jay Jordan, Steve Lyons, Marta Moreno Muñoz und Aka Niviâna sind allesamt Künstler*innen und Klima­akti­vis­t*innen. Sie nehmen an einer gefilmten Gesprächsrunde teil, die im Umfeld der von Ressler konzipierten Konferenz Barricading the Ice Sheets im Februar 2020 bei Camera Austria stattfand, und sprechen über ihre Rollen in sozialen Bewegungen im Allgemeinen und innerhalb der Klimagerechtigkeitsbewegungen im Besonderen. Sie diskutieren, wie wichtig es ist, die künstliche Trennung zwischen Künstler*innen (als jenen, die ein Monopol auf Kreativität haben) und Aktivist*innen (als jenen, die ein Monopol auf soziale Veränderung haben) abzubauen, die Dringlichkeit, von indigenen Bewegungen zu lernen, dass »das Gemeinsame« wichtiger ist als »das Neue« (und dabei das radikale Potenzial alter Traditionen in der Gegenwart wiederzuentdecken), und wie notwendig es ist, bei Diskussionen über gewaltfreie oder gewaltsame Strategien des Widerstands alle Voreingenommenheiten abzulegen. Sie sprechen auch über die Möglichkeit, außerhalb von Institutionen zu arbeiten (also über den eng gefassten politischen Horizont neoliberaler Kunstorganisation hinauszugehen) und dabei gleichzeitig Kämpfe für radikale Demokratie in den institutionellen Raum hineinzubringen.

Im Film alternieren Bilder der fünf Sprecher*innen mit Ausschnitten direkter Aktionen, die von Klimagerechtigkeitsbewegungen organisiert wurden. In einer Sequenz sieht man eine Gruppe von Demonstrant*innen, die bei den COP21-Protesten im Dezember 2015 in Paris mit riesigen aufblasbaren Silberblöcken um sich wirft (zahlenmäßig stark reduziert nach Erklärung des Ausnahmezustandes wegen der Attacke im Nachtclub Bataclan nur wenige Wochen zuvor). Diese Silberblöcke – große, leichte, reflektierende Objekte – bilden die »Red Line Barricade« (Fabriqué à Paris – Made in Paris, 2015), entworfen vom Kollektiv Tools for Action und konzipiert als effektive und spielerische Barrikade für Demonstrant*innen. Den Choreografen und Theoretiker Moritz Frischkorn erinnern diese aufblasbaren Objekte an Andy Warhols Silver Clouds (1968): reflektierende, heliumgefüllte Kissen, die der Künstler als Bühnenbild für Merce Cunninghams Tanzstück RainForest (1968) geschaffen hatte. José Esteban Muñoz betrachtet diese Arbeit Warhols als ein gutes Beispiel einer queeren utopischen Ästhetik. Bezug nehmend auf Herbert Marcuses Interpretation des Mythos von Narziss verdeutlicht Muñoz, wie Silver Clouds das Leistungsprinzip hinterfragt, das die kapitalistische Gesellschaft untermauert, und ein anderes Verhältnis zwischen menschlicher und nichtmenschlicher Natur nahelegt: »Wir können also Warhols silberne Kissen, die in Cunninghams RainForest auch Bäume sind, als Bestandteile einer narzisstischen Szene betrachten: Der Blick in die reflektierende Oberfläche eines Kissens impliziert die Teilhabe am Modus des Nachdenkens, welcher die vom Leistungsprinzip verordneten Arbeits-, Schuft- und Verzichtsmandate unterbricht« (Muñoz, 2009). Zudem zeugt die Blumenwerdung von Narziss nach seinem Tod von einem Vorgang totaler Vereinigung mit der Natur; dies untergräbt das Subjekt-Objekt-Verhältnis zwischen menschlicher und nichtmenschlicher Natur, einen der philosophischen und epistemischen Grundsteine des Anthropozentrismus und des modernen Extraktivismus.
Fast fünfzig Jahre nach 1968 dokumentieren die von Ressler bei den COP21-Protesten in Paris gefilmten Bilder, wo Demons­trant*innen mit riesigen aufblasbaren Silberblöcken um sich warfen, eine soziale Choreografie, bei der die große Verweigerung zu einer Verweigerung des Extraktivismus aufgerüstet wurde und wo die Aussicht auf ein anderes Verhältnis zur nichtmenschlichen Natur, das mittlerweile auf einer radikalen Kritik des westlichen Anthropozentrismus basiert, jegliche Naivität verliert.

Die Ausstellung wird durch eine Reihe fotografischer Arbeiten ergänzt, bei denen Botschaften über die Auswirkungen der kapitalistischen Produktions- und Lebensweise auf die Biosphäre über Bilder von arktischem Eis, Permafrost, Kohleabbaustätten, Himmel und Ölteppichen gelegt sind. Passend zu Resslers militantem Kunstverständnis scheinen diese Drucke eher dazu geeignet, bei einer Demonstration in die Höhe gehalten zu werden als in irgendeinem Wohnzimmer zu hängen. Es lässt sich nicht ausschließen, dass sie bald zu neuen Plakaten werden oder vielleicht neue kollektive Gesten und Methoden inspirieren, die dann wiederum das Archiv des Kapitalozäns bereichern werden.

Marco Baravalle

Barricading the Ice Sheets ist ein Projekt von Oliver Ressler und wird mit Unterstützung des Österreichischen Wissenschaftsfonds (FWF: AR 526) sowie Camera Austria als Forschungsinstitution realisiert. Barricading the Ice Sheets wird im Rahmen von Einzelausstellungen bei Camera Austria, Graz (AT, 4. 9. – 21. 11. 2021); Museum of Contemporary Art, Zagreb (HR, 30. 11. 2021 – 30. 1. 2022); Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.), Berlin (DE, Juni – August 2022); Tallinn Art Hall, Tallinn (EE, 9. 9. – 13. 11. 2022); The Showroom, London (GB, Oktober – Dezember 2022) präsentiert. Forschungsassistentin: Lisbeth Kovačič

Oliver Ressler (geb. 1970, lebt und arbeitet in Wien, AT) produziert Installationen, Projekte im öffentlichen Raum und Filme zu Themen wie Ökonomie, Demokratie, der Klimakrise, Formen des Widerstands und gesellschaftlichen Alternativen. Bisher hat er 36 Filme fertiggestellt, die bei Tausenden Veranstaltungen von sozialen Bewegungen, in Kunstinstitutionen und bei Filmfestivals gezeigt wurden. Ressler hatte umfassende Einzelausstellungen bei CAAC, Sevilla (ES) und SALT Galata, Istanbul (TR) und nahm an den Biennalen in Taipeh (TW, 2008), Lyon (FR, 2009), Gyumri (AR, 2012), Venedig (IT, 2013), Quebec (CA, 2014), Jeju (KR, 2017), und an der documenta 14, Kassel (DE, 2017) teil.
www.ressler.at

Ausstellungsansichten

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler, Arctic Permafrost Is Less Permanent Than Its Name Suggests, 2019.

  • Oliver Ressler, We Are All Learning about Nature’s Circulatory Systems by Poisoning Them, 2021.

  • Oliver Ressler, We Are All Learning about Nature’s Circulatory Systems by Poisoning Them, 2021.

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler, Filmstill aus: Everything’s Coming Together While Everything’s Falling Apart: Venice Climate Camp, 2020.

  • Oliver Ressler, Filmstill aus: Everything’s Coming Together While Everything’s Falling Apart: Venice Climate Camp, 2020.

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler, Filmstill aus: Not Sinking, Swarming, 2021.

  • Oliver Ressler, Filmstill aus: Not Sinking, Swarming, 2021.

  • Oliver Ressler, Filmstill aus: Not Sinking, Swarming, 2021.

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

  • Oliver Ressler, Filmstill aus: Barricade Cultures of the Future, 2021.

  • Oliver Ressler, Filmstill aus: Barricade Cultures of the Future, 2021.

  • Oliver Ressler
    Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Markus Krottendorfer

/

Eröffnung

  • Eröffnung
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Natascha Reiterer

  • Eröffnung
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Natascha Reiterer

  • Eröffnung
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Natascha Reiterer

  • Eröffnung
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Natascha Reiterer

  • Eröffnung
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Natascha Reiterer

  • Eröffnung
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Natascha Reiterer

  • Eröffnung
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Natascha Reiterer

  • Eröffnung
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Natascha Reiterer

  • Eröffnung
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Natascha Reiterer

  • Eröffnung
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Natascha Reiterer

  • Eröffnung
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Natascha Reiterer

  • Eröffnung
    Oliver Ressler: Barricading the Ice Sheets
    Camera Austria 2021
    Foto: Natascha Reiterer

/

Materialien