Ulrike Königshofer
The Faulty Image

Infos

Opening
17.12.2021, 6 pm

Duration
18.12.2021 – 16.1.2022

Opening hours
Tue – Sun and bank holidays
10 am – 6 pm

Curated by
Reinhard Braun

And then there were three more is a series of three presentations in addition to the regular 2021 exhibition program at Camera Austria.

Ulrike Königshofer, Shades of Glass (Nr.8), 2020.

Intro

This exhibition is the final one in a series of three presentations in addition to the regular 2021 exhibition program.

“Wahrnehmung,” the German term for perception, still goes back to the idea that people could regard something communicated by the senses as “wahr” (true): I know that it’s true because I saw it with my own eyes; I know that it’s true, because I heard it with my own ears . . . But just as old as this notion are the doubts about whether what is perceived corresponds with the subject of the perception—Plato’s cave and the consequences. Instead of perceiving what is true, perception is revealed to be a production of a sensory phenomenon that trusts illusion and semblance. But the now common knowledge of the misconception of the term “Wahrnehmung” has changed nothing with respect to how it continues to be relied on in the practice of everyday life so as to carry out tasks and ask questions. This has been joined by a history of technology that assisted the impeded and impeding sensory apparatus of human beings as a corrective. It was supposed to ensure that more is seen than can actually be seen by the naked eye, to provide a more precise and more objective picture to compensate for the deficiencies of perception, indeed to come closer to the truth medially. The talk of an “object lens” in photography still bears witness to this correction of subjectively colored seeing. Photographic pictur are now supposed to testify to what eludes perception. The apparatus promises an uninfluenced picture, document and evidence at the same time, based solely on optical, physical, and chemical processes—making the distance separating the object from its likeness a merely medial one. Due to their technical and scientific provenance, the apparatus-related and medial dimensions of this distance seem to be immune to the subjective; the inescapable interpretation by means of perception and an associating of the subjective with the objective are now history.

But doubt about the objectivity of this merely medial distance also has a history. It extends from the knowledge of the manipulability of pictures to the available filters and correction modes, which are today inscribed in every photo editing program. Clarifying this issue and criticizing this would be like carrying coal to Newcastle. The situation is different in the works of Ulrike Königshofer who dedicates herself to precisely this medial distance. What interests her is not just revealing the deceptive quality of the allegedly objective character of apparatuses, but also—if you will—bringing to light a mutated form of subjectivity in medial devices. When she, for instance, in the series of works Zero (2021) takes photos in complete darkness, she then makes the apparatus itself compensate for the missing information by means of interpretations. Depending on the sensitivity of the different camera sensors, these missing elements, this lack of light and information, are interpreted in various ways and correspondingly produce different pictures. The same motif “motivates” different “perceptions” by the media technology. Not only the semblance of the objective, but also a subjectivization that extends even to the programming of the process through which pictures are generated thus becomes visible. What appears in these works is a concept of technology that behaves like a subject—a pseudo-subject, which simultaneously interprets and generates the meanings and “settings.” The same holds true for Königshofer’s work series Picturing Pictures (2018), in which she presents each of the various technical perceptions of reproductions of one and the same artwork next to one another, to thus expose the scope for interpretation and the difference between the medially generated translations themselves. The alleged likeness bears the traits more of an original and self-created translation than that of a “reproduction.”

What Königshofer thus succeeds in doing is documenting a concept of subject that lets its voice be heard in and as technology. This simultaneously enables her to conduct a dialogue with the different media technologies in order to get their inherent subjectivity to speak—to grant authorship to media which their concept intended to keep concealed.

Andreas Spiegel

Ulrike Königshofer lives and works as a visual artist in Vienna (AT) and deals with aspects of likeness and perception, above all in photographic and media works and installations. Born in Styria in 1981, she attended the Ortweinschule in Graz (AT) and the University of Applied Arts Vienna. Since completing her studies, she has spent a lot of time working abroad, for instance in Paris (FR), New York (US), or London (GB). She has presented various solo exhibitions, such as at the Austrian Cultural Forum in New York (2016), at the Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien in Graz (2015–16), or at the weisses haus in Vienna (2012). Her work has already received several awards, including the Art Prize of the Graz-Seckau Diocese (2019), the Erste Bank ExtraVALUE Art Award (2016), the vienna­contemporary Artproof grant (2016), and the Austrian State Scholar­ship for visual art (2016).

 

Installation Views

  • Ulrike Königshofer, Shades of Glass (No.3), 2020.

  • Ulrike Königshofer, Shades of Glass (Nr.7), 2020.

  • Ulrike Königshofer, Shades of Glass (Nr.8), 2020.

  • Ulrike Königshofer, Shades of Glass (No.14), 2020.

  • Ulrike Königshofer, Picturing Pictures (Rouen Cathedral), 2018.

  • Ulrike Königshofer, Picturing Pictures (Rouen Cathedral), 2018.

  • Ulrike Königshofer, Working process of the video work The Backside of Perception, 2012.

  • Ulrike Königshofer, Zero (No.1), 2021.

  • Ulrike Königshofer, Zero (No.2), 2021.

/

Ulrike Königshofer
The Faulty Image

Infos

Eröffnung
17.12.2021, 18:00

Zeitraum
18.12.2021–16.1.2022

Öffnungszeiten
Di – So und an Feiertagen
10:00 – 18:00

Kuratiert von
Reinhard Braun

And then there were three more ist eine Reihe von drei Präsentationen, die im Jahr 2021 zusätzlich zum regulären Programm bei Camera Austria gezeigt werden.

Ulrike Königshofer, Shades of Glass (Nr.8), 2020.

Intro

Diese Ausstellung bildet den Abschluss einer Reihe von drei Präsentationen, die im Jahr 2021 zusätzlich zum regulären Programm gezeigt werden.

Der Begriff »Wahrnehmung« geht noch auf die Vorstellung zurück, dass man für »wahr« halten könnte, was uns über die Sinne vermittelt wird: Ich weiß, dass es wahr ist, weil ich es mit eigenen Augen gesehen habe; ich weiß, dass es wahr ist, weil ich es selbst gehört habe … Genauso alt wie diese Vorstellung ist aber auch der Zweifel daran, ob das Wahrgenommene mit dem Gegenstand der Wahrnehmung übereinstimmt – Platons Höhle und die Folgen. Anstelle wahrzunehmen, was wahr ist, gibt sich Wahrnehmung als Produktion einer Sinneserscheinung zu erkennen, die der Täuschung und dem Schein vertraut. Das nun geläufige Wissen um den Trugschluss im Begriff der »Wahrnehmung« hat aber nichts daran geändert, in der Praxis des Alltags weiterhin auf diese zurückzugreifen, um sich verschiedenen Aufgaben und Fragen zu stellen. Dazu gesellt hat sich eine Geschichte der Technologie, die der beeinträchtigten und beeinträchtigenden Sinnesapparatur des Menschen als Korrektiv zur Seite stand. Sie sollte dafür sorgen, mehr zu sehen als das mit bloßem Auge Sichtbare, ein genaueres und objektiveres Bild, um das Defizitäre der Wahrnehmung zu kompensieren, ja der Wahrheit medial näher zu kommen. Die Rede vom »Objektiv« in der Fotografie zeugt noch von dieser Korrektur des subjektiv gefärbten Sehens. Die fotografischen Bilder sollen nun Zeugnis davon ablegen, was sich der Wahrnehmung entzieht. Das Apparative verspricht auf Basis bloß optischer, physikalischer und chemischer Prozesse ein unbeeinflusstes Bild, zugleich Dokument und Beleg – nur medial sei der Abstand, der den Gegenstand von seinem Abbild trennt. Die apparative und mediale Dimension dieses Abstands erscheint immun gegen das Subjektive, verdankt sie sich doch technologischer und wissenschaftlicher Provenienz; die unausweichliche Interpretation durch die Wahrnehmung und ein Assoziieren des Subjektiven mit dem Objektiven seien nun Geschichte.
Aber auch der Zweifel an der Objektivität dieses bloß medialen Abstands hat Geschichte. Sie reicht vom Wissen über die Manipulierbarkeit von Bildern bis zu den verfügbaren Filtern und Korrekturmodi, die heute jedem Programm zur Fotobearbeitung eingeschrieben sind. Darüber noch aufzuklären und eine Kritik darauf auszurichten, hieße Eulen nach Athen zu tragen. Anders verhält es sich mit den Arbeiten von Ulrike Königshofer, die sich genau diesem medialen Abstand widmet. Ihr geht es nicht darum, bloß den Scheincharakter des vermeintlich Objektiven am Apparativen herauszuschälen, sondern eine – wenn man so will – mutierte Form von Subjektivität in den medialen Apparaturen ans Licht zu bringen. Wenn sie etwa in der Werkreihe Zero (2021) fotografische Aufnahmen im völligen Dunkel macht, dann bringt sie damit die Apparatur dazu, die fehlende Information selbst durch Interpretationen zu kompensieren. Je nach Sensibilität der verschiedenen Kamera-Sensoren werden diese Fehlstellen, dieser Mangel an Licht und Information, unterschiedlich interpretiert und entsprechend verschiedene Bilder produziert. Das gleiche Motiv »motiviert« zu unterschiedlichen medientechnologischen »Wahrnehmungen«. Sichtbar wird dadurch nicht nur der Schein des Objektiven, sondern eine Subjektivierung, die bis in die Programmierung der bildgenerierenden Verfahren hineinreicht. Was in diesen Arbeiten erscheint, ist ein Begriff von Technologie, die sich wie ein Subjekt verhält – ein Pseudo-Subjekt, das genauso interpretiert, Bedeutungen und »Einstellungen« generiert. Gleiches gilt für Königshofers Werkreihe Pic­turing Pictures (2018), in der sie jeweils verschiedene technologische Wahrnehmungen von Reproduktionen ein und desselben Kunstwerks nebeneinander zeigt, um den Interpretationsspielraum und die Verschiedenheit der medial generierten Übersetzungen selbst zu exponieren. Das vermeintliche Abbild trägt eher die Züge einer originären und eigenschöpferischen Übersetzung denn jene einer »Reproduktion«.
Was Königshofer damit gelingt, ist die Dokumentation eines Sub­­jektbegriffs, der sich in und als Technologie zu Wort meldet. So kann sie mit den verschiedenen Medientechnologien zugleich einen Dialog führen, um deren inhärente Subjektivität zum Sprechen zu bringen – den Medien eine Autor*innenschaft zusprechen, die deren Begriff im Verborgenen halten sollte.

Andreas Spiegel

Ausstellungsansichten

  • Ulrike Königshofer, Shades of Glass (Nr.3), 2020.

  • Ulrike Königshofer, Shades of Glass (Nr.7), 2020.

  • Ulrike Königshofer, Shades of Glass (Nr.8), 2020.

  • Ulrike Königshofer, Shades of Glass (Nr.14), 2020.

  • Ulrike Königshofer, Picturing Pictures (Rouen Cathedral), 2018.

  • Ulrike Königshofer, Picturing Pictures (Rouen Cathedral), 2018.

  • Arbeitsprozess der Videoarbeit The Backside of Perception, 2012.

  • Ulrike Königshofer, Zero (Nr.1), 2021.

  • Ulrike Königshofer, Zero (Nr.2), 2021.

/